It Matters, II.

46 112
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

... continued...

This is the continuation of the post I shared earlier and you can catch up with it here: "It Matters."

Image Source.

There was this story of a young lady I read on the internet many years ago and she was filled with regrets because she ignored that little prompting in her heart to reach out to her friend. They were not at loggerheads, far from it but she just kept saying she would call him later until the inevitable happened. The day she decided she would call the guy, was when a mutual friend called her to tell her the guy died. She was sad, moody, angry and filled with regrets.

It doesn't mean she would have prevented his death, and who knows maybe she would have been timely to know something was wrong or at least for the sake of her conscience, she would have satisfied her mind, knowing she called at the right time to hear his voice even if it would be for the last time. Now, she was filled with regrets and a desire to do it better once again. So many little things that we take for granted and sometimes it comes from the fact that we don't even know ourselves that well.

I know a lot of people go for the big things and that's fine but I love doing the little things - those little things that most people would naturally overlook and not count. Little things count for me and when you have done something so minute for someone who appreciates it so much, only then can you understand the depth of what you just did. It's not so much about the weight of what was done but about the timing.

It's as little as noticing the tone in someone's voice, noticing something was off about their dressing, their countenance and even their text! A lot of people know I am always all over the place...maybe not physically though but I purposely get into people's faces because I just want to be able to do the little things.

Some people don't even need your money but we live in a world where everyone wants to throw money at every problem. Some people only need you to listen to them - hear them out, talk to them, give them a voice of reasoning, give them a different perspective to what they have been used to or even a hug. It's very funny but a hug is what some people need so they won't throw in the towel.

Image Source.

I've had to pay for cab fares of different people in the cab and they looked at me with so much emotions and I could see how much it means to them. A lady I paid for her bike fare (because we shared one) stood on the same spot and watched me as the bike zoomed off after I told the bike man to leave that I would pay. Another one was a lady who dressed a bit indecently so it was a struggle for her on the bike and to make it worse, we shared a bike. I clearly heard her when she said "Ah! It finally happened." It means she must have been praying that the bike man wouldn't pick another passenger due to how short and tight her dress was. The moment I dropped, I paid for two and asked the bike man not to pick anyone else. The relief in her voice touched my heart. It's little but it meant something to her and it was timely.

The thing is, these little things somehow come back to help us too when we need them. I can remember how we had too many people and to enter the cab was a struggle. I managed to get into a cab that year with so many people lining up and if you are familiar with Nigeria, especially Ibadan in Oyo State, you would know that they can insult your life at the slightest thing. I entered that cab and it was only then the driver started shouting "Come in with your change." I thought I had but I didn't. As I was trying to reluctantly bring out my high denomination, a guy at the front seat reached out and paid for me without even knowing him. You needed to see the relief in my expression and even my voice.

I hugged someone and after we departed, I got a message telling me that she had never felt a hug so much in that instance. It was reassuring for her and I couldn't be happier. Same with a friend of mine in Church. I hardly use my phone during service but this day, it was heavy on me to text her in Church. I texted her and said, "Ochanya, I want to buy you lunch after service.". It was after service she walked up to me and told me that the text came in just when she asked God for a sign to know that God still cares about her. I managed to hold back my tears that day.

The little things we do for others, we might not understand how deep it runs but we don't have to ignore them...do them anyway. Don't see them as little or inconsequential, follow your heart and just do them even if it makes no sense to you at all. It might mean the world to someone because we all have our secret battles and you can sit next to someone who is broken and yet you wouldn't know it.

A guy was heading to a forest to commit suicide. He dressed at his best and on the way, someone complimented how amazing he looked. He smiled and went back home. He aborted the mission to commit suicide. He said "For the first time, someone complimented me. The world is not such a bad place after all." He knew a bad page doesn't mean a bad life nor the end of the book and he made sure henceforth, he surrounded himself with people of worth. Every little bit helps...

Thank you for your time.

Kindly follow me on Noise.Cash... I am trying to engage more with people and connect with everyone with this account. I look forward to seeing you there... You can say hello to me there so we can get familiarized as well. Click here.

23
$ 6.68
$ 5.97 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 18
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Comments

Once again you have written an amazing tale, and it is extremely thought-provoking and absolutely encouraging that if more people learned this, it would certainly improve their own lives far more. Thanks David! By the way, you misspelled "cab," first sentence under the second image lol!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you so much. I really appreciate this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The last paragraph is heart rendering. See the power of the tongue, how it healed in that instance? That man would be very happy he saved a soul, if he got to know if the guys mission. Every little thing we do matters. A needy visitor came to my house and when leaving, I had no cash to give but gave a little food stuff. Just so little that I almost didn't give it cos it was small. But I was shocked and glad when I saw her after three weeks and she told people to thank me that just yesterday, she exhausted the food I gave her three weeks ago. Every little thing matters my brother.

Greetings from dreemport

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Wow...just wow. It was so little to you but it meant the world to her. The seemingly little things count. That is it... Always good to have you here, mama.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The article made me realize about the memories πŸ€—

$ 0.01
2 years ago

What memory?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Money is not the solution to every problem. If it were the rich won't be having marital problems in their home or with their children.

Little things does matters. Happy Christmas sir

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's right. Merry Christmas to you too. Hope you enjoyed yours?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Money is everything most times but sometimes money can't solved everything. This days people are going thorough heal a lot, most of them don't need money to need to be talk to, we need to move them closer to us, we should be ready to listen to them so they can be happy and live the perfect life

$ 0.03
2 years ago

True. Even the art of listening can help a lot of people without giving them money.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A person should not only be able to do something for someone, but also to think, worry and empathize. Sometimes we need support from someone to know what helped you not to give up and stay afloat.A heart-to-heart talk also helps to support us.The main thing - do not forget that you are not alone in the world! You are not the only one who has problems, you are not the only one who gets tired or needs help. Look around you. Maybe a loved one needs your support, and you, hardened in their problems, do not see anything around. Be more attentive to those around you, and people will reach out to youπŸ˜‰

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you so much for this. Indeed, we need to be attentive to the needs of others and stop drowning in our own. The truth is, everyone is going through one thing or the other. Thank you so much, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Money can’t be solution to every problem money can never at some time the Richie Will want to be among the average poor people. It’s still Christmas Day sir. Merry Christmas.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Merry Christmas to you too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Money is not everything oo . Merry Christmas sir

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's the point. Merry Christmas.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And here it is again. Money vs Love. It can divide a nation for just the vote for the actual desire money & love.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahahahaha. That's right.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm short of words. The first thing that I can say is that money doesn't matter to some people truly because they have enough but they just need you to say something to them.

Maybe this is not true, "nobody cares in Lagos" everyone love to hear good things about themselves even those that pretend... Smiles

Nice post brother, I hope that you checked my last post!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, little things matter and we need to keep doing those little and random acts of kindness.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This article just brought back lots of memories, and the fact is, those little things we count as nothing, either good or bad matters a lot to other people, and there is a way it leaves a mark on them, I remember when a friend had nothing in their house to eat when I was very little, he told me, and without thinking much, I went in, took some rice, oil and some other ingredients, gave him, his dad came to thank my parent which landed me in trouble, but since that day till today.. He has always been grateful and would always come to my aid when ever I need it, and the funny thing is that we are all grown now, but I always feel this sense of security when I'm with him.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Imagine that. It started with a single and simple act of kindness. It might seem little but it meant the world to him. Later, I knew your parents would think to themselves what a kind heart you have.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure they did, cause they also enjoy the benefit. We became close family friends

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's absolutely amazing.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Whatever you give today can go a long way. It may not be too much for you but will be appreciated by the one you gave it to. Life is all about timing and when it comes at the right time, then you have saved someone. I needed money to transport to somewhere which I was finding difficult to get. Suddenly, someone I knew very well drove to me and asked me the direction I was going to. To my greatest surprise, he was also going towards that direction. This means he has saved me from waiting for someone to give me money for transport. He came at the right time.

Life is all about time.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Exactly... It was about the timing and also the beauty of the little things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, every little thing matters to someone. A simple compliment may change someone's day or even life even if you didn't think it matters much.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's so true... As little as a compliment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, you got a big heart Olasquare, I hope there are more people like you. Yes money can bring happiness but feeling the action of love is the greatest.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you so much, my friend. Feeling the action of love is indeed the greatest.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe, I suddenly remember the five language of love

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha spot on... Some yield more even to touch than gifts. True.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

truth, though for me I love act of service and quality time rather than gifts. Not mentioned the power of hugs. Haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh...hugs. I love giving them... Those tight reassuring kind of hug... Love it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gotcha! Oh, suddenly missed my sweetheart.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha. Where is your sweetheart?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

working abroad, we haven't seen each other since 2020 because of this pandemic. It's actually frustrating.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am so sorry and that can really be frustrating, no doubt. Only video calls...☹️

Should be home for the new year, right?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

He got 3 years contract but he is allowed to have yearly vacation supposedly. But due to pandemic, he can't. I can't visit him too since Taiwan is not yet open for tourist. I am having hope few months ago, but then this Omicron variant killed it. Still thankful Video calls was invented. Can't imagined myself waiting for a love letters from him.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow. That's a long time without him. Hahaha love letters are sweet πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yeah and if you're in a relationship I know you could understand me somehow. Considering we just got married a year before he left the country. See? I am beginning to rant, hahaha. I really hate this pandemic.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah... That's cruel. Wow. Just a year? I am so sorry and it's okay to rant. I am here for you, my friend. πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, he needs to worl abroad for bigger income so that we can pursue our dream house. Thanks much for your time, I Really appreaciate itπŸ₯°

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ€— it would be possible. Many more happy years ahead.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True, little things matter a lot, not everyone has the strength to start telling people what they are going through, but when we make them feel free, they will open up to us.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I totally agree with that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago