Themes from Attack on Titan!

29 81
Avatar for Oikawa
Written by
2 years ago

Date: 13th January 2022

Hello Readers! How are you all doing today? I hope you had a fantastic Wednesday, and I hope you also have a great Thursday.

For the past nine years, Attack on Titan, also known as "Shingeki No Kyojin," has constantly been breaking the boundaries of the anime community, and some would even term it as the "Best Anime in the world," even if One Piece is there.

If not for One Piece, then I would probably say Attack on Titan is the best anime because it doesn't only focus on one theme/lesson in the story; instead, there are so many things you can get out of watching it.

Freedom!

At the beginning of Attack on Titan, we see humanity living inside 100-meter walls and have no way of going outside because of all the human-eating titans that reside outside.

The first episode shows us the horrifying tragedy that happens when you allow the titans that stay outside to come inside the walls, and we see how the Titans eat up every human they see.

Eren Yeager, the protagonist, vows to destroy all the titans due to his mother's death and attain the freedom that humanity has never attained due to the horrific Titans.

That first episode alone made me realize how unique the story was because, in a way, our world is genuinely like that, but this time, it isn't Titans that are holding us from our freedom, but our fellow human beings.

Everyone wants the freedom to do anything and go anywhere they want, but if you look at the world, we have borders and barriers that stop us from doing that, and I understand why that is needed.

But why should humanity have barriers when we are all the same? Why can't we stay together as one, or are we afraid of each other? 

Even if we don't have any man-eating Titans, we still have evil humans that stop us from chasing our freedom, and this is why most people end up asking themselves the question:

"What is Freedom? Is it even real"

The more walls you break down to attain your freedom, the more walls that come back up to torment you, so what do you?

Everyone wants to chase freedom, but we don't even know what it is, and the same goes for happiness.

"Why does Man chase something he doesn't even understand, such as Freedom and Happiness."

I can't answer that question, but please put it in the comment box if you have the answer.

Humanity's Hatred!

Another theme I understood from Attack on Titan is how humanity genuinely hates itself. 

In anime(AOT), humans have fought for centuries and committed genocide because of their hatred for themselves and unwillingness to forgive.

Humans are the most intelligent form on earth, but why don't we understand the benefits of loving and supporting one another.

If you look through humanity's history, you will notice that we haven't been fighting animals, aliens, or any other entity; we have only been fighting ourselves.

Whether wars or ordinary disputes, we all seem to hate ourselves even when we are the same, and despite our race, religion, gender, or anything, we are all humans.

What is the point of fighting ourselves? 

What do we gain from shedding each other's blood?

Do you know how much we can improve our world if we all come together and help each other?

If you look at history, there are more than ten genocides, and I am sure the people who were being killed weren't animals; they were humans like you and me.

Most of these genocides were caused by hatred and discrimination against other humans, such as the holocaust, which I am sure everyone is familiar with.

I can't begin to imagine the sort of pain, fear, and hatred those dead people must be feeling because they were killed by their fellow human beings who hated them.

If only we could all sit down and talk to work out our issues, but sadly not all problems can be fixed with talking, and not everyone is willing to forgive.

I hope someday humanity will be able to come together and love one another, and I am sure when that happens, so many good things will happen.

Love is blinding

In the story of Attack on Titan, we are introduced to a slave girl called Ymir, who, no matter what the king did to her, still loved him.

Some say she had Stockholm syndrome because she still keeps loving him for centuries, even when he removes her tongue and shoots her with arrows.

But her story relates to the natural world in a way because most people never want to leave a toxic partner, no matter how bad it gets.

Sometimes the feeling of love can be refreshing, and we think it is our savior because it helps us see a glimpse of happiness.

But we sometimes forget that love is only a human emotion, and it can be what causes our downfall instead of saving us.

I have seen so many cases of men and women who refuse to leave a toxic relationship because they still love the person.

Even if the person doesn't care for them, you see them doing their best to ensure the relationship doesn't destroy, but things shouldn't be like that, and that is why so many of them end up dead.

If someone doesn't seem to reciprocate your love for them, then you should find a way out of things because that person's feelings for you may never change.

Conclusion

Attack on Titan may be coming to an end, but it will always be one of the best anime in the world because it has left so many beautiful themes behind, and I am sure so many people have learned a lot from watching it.

Even if the manga ending was quite scary, I am sure many anime watchers will enjoy it.

Thank you for reading!

29
$ 7.55
$ 6.92 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
+ 22
Sponsors of Oikawa
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Oikawa
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I was hoping if you have some anime suggestions or recommendations with the same genres as the attack on titan? haha. I haven't watched any anime lately and I wanna get back to watching anime again.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I would say Promised Neverland and Hell's Paradise; they are pretty nice!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Actually AOT is the best anime in the world for me .. bro you can see the way Eren transitioned from a good loving heart, happy playful kid to a kid who wanted revenge, then to a teenage who is ready to sacrifice his life to get stronger then into the strongest and most feared titan ever to exist.. I love that .. the writers of this anime are done a great job… it gets even better now that it seem like a time loop thingy .. most people in the manga world are saying it is a time loop .. I can’t wait to find out I just know the most recent episode I saw on Sunday was fire 🔥 🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lol, your comment makes me want to spoil the whole ending for you, but I am not that wicked!

The time looping thing makes the whole story sad because Eren caused most of the events in the storyline.

I haven't watched the latest episode, but based on Twitter, I can tell the animation and battle scenes were 🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥, even the ending song was fantastic! They did their best with this season, knowing it was the last.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh don’t spoil it for me thank you .😂😂😂 it was actually mad

$ 0.01
2 years ago

😰Are you sure you don't want me to spoil it, lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No I don’t please

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The storyline of AOT is very remarkable, at first I had doubts about watching it when it came out many years ago, but I finally watched in 2020 and it is one of the best anime I have ever seen.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

🔥AOT is amazing, it is sad that it is ending, but I guess it had to come to an end someday.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've heard so much about Attack of the Titan but I haven't seen it. This makes me want to watch it now.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe, I suggest you do, since this is the final part, it would be easier to watch everything!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Humans are their enemies. The reason for fighting has no basis but only hatred. The race suffered for their misdeeds. Still, they are fighting for anything and many things which do not need to sustain.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Take it or leave it, attack on titans will go down as the greatest anime of all time!

$ 0.01
User's avatar Vm6
2 years ago

Hehe, even though it will be over, I am sure we will all remember it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My favorite, attack on titan. I definitely love this one even if I am not done with it yet.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It is a great anime, I really hope it ends well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The new season of the anime has arrived but I'm sorry to know the end :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It’s the one thing which I don’t want to see the end. Connected with my soul. Beautiful and pure. 🥺

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lucifer, do you watch Anime?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm still not ready for it to be finished... What an amazing work of art and imagination it was. Truly chilling.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😊Everything great has to come to an end one day, but at least we still have the final season to watch, and trust me this final season is going to be the best.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I saw Attack on Titan on the title, I clicked. Though I stopped reading the manga because I enjoyed the story more if it's animated. Yes, I have to agree that this is one of the must watch/read story as it don't stay on one plot. There were this time where I thought that they have forgotten the main goal of finding what's under Eren's basement haha! ~Manju

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That Basement was the beginning of the end because it helped Eren regain his memories, which shows us that he killed his mother and father. Have you started the final season?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have been hearing a lot of wonderful comments about manga and anime from my friends. Now, I'm curious about it. They say it will not only entertain you, it also teaches wonderful life lessons.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have heard a lottt of people talking about this but never seen it.. your post is such a great intro to this anime.. might as well check it out soon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe, I am sure you would love it, Doll! It is a mixture of mystery and human events.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

AoT is the first anime I watched all episodes. More like my first. Actually do not remember the Ymir storyline.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The Ymir storyline is in the final arc, it would be shown in the final season, you will understand what I was saying when you watch it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, alright, no problem then

$ 0.00
2 years ago