Giving and Life... Perfect Combo.

43 113
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Giving, Help, Motivation, Nigeria, ...

Image Source.

As much as I love talking about relationships, I also love writing about giving. I am a firm believer in giving and helping people and I am glad I found @George_Dee because we shared the same values and of course, I know many others here too share the same because all the amazing people I've come to meet on this platform are always willing to help.

One of the hardest things to do in life is parting away with your resources and how people on this platform do it so effortlessly makes me want to do better and not get tired. Of course, I have been taken advantage of many times as @George_Dee shared in his last article too but life is just like that because it's hard to know whether we are loved for who we are or for what others stand to gain from us but if other people's actions can dictate how we are going to alter our natural way of living then it shows the values we thought we hold so dear is not as deep as we thought then.

Life is about giving and helping one another and I won't get tired of reiterating this. I grew up knowing my dad to be a giver and he would give just about anything. I learnt from him that I should never make people worse off than they came to me. I might not be able to give them all they want but at least, let me meet them halfway and reduce the burden a little.

I knew how a family member always come around to my dad then and because I was close to my dad, I am always there listening, sometimes eavesdropped and often he would tell me when this family member has gone why he came and it's just with me he discussed that with. Even my two elder brothers didn't even know and I was the one who kept them in the loop when this family member started acting up. Dad helped him finish his house and many times he would come around for his children's school fees and so many other things.

Image Source.

When dad passed away, he said he wasn't taken care of enough (like dad didn't have his own family too?). He was perfectly set up on a business that he ruined and now he just folded his arms and didn't show much support when dad passed away but that's life. Should that stop me from being kind to people because of how they treated my dad? No... Of course, it would help me to reassess every situation before launching out but it won't stop me from doing my bit because that's who I am... I can't help but help others no matter how inconsequential others think it is.

Giving is not just related to money or material things even though that's what naturally comes to mind when we talk about giving. I shared many weeks ago about how I once posted on my Facebook wall asking people how I can help them and more than 90% of the comment spoke on sending them money. This is to tell us that we have been conditioned to think money is all we need whereas major issues are being swept under the rug.

Some people don't even need your money but a shoulder to lean on, a genuine friend to hang on to. Ask those who have money that can even afford them to spend and operate on their loved one's heart of stone and they wouldn't feel it, some of them just need a friend because success sometimes attracts every kind of people to you.

Whichever way we can help others, we should and if that involves money, by all means, please do and if that involves giving them a platform to continue earning while they won't have to depend on you, by all means, do. We are not expected to live just by ourselves but to also live for others. We are to become a channel of blessing to others like a pipe. A pipe wasn't designed to feed itself but to be a channel where others can be blessed and that's how I see life. Don't let us forget that the continued flow of water in this pipe keeps it from rusting but if there was no flow overtime in that pipe, then you can expect it to rust and that's how I see humans. When we fail to do what we are supposed to do we soon fade away and we might be existing but barely living.

Image Source.

Life is hard, let's face it and some people daily fight a battle we know nothing about and that's why it is hard to relate with those who have been conditioned to only receiving and not helping others. How we view things matters and you can't help those who are not willing to change how they view things.

You can give your time because time is fleeting. You can give your word of advice that would give others clarity. Whatever is in your ability to do, please do. Giving is not giving until we have given to someone who might find it hard to repay us later on. If you simply give intending to receive the same measure back then that's simply a business arrangement. The scale won't always be balanced but the major thing is there must be an effort from both parties.

We need to start recognizing the needs of those around us and orientate people on the need to help others in various ways. Most people say they have nothing to give but that's a lie because they are focusing on the wrong thing. If all you have to give to people is money then you are missing the whole point. Whatever takes something from you, whatever can be tagged a sacrifice, whatever makes you do what you shouldn't have done in the first place can all count. It has to cost you something, no matter how little.

"Don't be proud because you have bread to eat. Always remember, someone owns that bakery." - Anonymous.

"If we care enough, share enough, the world would have enough. The world has enough of our needs but not enough for our greed." - Anonymous.

"What we make happen for others, others will also make happen for us. We attract what we are." - Myself (It sounded good in my ears so I had to chip that in. Haha).

Thank you for your time.

Kindly follow me on Noise.Cash... I am trying to engage more with people and connect with everyone with this account. I look forward to seeing you there... You can say hello to me there so we can get familiarized as well. Click here.

22
$ 7.98
$ 6.86 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.22 from @Pantera
$ 0.10 from @Amazing-grace
+ 21
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Giving, Help, Motivation, Nigeria, ...

Comments

Handing is a spirit and it wells up to joy from within the giver. My dad was a giver to a fault and I learnt my little giving antics through his lifestyle. I came about your post through @dreemport on hive.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yaaaaaaay... Good to have you here, brother. Giving helps...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Giving won't only benefit the receiver, but it will also benefit the giver. That sense of warmth in your body and the feeling you just made someone happy is unique.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The feeling is indescribable... It's pure joy like a well spring of gladness from within...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I truly agree that giving is not all about money. It is somehow your presence and your love that will do. I learned that giving has no boundaries.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This is beautiful... Yes, it has no boundaries.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also learnt the act of giving from my Dad too. He would give his last Penny out, give attention to People and always be willing to sacrifice something from him to other people. This is why I love to pity People and help them in the way I can. It's good to give, not only money but whatever you can think that the other really needs, give and do not expect to receive from them.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's right, dear and I am thankful for your dad too... Most of these amazing acts we picked them up from home because the society teaches something different and that's why we need to be imbibed with such kind acts as helping others.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

because it is in giving that we receive :) we have to always remember the little people. very inspiring, ola!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yaaaaay. That's true, my friend and so good to have you here. Thanks a lot, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Even the poor have something to give.. Help has many forms. It's not just about money or material possessions... Some people just need someone to lean on..ears to listen to their words... And if we are giving help, it should be unconditional and not expect something in return..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Vital points there, Janey... It should be unconditional as you have said and help can come in various forms depending on the people. It's worrying when we mention help and it's money that comes to the mind of many.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As much as life is concerned, it is more profitable to give than to receive. And do not expect to receive from the one you gave. Do it with a singleness of mind.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Singleness of mind....I love that. Yes, giving without expecting anything in return is vital.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As my elders often say,

It's better to give than to receive.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

They are smart and wise.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Such a positive writing dear! One can have inspiration from it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Such a powerful virtue being kind. I believe second from love that was the gospel yesterday being kind is the first act of love to others.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's about right... Being kind is to love... Helping one another pays in the long run.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True. Especially this time of pandemic.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolutely.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"If we care enough, share enough, the world would have enough. The world has enough of our needs but not enough for our greed."

This is really.. touching. Can't explain more my thoughts in this article. There is really supposed to be no shortage, only if people just don't get much more than what they really need, and let kthers have them too.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly... If we think with others in mind, it helps a great deal and it eradicates greed to a large extent.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

what we make happen for others, others will make happen for us... i am always eager to read from you cos I will have something to digest. the life we live is a gift from giving and we are expected to do the same

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Absolutely... Life is a gift to us and we should do the same. Giving should go round in circle just as we have been helped, we should help others.

Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Many people think money is their main problem and when they get it they are ok,from a different view humans wouldn't want to tell us what they are facing rather they think money would solve the problem.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly... Money doesn't solve most of the issues people go through and the sooner we realize this the better.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You've spoken well..we just need to realize what actually we need instead of just asking for money always.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's it... We need to first identify the need. I wrote about this last month. I wish I can pull out the link to it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Giving is often times better than receiving and I am glad your dad taught you that very well .

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am glad he did and for the kind of father he was. Thanks a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am really touched by this post ☺️☺️. Life is all about giving and receiving but many people seems to take advantage of it. Some will give and be expecting to receive, while some will just give from their hearts without expecting anything in return.

But like they say "giving is better than receiving". I just hope we would learn how to render help to others.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's right...we have different people with different mindset about it and this is why we need to reorientate ourselves about what life is all about.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good lessons from your dad, just give regardless of anything... it's much better when we do that. And basically not monetary terms as people would claim to need but knowledge.. nothing beats that..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Absolutely...just do it anyway... That's what life is about and life is really short anyway...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The way we are been treated should change or take away a bit out of the good in us, it should only make us wiser on how we do things to help others.

And there is a saying that when you do good to someone, don't expect them to payback because the payback might be coming from the least expected place. I am sure your Dad good would definitely open ways for his generation and you are lucky to have a great father.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

[deleted]

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That has been life scenario, we understand it and it gives peace + inspiration to help more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

[deleted]

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why is the comment writing low score? Our comments are not showing or am I the one seeing it from here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is beautiful. In life, people tend to be ungrateful forgetting those who helped them in the past. But like you said that shouldn't stop us from giving. Singing A song to a depressed person at that point the song is worth more than money. There are so many forms of generosity

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You got it... There are many days we can express our generosity without thinking about money.

$ 0.00
2 years ago