Reality: I am only Human

5 46
Avatar for Oikawa
Written by
2 years ago

My name is Lilian and I am the mother of a drug addict.

My son Michael may be going through his teenage years, but I never expected him to turn towards drugs to solve his problems.

I know I may not be there for my children, but I have always respected and felt proud of how responsible he has been since his fathers death.

In my absence, he became more of a parent to his siblings than I.

Being successful has always been my number one priority, but when I got married everything change because I finally found someone I loved and he loved me back.

I remember when I got pregnant with my first child, Michael, I wish God had told me how his life would have gone.

I wish he had told me he would be born with a severe breathing issue.

I wish he had told me that my son would grow up without a father.

I wish he had told me that my son would become a drug addict, maybe if he had told me, I would have been a better mother to him.

I remember when we lost all hope due to his breathing problems, I didn’t know how to save my child, and I had given up on him.

I felt so ashamed of myself because I couldn’t do anything for my child, and even went as far as giving up on him.

The truth is “I am only human” and I am bound to feel that way.

I would never have imagined that I would lose my husband, or that my children would lose their father.

I couldn’t console my children because I couldn’t even console myself.

I wasn’t there for them when they needed me the most, and all I could do was think of myself, but “ I am only human” and I also felt depressed at that moment.

I had to go back to work so I could provide for my children, but the truth is I didn’t know if I could be a good mother to them.

I worked from morning till night, Monday till Sunday’s, January till December, so I could take my mind of my problems and responsibilities.

Working was the only escape I had from my reality, and even if it meant missing my kids birthday, I am sure they would understand that I have to work for them.

But in reality, I am only being selfish.

I remember when Michael entered high school, I noticed his behavior change, and he always came back with torn clothes.

Even when I knows something was wrong with him, I didn’t say anything because I thought he would handle it like he always did.

I thought he didn’t need me and could take care of himself, but I was wrong.

I am sure Michael needed me at that moment, but I couldn’t save him due to my fear and selfishness.

I wish I could turn back time and help him when he needed me.

I wish I could turn back time and be a good mother to my children.

But I remember that no matter how many wishes I make, this is my reality and it isn’t going anywhere.

The day I confronted Micheal over his drug abuse made me realize how much I have failed my family.

I wasn’t there to nurture and care for them.

I wasn’t there to celebrate their birthdays.

All I did was blame the fact that I was a human and I couldn’t do everything.

I am a failure as a mother, and just as Micheal said, I wish I had died instead of his father.

Sometimes I imagine how my children’s lives would have been if I had died instead, and every time I imagine I always see smiles.

I can blame my humanity for all my problems, but after everything, I am still the one that made those choices.

I am sure if I had spent more time with them instead of work, maybe Michael wouldn’t have turned to drugs.

I know it may be too late to change the past, but I want to try my best to change the future.

I want to start taking responsibility for my children, and no matter how hard it is, I would never give up.

The reason why humans are strong is because we have the power to change, and that is what I am going to do.

I love my children, and I hope I can win their love back.

I hope God gives me the strength to do so. Thank you.

17
$ 5.68
$ 5.41 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.03 from @Fexonice1
+ 8
Sponsors of Oikawa
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Oikawa
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

It's normal for people's lives to be ruined,, Life goes on with danger, Because we are human.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

A problem known is practically half solved. It's not late to adjust as show the love you never displayed. Yeah, it may take time to penetrate through their minds but it'll surely work

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's never too late to make a change provided she doesn't procrastinate. She should out things into prayer while also taking necessary steps such as trying to talk to her son and trying to be there for him as a mother now that he is grown.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

We never change the past but molding the present for sake of the future is what's best to do now, and you are on right track by now my friend. Pray while appeasing your children and all be well.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

No mom who is in the right frame of mind would choose to be apathetic towards the family's condition. No mother can afford to turn a blind eye when she notices something is off.

$ 0.02
2 years ago