Two peas in a pod

19 40
Avatar for Murakamii.7
2 years ago
Topics: Friendships

Today, I lost yet another friend. October of 2020, when I met this friend. She's a workmate of mine. We first had a conversation when she approached me about the details of the boarding house I was then living in. I'm not sure if it's her or me, who is feeling close, but one things for sure, our personalities clicked at first glance. She is from Samar, she speaks Waray sometimes. At first, I get irritated by the way she talks. If you are not used to hearing such a barbie-like singsong tone, I'm sure you too will be irritated. I convinced her to moved in to the same boarding house I'm living in partly because she shared that she was looking for a more closer one to our workplace and partly because I didn't like the idea of me living in that boarding house alone for a very long time. So I've used my skills to persuade her. Surely enough, after minutes of effortlessly convincing her, she gave in and the adventure started!

Sometimes,were like two peas in a pod. We're loud when we are together, we share gossips and issues, we rant, we daydream, we have the same visions about work and we fantasize about men. Of course, only fantasize, I could still remember the day when one of our roommate invited us to one of her drinking and bonding sessions with her friends. She invited us because she is so sick of us talking about men and not making a move. So there you go, after our work we had fun. But our dear friend who invited us seemed to have not enjoyed the night until the two of us went home because we were kill joy. I guess that wasn't for us. 😝

From left to right: joymae, me and the other part of espinasers, @Marinov

My friend is talkative. She talks a lot. About life. Love and people. She talks endlessly in her waray2 tone. She talks in the morning, in tha afternoon, in the evening, during our class breaks and even when I'm closing my eyes to sleep. She talks. She talks about the new tiktok dance trend that she would like to try the next day. She talks. She talks about a new stuff that she would like to order online. She talks. She talks about the places she would love to visit. She talks. She talks about how much she passionately love her partner. She is a talker. Sometimes, in the middle of her talking session. I would say, "Here we go again, welcome to joymaetalks." We would laugh at it. The topics of #joymaetalks are the same every day. It just varies when there is a new hot topic in the workplace. Sometimes, I get tired of talking about it and I sleep my way out of it. But, I will start to miss that today but not really. 🤭

My friend is an ESL teacher but she is updated everytime her favourite youtuber uploads a new video. She subscribes to Ivana Alawi, Beks Batallion and a lot more that makes her happy. She just opens two more extra tabs in Google chrome and Tada!!. She can now watch videos on YouTube, reply to messages on Facebook while having classes. Haha. Multi-tasking,isn't it?

That's the look you get if you mess up with a waray2.

My friend is a tiktoker. No matter how she persuade me to tiktok with her, I wasn't given the same vibe as hers. Of course, I tried but I saw that I didn't look good in camera how much more dancing in front of a camera. Haha. Tiktok is her cup of tea. Her remedy. When she's happy, she is on tiktok, when she is bored and sad, she found comfort in tiktok. Tiktok is one of the things she is most passionate about other than shopping, of course.

My friend is a sleeper. A great sleeper. In fact, her first article here on read.cash is about how she is not a morning person. Haha. She is a great sleeper maybe because we work till 10pm. She sleeps in at 11pm and usually wakes up at 10 am. And she takes a nap after she's done with her 1pm class. Maybe, me labeling her as a great sleeper is a bit overrated because her being sleepy is justifiable because of the nature of work we have. But, you see, she prefers to skip meals just to lay in bed and sleep. I mean who would do that? Personally, I like to sleep but food is lifer, right? But, every child is special. I cannot dictate what other person should do and should like to do.

My friend is a "garbosa". Garbosa is a Visayan word which we use to describe a person having an excessively high opinion of oneself. But we had twisted its real definition. My friend is a garbosa in a sense that she is always after the things that are latest. If she sees something good, some stuff and brand that are used and endorsed by celebrities, she would always go after that no matter what. From shampoos to soap, to the choose of the brand of mobile phone up to shoes and t-shirts. Garbosa is a negative word but we take it as a compliment. We smile when we refer each other that word. The word has become our sense of pride.

The first garbosa move she ever made for herself.🤣

There are a lot of things that we like to do, we planned to do, and we hope to be. We like to buy groceries and stuff we don't need. Haha. We like to plan where would we eat. We like to send photos of food, memes and interesting issues while we are having classes. We like to rant how tired we are and how unfair the world is. We like to talk about our workmates, those whom we admire,those whom we like their clothing style, those whom we don't like and those who like their voice to be heard.

My friend have plans on leaving the online teaching job and secure a more stable one.

Our first eat- out after receiving our first salary.

For months, we've had a fair share of experiences that allowed us to grow. We learned from each other. And, though we dont always share the same interest. I'm happy to have found a sister in her. She has been a good friend, and an ally. Though, we part ways, our friendship will always have a place in our hearts. I know it won't be the same, the bond, the closeness. No matter how much comforting the words, "we will still see each in the workplace", there will still be a gap. This I know because it happened to me not only once but many times. I'm very familiar with the pattern. "We'll get in touch" is another lie. The truth is,things will never be the same. That's why I'm writing this. I get too attached to people, that when they leave, end up lost. I unconsciously depend on them that when they leave, I'm shattered. I'm writing this because I want to have something to hold on to. I don't want to give in to sadness. I want to have something great to remember.

My friend is alive. I may have confused you with my opening line. But yes, it's true. Today, I've lost yet another friend to a boarding house. She moved. She moved into another boarding house.


*All of the photos are mine.

Thank you so much, read.cash if it wasn't for you I wouldn't be able to put into words how I feel today. I would love to reread this soon when will feel ok. I think I would just be laughing at the emotional side of me.

Thank you @Marinov, for paving a way for me here and for directing me as Im still new here. And to everyone, who spared time to read, thank you so much.

7
$ 0.30
$ 0.05 from @TengoLoTodo
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @bbyblacksheep
+ 3
Sponsors of Murakamii.7
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Murakamii.7
2 years ago
Topics: Friendships

Comments

I was a victim of your title. I was already thinking of what happened to your friend. I am glad that she is ok. For sure you will still be friends even if she moved to a new boarding house. 😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha. We are still friends. Thank you for passing by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kahilak tag popcorn 😭 But srsly, I missed youuu na

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Glad we're now living in a social media age. Great help indeed :) Regards to your "partner". ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, this is the instance wherein we can appreciate social medua the most..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really thought she's dead but she's not, she just moved out of your place.. Though that is still sad but then social media and phone can still keep you in touch

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahhaha. Yes, will keep in touch.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Chika is life 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Samok sie nas joy diha hahHH

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha ayay joyy 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You got met worried there for a bit :) Di ko maimagine yung barbie-like singsong tone. Di naman ganun si Elizabeth Ramsey at Tekla hehe. Why did she move to another boarding house?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha I'm sorry to hear that. Hahah. She's not happy anymore with the environment here!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ah, I would move to if that is the case. I hope she is in a better place now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I bet she is. 💛

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Himsan ko maminaw sa mga inisturyahan sa waray ma'am. Labi na ng ilang mga expressions..Makatawa ko maminaw.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh himos usahay pero yayaan ko hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why did she move I wonder?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Two peas in a pov because were like twins. We like to do things together. We're partners in crime. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh yes, I understand that you were partners in crime 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago