Build That Area of Strength.

38 101
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Image Source.

We all have our area of strength as much as most people want to think they are not good at anything. We have that one thing we are good at even though many others are getting dragged in other directions. As most Nigerians would have known too, we don't often get allowed to be who we want to be because you have your area of strength while your parents think they know better. I am not blaming them because most are doing it with the future in mind as they want you to be able to stand neck to neck with your peers while others see it as a way of bragging to their friends that they raised a fine young man or a lovely beautiful lady who is into this and that.

I watched this series, Sex Education which came highly recommended but trust me, I don't think I really liked that movie. It's bad for my mental state πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚. I don't know what made someone recommend this movie to me and it was more than I bargained for actually. I am not recommending this movie but watch it at your own risk πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£ and not advisable if you are single or if you lacked a bit of self-control, please.

There was this guy who thought he liked swimming until the pressure to always do better got to him. He got respect from his peers for his amazing skill but not so much from his mum. I wouldn't say the mother didn't appreciate him but she never take any time to celebrate whatever he has achieved before moving on to the next one. The boy would be feeling fly only to be humbled when his mum would tell him to be better next time and that's not a bad thing because she is pushing him harder to set the bar high but it only highlighted to the boy that he was simply doing it for his mum, not for him.

Most parents feel pressured to mirror their lives on their children by making them do what they missed out on so they want to live their lives through their children. As cute as that might sound I think it is unhealthy because your child shouldn't have to throw away his life because you are living in guilt of not doing what you should have done back in the day. How insensitive it would be of me when I have a son or if I want to force my daughter to go into football because my dad deprived me of playing football professionally.

I've said it many times and would say it all over again, we need to stop asking children what they want to be in life. They don't need to fit into a system because if we noticed most children who tells you they would love to be a lawyer or a doctor gets the harsh reality and after secondary school, they go with whatever is available and you won't hear them say they want to be a lawyer or a doctor anymore. We should rather ask children what problem they want to solve in the world and this might help guide them properly while we are also on the lookout for their area of strength.

Image Source.

I have my area of strengths; football, running, writing, counselling and being a strategic thinker. Some have more than one and some have maybe just one and that's totally fine too. This is what we need to focus on; building our area of strength and if there is any other talent we wish we have then we can make out time for that too and learn it but we need to stop trying to fit into the world's system by doing what we don't like when we are wasting away our talents. Ask yourself, "What am I good at?" If you don't have an answer for it now, be on the lookout and see the things you do effortlessly that others struggle to do. I used to think everyone loves to write until I met guys in my first year at the University who couldn't even compose a text and would give me to help them type a text to their girlfriends.

Stop trying to do what others are doing but try to do what's on your inside. I don't know how many of you have watched this movie called "Blind Side". It came out in 2009 and it was an emotional movie for me. I think I have written about it sometimes, maybe not here but in my other blogs. This guy wasn't so good with reading and let me say education but those who adopted him noticed that he would do anything to protect the ones he loves. They noticed that his protective instinct skill is ranked 98% which is freaking high and that was all the foster parents needed to help him. They enrolled him into American football and boy! He was so good at it. The movie is actually a true-life story and I am having goosebumps as I am typing this... It was an emotional movie and I hardly get that emotional with movies. This is a movie I will beat my chest and recommend to you all.

Let me add that they didn't just focus on his area of strength but they also got him help in the area of his weakness; academics. We don't need to focus only on our area of strength while not working on our weaknesses, we can be better when we do both together.

We need to stop following a circle while what we need in life has ready been embedded in us. Imagine Bill Gates and all the people we have come to admire; Amazon and the likes doing something different to what we have known them to be? Probably someone else would have come up with it but it wouldn't be their names on it anymore and that is how most people miss their moments in life by not working on their area of strength.

What do you enjoy doing?

Kindly follow me on Noise.Cash... I am trying to engage more with people and connect with everyone with this account. I look forward to seeing you there... You can say hello to me there so we can get familiarized as well. Click here.

Thank you for your time.

18
$ 7.08
$ 6.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @Eybyoung
+ 15
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Comments

Each one of us has an inherent strength we just need to grow it as mush as we can in our ways. From my perspective parents should guide us their children. If they're children are at the right age do not precede their decision.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Brilliant contribution as always. That's right...we all have it deep within us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thank you so much, it's because you have great article I look up to you

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I feel humbled. Thanks a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We all have areas of strength we just need to nurture it.. judging by the emojis about Sex education made me laugh hahaha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahahaha that movie is not helpful πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Reading this, I'm definitely going to watch that movie, Blind Side. Thanks for writing this motivational piece. Really learnt something valuable reading it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am so glad you enjoyed it and yes, that movie is amazing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, you are right. Let the children choose them their own ways. We will guide them.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's the word; guide them and not force them. Good one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Putting pressure on growing up child on what he/ she will become is not good at all. Parents need to pay more attention to their children especially on things the children like doing most. Could you believed that most children like drawing at their early age, but some parents will deprive them from achieving their goal

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Absolutely... And some were so good at drawing yet they forced them to take up science classes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kikikikiki 🀣, so you're telling me to stay away from that movie?? Well since you said is not meant for us , i better I walked away.

I know my area of strength, one of them is singing and writting of fictional stories , because these two things , I can do them without stress, but when it comes to counseling , it will take me time because I will thought about what I will say , I think I'm weak in that area.

Everyone have the things they are good at, it now left for us to discover our potential and work on them.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Well said... We all have what we are good at and recognizing it is what's left to us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now I wanna see the "Blind Side" movie. β™₯️ Anyway, I enjoy writing too, and only realized others find it also hard doing it, like how you discovered it. I feel happy knowing there is something I am good at, I thought I am not that talented. 🀧

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha I understand you, my friend. I used to think there was nothing left for me too when I couldn't play football again.

I would love you to watch the movie.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the part where you talked about parents asking children what they want to become, not in this modern world where any course you are given in college we take it because we are tired of staying at home. I believe we can do better

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly... I believe we can do better and shouldn't have to repeat past mistakes and the experiences we went through.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol 🀣 it makes me laugh whenever I see someone doing something because people are doing it What about doing what you are good at or what you like doing Some will even say it was my mom that choose it for me

And as for the movie ola you should know I can't watch it alone if you are not at home 🀣🀣🀣🀣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's so true... We need to do what we love and not what is dictated for us.

Hahaha please don't watch it o... When I come around, we will watch together and try out what we are watching. πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehehe 😁 Bae must we do what they are doing

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Practice makes perfect, don't you think so? πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know so baby

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You see? πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I found out that I enjoy sleeping without stress- my area of strength 🀣🀣🀣 Wait! I think I recommended that sex Education movie to you. Omo! That movie is meant for married couples and not singles like me😁😁 I love my area of strengths and I found it easier and stress free too. We need to identify those areas we are good at instead of doing what doesn't fit us just because others are doing and excelling in it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahahaha were you the one who recommended it? Hahahaha you have been a very bad girl πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£ like it... But that movie enh... I still can't find any sense in it...yet.

Sleeping? πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£ We need to create a tournament for you at the Olympics. That talent cannot waste.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not recommending this movie but watch it at your own risk---- you just gave me more reasons to want to watch the movie; haha... is it an American series?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahahaha. I think it's fused together...not majorly American. Invite your crushes to visit when you want to watch it though.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't got crushes...πŸ€·β€β™‚οΈ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I read one of your posts where you said you have two. πŸ™„

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You mean my crushes @theblackdoll and @ayane-chan?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thought you didn't have any?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha @Kristofferquincy dude you need to chill πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lmaaaaaaao!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Most people are not even following their talents due to pressure by their parents. We should identify our talents and work towards it

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's so true... It's left to us to identify and work it out.

$ 0.00
2 years ago