GINHAWA: A Birthing Experience

10 45
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

I woke up today feeling thankful that my baby has turned 9 months. Johan Matti is a gift from God and being a steward of His gift, I know that I am ought to give him back the glory for His wondrous works in our lives.

Today, as I watch my baby slowly becoming independent as he is now able to crawl, walk and talk a bit, I reminisce the day I gave birth to him. I might have not talked about this here in Read so allow me to share with you what happened that day.

OB Visit Turned Into Hospital Admission

It was July 24, 2020, when my OB visit turned into a labor day for me. This day is a little significant to us as a couple because:

- August 24 2008 was our anniversary as a couple

- February 24 2015 was our wedding anniversary

- June 24 2017 was when we lost our first angel

So giving birth on the 24th of July would mean so much but it was not God's will, I believe he did this so that we could move on to the horrific 2017 event of my life.

At 2 PM, my OB said I was already 5cm dilated. I was advised to go and have myself admitted to the hospital. At 6 PM, I went inside the labor room. I didn't feel anything, no pain at this point, I could feel some contractions but that was not painful.

Water Bag Broken By Doctor

My OB arrived at 11 PM, I still have no feeling of pain. They were giving me fluids and were monitoring my baby's movement and heart rate. Everything was fine. My focus was to breathe well despite the mask, as what I learned from the baby class I joined weeks before that day.

My water bag didn't break, when I reached 8cm, the doctor broke it manually. I was scared when I saw her with that huge scissor-like thing. That was already 5 AM, I couldn't sleep that night although my OB suggested I must get rest I just couldn't get to sleep!

By 6 AM after the water break, I already started feeling the unexplainable pain. I was already anticipating it because I have joined the class and was already informed that pain is inevitable however, there's a purpose to this pain and what's to come is more beautiful than that kind of pain. My mind was set on the meeting of my baby boy instead of the current pain that I was dealing with. I had to surpass this, I didn't even cry but I did punch the wall next to me.

I was progressing well according to my OB. By 9 AM, I already felt like I wanted to push! My OB said it was not time yet but she allowed me to practice pushing with one leg up.

By the way, my tummy was huge when I was pregnant, it was way beyond the normal size and so the resident doctors were telling me I might need help which I already knew they were referring to a C section but my OB told me that we will push for normal delivery and will only consider CS if I won't progress by 12noon.

I had an operation in 2017 due to ectopic pregnancy and my OB had already read the operation history and told me nothing was done on me that could hinder a normal delivery so we will go for it. That assurance was what I had been holding on and I want a normal delivery!

Fundal Push

At 11 AM, my OB said it is time so they had me in a wheelchair to the delivery room. I was already feeling unwell, I had not eaten for hours and I had no energy anymore. At the labor room, they were already helping me with a fundal push a few times, it was like I was being punched multiple times!

In the delivery room, my OB had changed her attire, I still remember she was wearing green at that time. She told me that she could already see my baby's hair and I just need a good push but I could only push until number 6 or 7 when they were counting down. There were I guess six people or more in the room.

My OB whispered I need to push because the baby is already on the way down there and we can't do any C section as he is already progressing. The doctors were helping out and had done a fundal push every single count down. I told my OB to help me out literally, I screamed for help and she said she will use a vacuum to help the delivery.

Vacuuming Baby

With all my might, I push hard and I somehow couldn't remember what had happened next. I collapsed but woke up to the cry of my baby boy! It was a feeling of relief and happiness. My OB was already stitching me and my baby was placed in my chest. He was moving his arms here and there. I tried holding him but he was just waving his hands, I couldn't get a good grip!

They took my baby out for cleaning, the doctor or nurse perhaps weighed my baby and shouted he was 4.5 kilos! They were all mesmerized by his weight! I guess it was due to the liquids giving to me while in labor but my OB already had a gut feeling he'll be heavy.

Then I slept! I couldn't remember how long I was sleeping but I did hear my OB telling me that she had given some medicines, I woke up when it was time for me to be roomed in.

My husband had been waiting for me for 17 hours, he had been praying and a lot of our friends and family were also praying for my normal delivery. I couldn't recall how I did it but I know it was God's grace that had delivered me and my baby. Without God's guidance and strength, I wouldn't be able to do it.

I gave birth to my Johan Matti at 11:15 on July 25, 2020. He was 4.5 kilograms with complete hands and toes and we are truly blessed for this heavenly gift.

I understand that there's no perfect situation here on earth and my birthing experience wasn't as well. I had some issues with the hospital, how they didn't allow my baby to latch on me at the labor room, and why my baby was not roomed in with me on the same day but I am still thankful that my baby is now 9 months and he is healthy, he has 8 teeth now, he could say, mama, Nanay, tata, dada and a lot more, he's already talkative!

He had learned to imitate us as well, today, he had learned to clap and boy, he was sure glad about it, he laughs, giggles and screams every single time! Praise God for his life and we are blessed to be his parents.


xoxo,

mommy jean of momentswithmatti

Love harder than any pain you've ever felt.

5
$ 24.29
$ 23.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.00 from @Fexonice1
$ 0.10 from @bbyblacksheep
+ 1
Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

Comments

Ohhh... laki laki ni baby,, mabuti n lng at kinaya mo syang inormal.. thanks sa ob mo na mabait who kept encouraging you.. my ibang manganganak ksi ang arte, toz pinagsisigawan na ayaw na at gusto n ng cs khit nakikita n ang buhok ni baby kya muling ipapasok ung bata to proceed with the operation..stay healthy baby

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Waaah...di ko maimagine ipasok ulit ung baby.. thanks talaga to my ob ...super tinyaga nya ako

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truenes. ksi mostly sa mga ganyan kalaki,cs ang bagsak...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mostly sa.mga naka usap kong mommies ganun nga daw

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha. Iniimagine ko bawat detail na sinabi mo ultimo yung scissors and stitching. Ako feeling ko kung manganak ako eh baka CS because of my last surgery..open appendectomy and uni-salpingectomy (removal of 1 fallopian tube). Sabay yun tinanggal. Basta sa gitna yung cut ko and sad to say hindi siya bikini cut. 😭 nagepidural ka? Siguro kahit ako man din nasa sitwasyon mo hindi din ako makakatulog or makakarest. Pero sobra saludo ako sa inyong mga mommies.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

hi sis... same tau indi bikini cut ung operation ko sa ectopic pregnancy tapos keloidal pa ako..lols ampangit talaga..hehe kaya high waist lage ako.hehe kasi kumakati sya pag matagal na nakadiin ung garter..

indi ako ng epidural sis... sabi ko nga sa next baby mag cs na ako.. hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OMG....i LOVE your history...saludos desde Venezuela

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A gift for the boy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much sir!

$ 0.00
2 years ago