Fundraising isn't for everybody

16 57
Avatar for Okeh
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Red cross

This is last day of February and I've been seeing alot of post that is based on people's profit on read.cash this month. Too bad I didn't really make any profit and it was really my fault because I haven't really been consistent. But now, I'll put in more effort this coming month and I'll make my subscribers and sponsors proud. By the way, if you haven't subscribed, please do🥺. Encourage your girl.

So let me give you guys a recap on how I joined a fundraising committee. I'm in my second year in the university so I said to my self that it's high time I join a club and make impact in school other than just reading books all day. So I decided to join the red cross society.

Red cross is a very big society that almost everybody in the world know about it. Right from children to adults and I was so excited to be part of an organization like that .

It was a fateful evening, my sister posted a link on her Whatsapp status that red cross is recruiting people and they need volunteers. I quickly asked her what the society was about and she explained so I joined the group. We were over 70 that registered for red cross in my university so it was only normal for them to conduct an interview. The interview was divided into three sections.

  • Oral interview

  • Paper test

    And the most important one

  • Physical test

The oral interview was supposed to be an easy task, we were first asked to fill in the questionnaire before going to meet our interviewers . In the questionnaire, they asked questions like what do you want to do in red cross and most importantly, what committee do you want to join.

The committee a person wants to join is very important because that's where you'll stay till you graduate. I chose the WELFARE COMMITTEE. The welfare committee looks like a place I'll want because what they do is to check on other members on the red cross to make sure they are okay and I've very good with checking up on people, too bad nobody checks up on me🥺.

Anyways, I was called to the interview room. They asked alot of questions and I answered with alot of confidence and sincerity. But they asked question that was tricky. They asked “ can you contribute to red cross”. And with full confidence, I said “yes”thinking that it was just an interview strategy for me to enter into the organization.

Days passed and the results were out, I was so happy because I passed and I was allowed to move to the next stage of the interview. But to my surprise I saw my name shortlisted for FUNDRAISING COMMITTEE😳

So I went to my commandant's DM (head of red cross) and I told her that there was a mistake. I'm in fundraising committee instead of welfare committee. She said that there was no mistake and they judged from my interview and said that I'll be able to raise money for them in the organization.

I'm sure these people are playing with me because I never told them that I'm a people's person and I also never told them that I know how to ask people for money. I'm sure the interviewers didn't like me😭😭, that's why they put me in a place I won't be comfortable in.

Incase you guys are looking for me, just know that I am trying to raise money for red cross🥺

Sponsors of Okeh
empty
empty
empty

13
$ 0.36
$ 0.11 from @Oluwa_damilare
$ 0.10 from @Olasquare
$ 0.05 from @Amjad_Ali_Waince
+ 3
Avatar for Okeh
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Red cross

Comments

My article on Red cross.. You will like and learn from it

https://read.cash/@FashTioluwa/red-cross-the-strength-of-nations-148a4187

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww... Luckily for you, Big fash is here, I will follow you up now, also fund raising isn't about you donating your money to the organization, its for you to come up with a strategy to help the organization get funds, you can suggest programs to hold, send letters to banks and school authority, also you can even ask student to donate, I wrote about Red cross recently on my article like 3days or 2days ago. You can check it out, I'm the quarter master of my detachment. Nice for you to be a volunteer, wishing you good luck

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you😊, but I just felt that they should have given me a committee that I work best in

I'm more of an introvert so I don't think I've be able to hold programs

$ 0.00
2 years ago

and

With time you will learn, keep up the good work

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣 don't worry dear, you'd definitely do fine. I'd like to join a club also but I don't think it's made for me

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I think you might get used to it once you give it a try

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is interesting, I'll based this experience if Iam going to plan to have a fund raising soon

$ 0.01
2 years ago

No problem 😂, join a red cross society first

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No problem 😂, join a red cross society first

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Probably your confidence gave them the idea to add you to the fundraising team. You'd be surprised by how great things will turn out. Anyways when it's time for donations, do not contact me. 🤣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

😂😂😂😂 so I shouldn't contact you for donations and you want me to be there

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😂😂😂 you can where a mask and point gun to their face when asking.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'll do that😂😂, maybe it'll work

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This isn't the best I can expect from the red cross society, committee should be picked based on interest. That's what makes it all fun and easier

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I was really surprised they did that considering the fact to that I chose the club at my own free will

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol

I guess no one really cares about our opinions in this country

$ 0.00
2 years ago