Wedding - money or a gift?

12 34
Avatar for Musician
2 years ago

There has always been a dilemma. What to take to someone's wedding, an envelope with money or a gift? What gift, how much money? There are different opinions. Mostly, people decide for a certain amount in money, so the newlyweds can decide for themselves what they need. Someone is more for a gift, to leave them something as a memory.

I would start with invitations. The invitation usually says the name and surname of the newlyweds , where the wedding takes place, in which restaurant the celebration takes place, and in the end believe it or not, it clearly says "gift - money". People started making fun of themselves and write on invitations what they want and what do not:

a) car

b) television

c) money

In the end, they complete what they need. I see it this way.

Wedding as a business

In Serbia, weddings are becoming a growing business. The more guests, the more money. How it goes. The restaurant costs 20 euros per guest. The minimum amount that is given as a gift is 50 euros. Simple math, 30 euros is pure earnings. That is why the guest lists will be long. They invite relatives they have never seen, they don't even know them. An average of 300 guests are at the wedding. 30 euros per guest. Earnings are 9000ev. Music costs 1000 euros, wedding dress, suit 1000 euros. In the end, the net salary will be 5000 - 6000 euros. Great business. 😀 It's not the end. There will be a surplus in the end. 10 irons, 2 TVs, 3 air conditioners, 5 lamps. Then comes the auction, everything is half cheaper. People know this and are waiting their turn to buy, sometimes there is an argument. It's a good business, you have to admit.

Wedding as pleasure

I did the wedding for pleasure. My wife and I collected a certain amount, our parents added the rest to us and we had an awesoma time at our wedding. My friends played at the wedding, filmed, the party was great. We didn't ask for money as a gift, nor did we tell the guests that we didn't want a gift, in the end we bought a car from that money. It is a day I will remember for the rest of my life, perhaps the happiest day of my life. Not because I bought a car. 😀

Wedding for papers

The worst option can also be the best - wedding for papers. And that's where people saw a way to make money, so a wedding for papers costs up to $ 20,000. It depends on which papers are in question, more precisely for which country. I know people who work for years to earn that money. Institutions are trying to stop that, but it is very difficult. They mostly live together, roommates and no one can track them down. A certain number of years pass and everyone goes their own way.

In the end, I would like to know what are your customs? Do you bring a gift or money to weddings? Do you know that someone got married for papers?

Thanks a lot for reading. Lead image is from unsplash.com.

Stay well and safe!

10
$ 1.58
$ 1.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
$ 0.05 from @Jelena
+ 4
Sponsors of Musician
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Musician
2 years ago

Comments

It is a good business to get married by papers or to make numerous invitations, there is a good profitability, the amount is divided and happy everyone, haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Marriage for convenience is a kind of practice in poor countries like mine. I want my wedding to be a wedding of pleasure. I won't ask for gifts neither.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree with you and I wish you luck 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think for me if someone invite me some wedding event. I will bring money as a gift because they could buy and use it for what they wants. They can choose to or maybe they can use it in other important matters.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree. It is always best to donate cash. Young people themselves know what they need most

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes my friend it's better if it is a cash.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What an interesting topic! I attended a young couple's wedding last year and their wedding invitation is the most practical I've ever seen. And the handwriting message at the back says,

"We really hope that you can join us on our special day. You'll make our memories complete in every single way. We do not have a gift list and we know you'll unsderstand. Our house + contents are complete with pots, plates and pans. But should you really want to give and to celebrate this way a gift of money would be lovely for a rainy day. Please do not feel obliged to buy a gift. It's your presence and not your presents that is important to us."

And I love it atleast we knows which best to give. We give money. And even if they don't ask we always just give cash because you will never know if there will be other guests giving the same gift. Atleast if it's cash then they can buy or use the money on whatever they need or want. I don't know anyone who got married for papers. That's not just right.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

The perfect invitation. They wrote clearly that they have everything and that it is not a gift that is important to them, but presence. And we always give cash. Thanks for the nice and extensive comment 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If someone invites me to the wedding I usually like to give beautiful gifts. Because everyone has money. I really like to eat beautiful food at the wedding.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Not everyone here has a lot of money. Then that money means a lot to them for a new beginning 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My aunt and uncle also get married for paper yet later on they get married again in church because they begin to love each other. As for me I bring money to wedding because I avoid inconvenience on buying gifts.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Well, that's a nice ending. It's nice that they fell in love. We also always carry cash as a gift.

$ 0.00
2 years ago