Being A Nigerian.

36 112
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Image Source.

What can I say to these things? How do we explain these things to upcoming generations? As a parent, how do you even explain to your child when they ask you about the happenings around? No one is safe, nothing is certain and the future looks bleak with burnt dreams. Where are we going from here, people?

I am proudly Nigerian and I wear my heart on my sleeves. I bleed with emotions and I feel things deeply. I try to see above the average humans. I just desire a better life for everyone. I don't wait for the government to give us the life we deserve, I try to influence life the little way I can. It is not always and only about giving people money, sometimes I try to give people a mental shift so they can think differently and reproduce their results in their way. I am responsible for what I say and definitely not for what everyone thinks. I can point you in the right direction but still, I won't be the one to walk the length of it for you.

How do you explain to a child that the person who stole a thousand naira due to hunger (even though it is wrong) received capital punishment and the person who stole a million dollars despite being full roams the street and the government still try to find a rationale behind such act? How do you teach a child morals when all he or she is faced with speaks the opposite? How do you speak sanity when the whole world is raving mad? How do you explain that there is hope for this country even when those in authority take their investment to the shores of other countries?

Your freedom counts for less and your creativity is not helped. Twitter is banned still and yet we have those whose source of livelihood is on Twitter. I understand the issue of having multiple streams of income and not sticking to just one platform but still, we have those whose major source of livelihood comes from Twitter. How do you expect them not to think of the worst when the odds are stacked against them?

I know we are responsible for our choices and I won't make excuses for anyone who tolls the path of wrong just because the government failed. If the government failed, do you have to fail yourself and those who rely on you? If you ask me, I am just keeping my sanity because it's hard to be motivated where this country is concerned.

I should have made my post yesterday and it wasn't lack of motivation that made me not to post but I just needed to maintain a clear head and who knows, I might make two posts today. I hope Rusty won't think I am overdoing it. I am sorry but I always have a lot to say. If I am allowed, I can dish out quality content 5 times a day because Nigeria is a huge motivation to write on its own. Democracy is a strange language here because we don't practice it. Even the press has been bought and they only speak of what they have been cleared to release to the populace.

Image Source.

People are dying in the North. Houses are being razed to the ground because a certain set felt entitled to those lands because they want to feed their cows. Cows are more valuable to humans in Nigeria, how sad. Those who swore and were trained to protect us are the ones being used also to oversee these dastardly acts. What an irony. If we truly have a responsible government on the ground, these issues should have gone beyond semantics while a permanent solution should have been proffered to the carnage that had taken the limelight in this Nigeria.

Our security architect should be overhauled. Why? What's the essence of security budgets that was drafted and yet citizens' lives won't matter? We are labour intensive where this country is concerned so tell me how there would be growth for a country that is labour intensive and the lives of those who work to keep the country together are being wasted? You need to live in Lagos to see how people are working like crazy men and women - leaving their families and dashing out of the house as early as 4 am!!! There is no infrastructural development they can put in place that would replace the lives of the citizens they don't value. Shouldn't every life weigh more than the treasuries in the Central Bank combined?

I am sad, broken, distraught, concerned and devastated with the state of this country. The best we can do is shout and complain but nothing is getting across to them. They waste human lives as though they can be replaced. They are the most humble of humans when the election is coming and funny thing is, I doubt if the elections even count because they have already placed strategic people in positions of influence to tilt the tide in their favour. It's a reoccurring cycle and they would do anything to make poverty become the order of the day, why? How else would they entice others with stipends if they allow them to make wealth easily? This explains the Twitter ban, Cryptocurrency ban and so many other things they do just to frustrate an average Nigerian who has no place to go other than to 'keep pushing'.

Okay, I am done ranting and I feel the need to get it out there. My heart is heavy and if you ask any Nigerian, he or she would tell you two things;

  • 1. He or she wants to leave the country

  • 2. To have superpowers to punish these so-called leaders.

God bless Nigeria.

I need to keep my sanity and look on the bright side. It's just one life and IF there is another life to come... I don't ever want to come to Nigeria again 😂😂😂😭😂. If you are a Nigerian, strive to make Heaven, please 😂😂😂🤣 and I am sure we all know why I am saying this. 🤣🤣😂🤣

Thank you for your time.

16
$ 11.52
$ 10.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.70 from @ZehraSky
$ 0.10 from @Jane
+ 13
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Comments

You have said it all, the situation of my country is getting out hand. An adage in Yoruba language say "ogede n baje , a lo'n pon " Meaning: A bababa is getting spoilt, and we claim is ripen.

Imagine a country of how many years still crawling on the floor, what a slap on our leader!

A country where we are not moving forward but backward, A country where no one is safe , a country where corruption, bribery and theft becomes the order of the day, a country where the just are punished and the culprit are set free.

I just pray for a change.

Thats your last sentence, made me to burst Into laughter, if you suffer in Nigeria , and you loose heaven, another round of suffering... hehehehe 😆 Hell on Earth, that's the definition of Nigeria 😹😹💥

$ 0.05
2 years ago

😅😅😅😂🤣🤣🤣😅😅😂 what a brilliant comment too. I totally enjoyed it. Absolutely, as a nation, with our resources and years of independence, we are still crawling. It's shameful. Every Nigerian must strive to make Heaven 🙈🙈🙈

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You don talk sense my guy 😅😅 Seriously, our government do not want the best for us. Their selfish and greedy interest have blindfolded them not to see the wrong they are doing. Roads, they won't repair Light, they won't give us Jobs, no employment The freedom we seek has been disvalued and we are being controlled. Sincerely, it is our faults. We have made them have their way in bribing us and allowing Ijekuje to sell our votes to the wrong leaders. They promised us but now, they have failed us. They failed our country.

The last massacre that happened at Lekki last year was enough to make us know they don't value our lives anymore. We are left on our own.

Same thing with me, I don't want to stay in this country again. If I have my way today, Mehn, I don Japa 🤣🤣

But the best is to keep calling on God who can do something for us. Remember when the Israelites cried to God for a new King, He obeyed.

We should only cry to God to give us a good leader and destroy these bad government on the throne.

Enough jare with my comment that is almost turning to an article 😅😅

Hope you are doing well?

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahahaha I enjoyed your article because you spoke the truth that has been staring at us in the face.

It's shameful how we found ourselves in this state and how evil and dark these so called leaders have gone. They are not bothered about anything or anyone. It's sad.

I definitely wouldn't mind leaving with the next available flight either. I will be praying for them in diaspora. 😂😂🤣😂🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣🤣🤣 That is the best oo Let me be enjoying my life overseas while I would be sending my prayers to them 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣🤣🤣😂😂🤣🤣 you are in the spirit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This kind of goverment is such a pain in the head..aww..I really hope that one day all of these will be dethrone. and each country will have a decent leader..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I really hope so too, my friend. Thanks a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I read what you've written. And I can only feel identified with your frustration. Honestly, I don't know too much about the reality of your country. I had never met someone from Nigeria before. Now, I have some virtual friends that I like to read every day. I'm Venezuelan, and the situation in my country is also devastating.

People's lives are worth little or nothing. And the government only cares about clinging to power no matter the cost. I know what frustration is for wanting to change things. The impotence that produces how people normalize deplorable living conditions. But in the end, all we can do is stay positive. Try to help whoever we can. And fight our little battles to get ahead for ourselves and our family. I hope for better days for you and your country.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I can imagine and we have both been cursed with terrible set of leaders and I hope God smiles on us both so we can enjoy a relief from their oppression.

My prayers and thoughts are with you as well, my friend. We can only hope for better days. Thanks a lot. 🤗🤗🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really wish i had super powers to punish them because the whole thing is annoying. I even hear they want to restrict people from travelling out. I really don't why they want to frustrate us.y If you think about Nigeria, you'll like crying and killing all these horrible leaders we have

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes. I heard that too. They said they want to reduce the youths from going out and yet you are not engaging the youths in any way. Is that not madness and witchcraft?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I could feel the heaviness from your words alone. I know that what I imagined from your description will never compare to living and witnessing it which is why my heart is bleeding for everyone of you there. If we might have the chance to live again, I pray that no one ever experienced what all of you are experiencing. Still, I will keep on praying that all of you might find strength to continue on despite the circumstances.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you so much, my friend. I sincerely appreciate your lovely words. I really hope something happens soon because it's too much for the citizens to handle.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nigeria is such a mess and we need help from God to make this country better. The leaders are just the worst! they're not making things better but they're the main cause of our problems. If you think about this country, you'll just want to cry.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahahaha you spoke my mind. They can't improve us and yet they are not making us better. They are terrible set of leaders and indeed they are more of looters than leaders.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My brother, we are so much in great pain, yesterday through the radio I heard where one person was sentenced in Lagos for stealing 11 dozens of plastic chairs and also over 1000 Boko haram members who surrendered and were giving food and cloths without taking them to court for trial for human killings, properties destructions and all evil acts perpetuated by them. What a country I tell you.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Just imagine. It's disheartening and discouraging. I can't help but worry for the future of this country.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My first time to read a rant from you and I felt the heaviness in it. I can only hope and pray for better dayes ahead.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you so much my friend. There are many more rants to come 😂😂🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let them out :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. Thanks, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel sad while reading this..coz it somewhat happens in my country too.. But lemme ask you, don't you have a plan to get out of your country?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It's disheartening, my dear. Of course, I have plans to leave. That's the only logical option I can think of. It's tiring here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Be strong my friend i think every nation has its own problem like us many of the officials who is ruling now cannot be trusted with the welfare of all the people they just there to have favors for their selves..Bless you always

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you so much, my friend. I guess these politicians are the same everywhere. Thanks a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right. Our Nigerian government are just there to steal from us. Their purpose normally is to rule but not to siphon.

We just hope for a better Nigeria and better leaders.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's discouraging. We can only hope for the best but it's frustrating.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

See as you open us outside 😟😟....its the truth we face a lot in Nigeria and I just hope for a real change and not the rubbish they promised us. Corruption everywhere in a place that has the resources it has we are indeed enemies to ourselves.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahahaha. I had to, my brother. It's frustrating that we have so much yet a few feed fat on it while a lot are impoverished.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is true i would have done the same.....this is what we get for bad leadership..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They are terrible and with zero conscience.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It is a pity that we have to go through all these in a nation with abundant resources that should cater for the citizenry and have enough to trade with the international community. Corruption and other vices have raked our society.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

They raked us so bad, my brother. Even hope is feeling hopeless 😢

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Stay strong. I hope everything will be fine in your country. My country has its own struggles as well, and I could just complain about it.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you so much, my friend. I am trying to leave the door of hope open and hoping something great comes out eventually and soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago