Parental roles

36 73
Avatar for Oikawa
Written by
2 years ago

Date: 6th, December 2021

Nineteen days to go before Christmas, and the weather seems to be getting worse😑; the more we get closer, the hotter the weather becomes, it is starting to become unbearable.

Sometimes when I go out, don't ask me how I know, but I can feel the sun putting a magnifying glass on me like it wants the heat to kill only me; I don't know what I have done to it, but I hope this weather stops soon.

I don't want to bore you with more weather talk, so let us get down to today's article without further ado.

Peer pressure, I am sure we all know what this word means, but I am not sure we all know how dangerous this word can be.

Nowadays, we see more and more people give into this problem, and this problem is mainly seen in the youths, mainly because they tend to move in groups.

But I won't blame everything on the youths because sometimes the parents cause this thing.

I say this because it is up to the parent to guide the child on how they should live, but nowadays, you see some parents focusing on other things, forgetting that they have children, and never bonding with them.

Parenting isn't easy, I know that, but when parents don't bond with the child, the child will look for other people who will guide them, and sometimes this doesn't end up good.

You see young people looking for places that will accept them because all they want is approval from someone, but since their parents don't give them this, they will look for groups that will.

When they meet these groups, they begin to change and forget all that their parents had taught them because they finally found a place that listens and cares for them.

Children want love, support, and approval from their parents, but some parents think providing only material things is what it means to be a parent, but that is not the truth.

Sometimes I wonder why parents send their kids to boarding school at such a young age; you can see a child as little as 4-6 in a boarding school, away from their parents and siblings.

When you ask them why they do this, they usually reply, ""so he/she can learn how to do things, and not rely on us.""

I understand that children should learn how to do things themselves, but why would you want your child to leave you at such a young age and expect them to come back home the same way.

I am not saying boarding school is terrible, but parents should teach their children things instead of shipping them to a school where they won't get the love, care and support that a parent can give.

You may be wondering why I am talking about boarding schools, and the reason is because of an incident that happened recently in my country.

Can you imagine a child was killed by his seniors because he didn't want to join their cult? They killed him in a boarding school.

Not only did they beat him till he was unconscious, but they also forced him to drink acid so that he would end up dying, and no one would know of their cult.

I don't even know what to call this sort of situation because these are children, and they were capable of doing all this to their junior because he didn't want to join their group.

If they could do all this at this age, what would they be doing when they grow up? I genuinely don't know who is to blame in this situation.

Should we blame the school for being careless and not checking on their students?

Should we blame the children for their actions? Or...

Should we blame the parents for not teaching their children what is right and wrong at a young age?

Well, we can't blame the parents because they have already decided to put their children in a boarding school to learn ""Responsibility,"" but as we can see, that is not what they are learning.

This is not the first time this situation is happening in a boarding school, but this particular one is terrible because of how they did it.

Imagine killing your fellow student with acid; I have never heard that one before.

I know they did it so they could feel like grown-ups because that is all kids want to do. But now they are on the run, and their parents hide them, so the police won't catch them.

I think if their parents had taken care of them, and guided them on necessary things, like how to be a human, then we wouldn't be having this kind of tragedy.

Anyway, I want to hear your opinion on this matter.

Do you think it is necessary to send your child to boarding school at such a young age? And are the parents to blame or the school?

Thank you for reading!

24
$ 8.98
$ 8.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 18
Sponsors of Oikawa
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Oikawa
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

My God. It's terrible to read something like that. How bad is it for parents to teach their child to be responsible? This is learned at home. In school is another thing to learn. How will those parents feel now that they no longer have their child with them?

$ 0.04
2 years ago

It is sad to read this sort of news, and it could have been prevented if they had listened to their son when he said he was being bullied. Instead, they sent him back to school, and now he is dead😥

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So you're not having any plans for anime stuffs. That's not cool of you 😛 As a weeb we must buy some 😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I want my kid to be with me as much as I can so I can guide her and be with her if she needs support. Sending her to a boarding school is a no no for me, unless she is already in college.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

I can't agree more. You got it very right. When kids see there is no one who listens to them carefully they search for others who will listen to them and guide them. This leads them to do what they are not supposed to. As a kid, I felt it so many times. Now as a Mom I try my best to follow this thing. Thanks for the writing.

$ 0.06
2 years ago

If someday I'll become a parent, i will give all my love for them, and discipline them in a good way to become a responsible. I know how hard a parent is, but someday you will just realised that all those things that you teach them was worth it.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I'm not parent right now. But I raised my nephew and nieces. I know the hard work, care and tensions. Agree with you.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

This the problem we have especially in Africa parents need to understand that training a child goes beyond just giving them material things and sending them off to boarding school

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Material things are good, but children want more things than only materials. Boarding schools aren't essential to me.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yeah this is true I thank my parents they kept me in a school where they could monitor everything I did till I was grown enough

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As a Mom myself, I do not see any need to send any kid to these boarding schools until they are at least 15 or so.. that too if definitely required without an option...

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I'm not too fond of boarding school. I think day school is better.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Agree with you.. boarding schools here are too brutal, some kids even lost their lives

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The role of parents in our lives is so much that it may not be possible to express it in a few words. The most beloved people in our lives are our parents. But in my opinion, children need to be made responsible and independent. It is very necessary for the child.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Some parents prefer to be far from their children so that they will be more reponsible and independent. Me as a parent why not train your child to be more responsible example in doing house chores. I did make an schedule of their "gagawin". Responsible child once train will be more reaponsible. Newbie here

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You are so right, I believe a child can be taught responsibility at home, and it is even better for the parents to teach them than outsiders.

Welcome to readcash, Ann😊😀 if you follow the rules and interact with other writers, I am sure you will have a wonderful time here. Have a great day

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not a parent but based on what I have observed younger generation attitude is far from different before. In which, the way our parents discipline us before is nor longer applicable for them. As for boarding school it is not common in our country. Usually we leave our home and stay in a boarding house when we are already in college

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yeah, things are changing nowadays, and discipline is no longer the same as then.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for this article, this made me realize that we should not blame anyone. To all parents out there, we should always be reminded that it is our duty to provide the needs of our children, teach them and let them be full of all aspects in life like emotional, spiritual , physical and etc. We need to fill the love and care for them.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Children needs love and care more than those material things we get for them,we should take care of them in thier young age.Btw I wouldn't send my child to a boarding school at a tender age if peradventure I'll be working in a company though,the parents are to be blamed on letting their child be in the boarding house and not the school.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It is unfortunate to hear this news because it could have been avoided if the parents had listened to their child when he was telling them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe, parents is held responsible for everything that's happening to their child. Sending your child at a very young age in a boarding school is way too risky.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yeah, I mean, they won't even know who to follow at such a young age and end up doing bad things. Parents are to guide their children and not let others do that for them

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That was too bad, how can a young age kill's? That terrible. As a mom, I would never put my responsibility for my son to others. I mean, I'm not gonna send my child to a boarding school at his young age. At that age he needs more attention and guidance from his real parents. Parents must be more responsible for their kids manners. Even at home kid's can learn to be independent.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Exactly, I believe children can learn to be independent from their parents, and children should always have a bond with their parents.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have never liked boarding schools, maybe they aren't bad in themselves, but the lackadaisical attitude to management by the lot of Nigeria workers will definitely make me reconsider putting my child in the care of strangers

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I agree with you, dear!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so sad and heartbreaking Oikawa. Parents should always have an eyes to their children so they are always aware the life of their children. As a parents always check your children to be sure and the securities for them also.

As a parent also we should teach them a lesson. They must guide their children so that they will grow as a good individual. Always teach them the dos' and donts'. Teach them a good morals and behaviors so that they will learn.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I agree with everything you have said, Ramona! But the truth is that most parents don't even have time for their children, and they never try to get closer to their children; the only thing they do is provide material stuff, but they don't provide love for their kids

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes you're right Oikawa that's true. Sometimes they only give a material things but they don't know that their children need some love and care from them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I personally don’t like boarding schools. I cringe whenever I hear tales from student that attended them.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yeah, I don't know the point of boarding school, it only draws the kids away from their parents

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If i will be a parent soon i will be the first to protect and guide them on growing everyone knows that's what parents does. I must support them to their happiness but in a good and right way..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

In my opinion, if I am going to be a parent, I don't want to send my kids in the boarding school at the very young age, it's my duty to protect and guide them especially in moral. Life is too short, I must spend their childhood full of happiness, learnings and love. Also security.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you🥰I don't think boarding school is necessary at such a young age, because if you want to send your kids away, then why bother having them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're right.. Parenting is hard as it doesn't involve just material things even though that's important too... Nice write up...

$ 0.03
2 years ago