Not to be thrown away

12 37
Avatar for Musician
2 years ago

From an early age, someone around me always saves something. Someone saves money for the dark days. They consider dark days if there is inflation again. Someone is saving on food. Someone buys groceries that can last a long time, flour, sugar, oil, beans, rice. I don't know if it's because of the wars and the inflation they experienced. I'm talking about my grandmother who used to do that. She knew well what it meant not to have, and out of fear she made supplies or it was her way of life. I see it this way.

People who never buy themselves new clothes

Most middle-aged people I know don’t buy themselves a new clothes. They pull old suits out of the closet, wear them to a tailor, remodel just so they can be worn for another season, not to be thrown away. The shoe cabinets are full of old shoes. Every pair of shoes is worn for restoration, just not to be thrown away. Although a pair of new shoes costs almost twice cheaper, it's inexplicable, just don't throw them away. I know people who pay more to dye jeans, coats, jackets than it costs a new piece of it, just not to throw it away. They don't care if this piece of clothing is out of all the trends, that it was fashionable 50 years ago.

People who glue a broken thing, patch it, just so they don't buy a new thing

I had a situation in the house, where our grandfather reprimanded us for throwing an iron that caught fire. It never occurred to him that we could have been killed, that the current could have killed us. He was angry that we didn't carry it to replace cable, but we threw it away. And our logic was that this cable and work cost more than a new iron. With the new iron we got a guarantee of course. 😊

That same grandfather fixed the broken plastic dustpan for cleaning, patched it, tide it up well, just so it wouldn't be thrown away. 😀 I believe you will like the photo.

People who eat food from 3 days ago just to not throw it away

The biggest and most serious thing in the “not to be thrown away” story is the food that is a few days old. I was a witness, the whole family got food poisoning from lunch they ate for 3 days, just not to be thrown away. Worst of all, it’s not that they don’t have. On the contrary, they have, they have more than enough. That's how they learned from a young age. You won't believe it, they still do the same thing after that poisoning. Just not to be thrown away.

Have you ever been in a situation where you were doing something like this? I think my people are unique in this behavior. 😊

Thanks a lot for reading. All content is original.

Stay well and safe!

13
$ 2.64
$ 2.40 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.05 from @Jelena
+ 5
Sponsors of Musician
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Musician
2 years ago

Comments

La verdad las distintas situaciones a cada uno nos lleva a tomar posición ante lo que dices que tu abuelo hace, en mi caso he tenido que aprender a reparar utensilios por no tener como reponerlos por uno nuevo, pero la mejor parte fue aprender a hacer ropa nueva, bien sea de ropa pasada de moda o de nuevos retazos de tela, amo el reciclaje le doy nueva vida a objetos viejos y me siento feliz de poder ahorrar dinero en esas cosas para poder invertirlo en otras.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I won't be ashame but all of what you've saide aresome traits taht my mother have, she always choose to use the old things that she had rather than buying a new one. My brother always insist on buying both of my parents a new clothes but insted of using it they just stored it in the cabinet saying that they'll use it if only it's needed and same goes for the for we were discipline to eat what's on the table and never leave any single piece of food on plate

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am okay with restoring old items or fixing them, as long as they are still usable. But with food? I've been there. My grandma made me eat spoiled foods which made me sickly, damaged my gums and my immune system. May she rest in peace.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

When I was rich and didn't know it, if something was damaged I would buy another one and replace it, now that the crisis has hit us very hard, we can't do the same, we have to repair things because they are very expensive usually you have to sacrifice buying food to get a utensil. Another thing, my repairs are more aesthetic.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Am not old but I can relate to this in fact this is my life style... I learn to value things no matter how old or new they are

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is why, old people has good personalities that is good for the newbies to copy 🤗

$ 0.01
2 years ago

There is a saying in my people. "Listen to the older man but don't follow him" 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This behaviour is quite more often we noticed to old people , this is their way of living saving somehing that is still useful. I remember my grandparents in this personality shes like this kept on keeping worn things for future use. We often noticed this character mostly in old people.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, such a way of life is characteristic of older people 👍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My father is like this friend. He prefer to save it and repair it than throwing it away especially the things in the house. Even our broom, even a cellphone. I love this kind of attitude of my father because he always told us what could be the reason and he says to be less in expenses. There's a chance to repair it and still it's usable.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

If something is usable, I agree. But our iron could have killed us. We threw it away right away 😀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes my friend except for iron.😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago