What Is Your Foodprint?

20 40
Avatar for Murakamii.7
1 year ago

April 28, 2022

While I was researching about Earth Day, I came across a link that talks about Foodprint. It provides three-minute survey questions wherein you can answer. There are no right or wrong answers. You just have to be honest while you're at it.

It is no ordinary survey question wherein answering you will find out what kind of eater you are. It is more than that. More than how the food contributes to your health, the foodprint also concerns how your food intake affects the environment. If you are interested to take part in the said survey, please kindly click the given link.

There are seven questions in all.

This is the first question. If you don't eat, you won't be qualified to take the foodprint. But I doubt it, all of us here eat food. How would we be able to survive if we don't eat, right?

I won't go on posting all the questions. It will be for you to explore and answer. Just kindly click the link and you are good to go.

After answering all the seven questions, you will then be provided with your foodprint itself.

Here is mine. This is just an overview. As the results showed, my food intake is not that great as I am not particular with what I eat. To be honest, I don't have a garden of my own and I prefer meat over vegetables. Also, it doesn't matter to me where the food came from as long as it looks delicious and mouth-watering.

Here are the detailed results:

Meat Consumption

I was told to eat less meat and pay attention to where it comes from and how it is produced. In that way, I can avoid transmitting the disease that might harm me. Plus, reducing meat intake will be good for the health.

Food Waste

I was also advised to minimize food wastage because I answered one of the questions that I sometimes put the excess food in the garbage especially if I don't like the taste. If it is my favourite, I would store it and eat it later.

I was reminded that if I waste food, I also waste the resources it took to produce it like water, time, labour and my hard-earned money.

Food Literacy

This is important because it leads to food sustainability. The more we know about the food we eat- from the label to how it is produced, the wiser we become in choosing to consume the food that can improve our health and our planet.

I find this too good but hard to follow. We know already the good foods and the bad foods as to how my niece's teacher put them in their class, but we tend to ignore them as we are after the taste. This is true to at least some people.

Local and Seasonal Sourcing

This is where #supportlocal came in. We have to subscribe and consume the food that is locally produced. Also, we must take note of the seasonal foods. Seasonal foods are cheaper than out-of-season foods.

Worker Welfare

Appreciating the farmers and the suppliers of the foods. We should not just be confused as to what we will have for dinner. We should also think of the people who made it possible for us to eat some fresh produce. We need to appreciate the farmers and treat them well. In that way, they can also provide and deliver fresh and quality produce.

Animal Welfare

This tackles how some of the animals were treated badly just for us to have supplies of meat. This should also be considered.

I had fun taking the survey and more than the fun that I experienced. I was also blessed to be reminded of the things that I often take for granted. This time, I will be a wiser consumer and I would see to it that it is not only my stomach that I will be satisfy. I will also think of how the food I eat can affect my health and the environment as well.

Thanks for reading. Until the next read!

10
$ 3.17
$ 2.88 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @BCH_LOVER
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
+ 7
Sponsors of Murakamii.7
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Murakamii.7
1 year ago

Comments

I couldn't imagine if all people have the profession like they finished a certain degree. I think God make a balancing factor for us to have the right to obtain what we need especially commodities. Yes , I agree we should appreciate the effort of famers wether local and international.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ah huh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was born into a family that food wastage will lead you to punishment if they discovered you waste any food..... I love meat though, any type of meat except pork

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wow what a wonderful practice a family can have.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Parang nindot ni siya answeran maamsh. Try daw pud ko kung unsay akoa...Mas better gyud kung balance ang atong gipangkaon maamsh para healthy Ang Atong life.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lage maamsh ja dapat I consider pod kung dis a gikan ang gipangkaon

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is nice sis, we get to understand the overall effect of our eating habits. Bookmark ko to hehe

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Go sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maganda toh sis, awareness na rin lalo na sa mga tao na sky is the limit sa kainan.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahahah guilty ako Jan doc

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Parang food suggestions or recommendations ba to ate based on your food consumption and food eating history? Mukhang maganda sya. Try ko to later haha.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah, parang ganun

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nako eat less meat na daw oh. Meat is life pa man din pero dapat balance sa veggies.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahaha char lungs

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hindi talaga maganda na lagi meat mamsh nuh. Dapat balance lang talaga. Hindi maganda sa katawan natin yung meat mamsh pag palagiin. Kaya ako may gulay kasi may meat din.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Majo man ka maamsh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I've got some work to do. Hahaha! Unedible eater 🤣

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ano daw

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mine is "Meh, could be worse" lol!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahaha. Patay tayo Jan hahah

$ 0.00
1 year ago