My Father's Bday Is Near: What Should I Do?

41 40

Last 2018, my father hit his diamond year which is 75 years of age. This year he will be on his 79th birthday. He will be turning 79 at March 17.

So I'm not sure what will I do since I can't touch my money because I'll going to Baguio this 23. And I was thinking about the gift that I'm going to give and all of sudden I remember something that happened years ago when he hit his diamond year.


I was in Senior Highschool during this time, when they texted me that they want me to go home since it was my father's birthday. I agree to it since it was just once for a while, so I was thinking about the gift that he wanted. My father's love perfume so I think it would he nice to buy him a perfume and give it to him.

Everyone knows about Davidof perfume right? Davidof perfume is a perfume where it has a nice smell and I love the women's version of this product. I'm using this for like a years now eversince I was in Jhs and it cost me a lot. So because it has a nice smell, I buy my father that cost 30$ or 1500php it was smell too nice. I like it also, but I didn't know that my mother were expecting that I will give money to my father instead.

When the day arrived, I'm excited to go home since it was a months already when I last go home. I already packed everything that I'll be using while staying at house for like a days, I was like a kid who's excited about everything. It was already 1pm when I got home, the party was ended but still there's a lot of people who's in there.

I greeted my father and my mother also the other part of my family, my mother was laughing while looking to my aunties like she said something but I don't know what it is.

Hours passed it's already night, me and my whole family where inside of the kitchen while having a dinner with the keft over foods from the afternoon, my mother asked me if I have something for my father since it was his birthday and I said yes. She laugh and said, "Give it to him already." My father said, "Give it later just finish your food first.", I thought everything was fine since they were acting nicely, without an idea what will going to happen next.

So after we took a dinner, I go to my room, and get the perfume inside of my bag and give it to my father. It was wrapped with a gift, instead of being happy they told me that they are disappointed. My mother even told me that, "I thought you were going to give him a money." I can't react at all, my feelings were hurt and I feel useless.

My dad said it was okay, but they looked disappointed. They even show the receipt if how much the perfume is, but instead of being thankful, my dad said, "Sana cinash mo nalang." After hearing this word, I just go inside of my room and start crying. I felt like they don't feel my effort at all. They want more than what I can do, and my mother always want the cash instead of things.

After that, one of my cousin whos already on her 40's go to our house. My father suddenly mentioned about the perfume that I gave to him, he said, "You can have this perfume since I don't want to use it ", my cousin as him if he was sure because it was looking expensive.

And that's where my heart suddenly crashed...

I felt like, everytime that I'm giving something to others they will going to reject it and give it to others.


It's always happening each year, last 2020 it's where the covid starts, to be honest I don't have any allowance left from my pocket. It's already enough to buy a cake, no one can go out except me so I buy a cake for my father. He didn't say thank you at all, he just grab it and throw it to the garbage saying, "I don't need that cake. I can buy for my own." That cake was cost 600php or 12$.

I want to ask him why did he do that, why everytime I'm giving him a cake he always handling it out to the others? Why he didn't say thank you at me even once?


To be honest, because of that I'm not sure of I'm going to give my father a gift at his birthday because he's always not accepting it, and my mother wants me to do a Money cake or cake money where the cake have a money inside, she told me to surprise my dad with that but I don't have enough money for that, she told me that it was for next year.

To be honest, I'm not sure what Imma gonna do this this.


Final Thoughts:

This was a raining afternoon to all! I'm answering my modules while watching Kdramas and ended up not finishing them all, HAHAHAHA and while doing article also. Ok I'm doing multi-tasking HAHAAHAH

By the way, thank you so much for cheering me up about being chubby. I really appreciate all of your words. Thank you guys!

OGLU2022

20
$ 7.88
$ 7.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.05 from @ExpertWritter
+ 13
Sponsors of OfficialGamboaLikeUs
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Bakit naman. Hayts. Since wala na akong papa, si mama yung inispoil ko ng little presents and naaappreaciate niya always. Sana sis maging okay na ako dyan sainyo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow malapit na siya mag 80. Ano sikreto ng father mo to stay healthy at that age?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parang ako lng siguro di familiar sa Davidof perfume Gy? Ang hirap nman nila i please 😞

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo ate, kasi naghahangad sila ng sobra

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uyy grabeness di ko kinaya yung reactions nila sa gift mo. Kung ako yun hindi ko kayang maging mabuting tao hayst.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's hurts mare, i feel you. But I also understand the side of your father. Sometimes, parents choose money instead of gifts kasi doon mabibili nila gusto nila or ikekeep nila. Kasi sa panahon ngayon or sa edad nila ngayon, praktikalan nalang talaga. That 600 pesos na cake, pwede na yun ibigay sakanya sa birthday niya.

Ang mali lang is, tanggapin padin naman sana nila kung ano ibibigay mo. Hindi yung kung ayaw nila ibibigay nila sa iba. Jusko be thankful kasi merong anak na katulad mo di katulad ng iba na hindi nila mabigyan yung mga magulang nila. Hays

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Triny ko na sila iask mareng, pero nasigawan lang ako saka sinabing wala nadaw ako dun

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Chaket naman non, yung pinagisipan at pinaglaanan mo ng sarili mong pera yung bagay na ibibigay mo tapos ganyan pa matatanggap mo. Sana bago nila sabihin yun, inisip muna nila na kahit na mahirap kumita ng pera, still nakapaglaan pa rin yung anak nila ng regalo para sa papa niya sa birthday nito. Kahit pa isang letter lang yan eh, it's the thought that counts :(

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Dko rin matanggao action nila sis, nakakaoffend at masakit sa loob ko bilang anak nila

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wag kang pumunta ate, masisira buhay mo. Gabing gabi, kumukulo dugo ko. Hindi yata anak turing sayo eh hehe. Wag na ka na ate pumunta please lang. Birthday naman ate ng Papa ko, gusto ko bilhan sa Shopee tapos bayad na. Thanks ate sa pagpapaalala. First time ko tong gagawinπŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hala goodluck πŸ’“ magugustuhan yan sayo paniguradooo. Sakin naman, andito kasi ako sa bahay now tas usto ng nanay ko bigyan ko sila ng cake money baeon o money cake? Eh sabi nya kung diko kaya nextyear nalang daw, jusko naging bangko ata aq

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hays feel yah dzai! Yung tipong di mo alam kelan ka nila magugustuhan. I mean alam mo pano ka nila magugustuhan pero di mo kaya yung gusto nila. πŸ₯²

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Dama moko sis? Sakit no HAHAHAAH. Matatawa ka nalang na mapapatanong bat ganyan e HAHAHAAH

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This hurts me a bit. I don't what to say but there is only one thing I know that can help you. You have to pray for it my friend, that your parents will somehow have a change of heart, that they will see the efforts you've been extending, realizing that every little gift you are giving them is out of love.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oo nga ma'am eh, kahit ga yan pinapakita nila magulang ko parin sila at ayaw ko taknuhan responsibilidad ko sakanila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naranasan ko din yan ,it was christmas before nung may trabaho pa ako and every christmas talaga may gift ako lahat ng memmber ng family pato auntie ko and couzin then hindi nagustuhan ng tatay ko yung binigay kong short ,dapat cash malang daw tapos rinig na rinig ko na binigay niya sa kaibigan niya ,at dahil may natira pa akong pera ,binigay ko eto kay tatay and I was acting like I ddi'nt hurt pero sa totoo talaga ang sakit kasi hindi na appriciate ganun talaga yung parenta natin mas mahalaga yung pera kasi hindi natin alam may pag gagamitan sila .Anyways advance happy birthday kay papa mo.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Diko tulpy alam pano siya bibigyan ate, bawal ko galawin pera ko kasi aalis nako this 23. Sumasakit ulo ko kakaisip jusko

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess your parents wants more than the things you gave to them. I'm really sorry for what happened to you earlier but we can't do anything to change their mind so it is better to ask your mother about what your father want I guess it would be better. Don't be sad, they loves you, they are just trying to act hard to you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That has happened may be because he was expecting more. But I could feel also what did you feel. Understand your father. Pray for him na lang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is quite heart breaking lalo na pinaglaan mo pa ng budget kasi lalo na student ka palang ang sakit sa pakiramdam na di naman nila appreciate yung thought of giving but I know we can't be forever angry with our parents because they are our parents. I think the money cake was quite expensive because of the inserted money inside. Di ko alam kung makakatulong pero last Birthday nung papa ko binilhan namin sya ng mattress sa kama kasi nag rereklamo siya dati na masakit yung likod nya kapag natutulog.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Mattress sa kama? Ano yan? Ay teka oo nagrereklamo syang masakit nga gilid at likod nitonb nakaraang araw, pero di ako familiar dyan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opo mattress sa kama. Di ko lang alam kung saan inorder ng ate ko pero ang binigay namin tatlo magakakapatid ay foam mattress para lumabot yung higaan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Stylishly ask him for something he has always wanted during a conversation. And if it's something you can afford then buy it for him. Surprise him... lol!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Are you referring to the cake also? πŸ₯²

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang lungkot naman, may mga magulang talaga nah hindi makita ang effort ng isang tao, bakit kaya ganun noh? Ang sad, but anyway don't mind about your father sis, just focus on your goals in life😘

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wala sis eh, ganyan ugali nila. Magulo fam ko sis, minsan gugustuhin mo pang dana di nalang nabuhay

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aii wag naman ganyan sis, alam kung kaya moh yan, sabi nga sah bible hindi tayo bibigyan ng problema sah dios kung hindi natin kaya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Huwag kana lang magbigay bunso hindi din naman nila pinapahalagahan ang effort so para saan? Ako pag ganyan hindi na ako magbibigay hihi pero syempre tatay mo pa rin yan.

Pero sana man lang bigyan din nila ng halaga kung anuman ang iyung nakayanan. Kasi pag money cake yung ibigay mo, gagastus kapa sa cake tapos baka ma disappoint nanaman sila kapag nilagyan mo lang ng 1000 diba kasi mag expect yan sila na mataas yung huhugutin na pera sa cake.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Jusko ate, sinabihan ko silang wag umasa kasi student ako sapa di ako gastador huhu. Pera lang kasi habol ng nanay ko kaya ganyan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let your mama ask your father what he likes for his birthday lods. Hehe and besides, no matter what you give as long as its given unconditionally, im sure your father will accept it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wala lods. If mama ko tatanungin ko sagot non pera

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bilhan mo ng kwentas lods, hehe yung mumurahin pero totoo hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think you are the one who knows about your father. Just think of things or situations that can make him happy. That's fabulous especially when you think what's the best gift to your father and I'm sure what ever you give to him he will be happy for that.😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kahit ano wala e, parang disappointed sya sa lahat

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nasad naman ako sa shinare mo sis. Hays, I hope that will be change now. Sana maappreciate nila effort mo

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Diko pa alam bibigay ko sis, 50/50 ako

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Do the Money cake or cake, out many money inside, surprise dad with it. He will accept it!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Omg, no no this one will not do it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mostly kasi sa mga guy po ay di vocal to say thank you, for me pag papa ko di nag thank you masaya ako dun hehe kasi mas nahihiya ako pag nag thank you siya hahah, binigyan ko siya ng Cp last feb. As a bday gift peru hindi ako nagbigay. Masaya ako sa binigay ko. Sayu namnπŸ˜… ibinibigay sa iba? Parang nakakaoffened nga ano, try mo kaya tanungin papa mo, my reason yan ksi pag ganyan ikaw lang talaga ang madidisapoint

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oo ah nakakaoffend masyado yun, syemore anak ako e dapat di sula ganyab

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga nakka offened talaga peru try mo paren magbigay πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago