Prenatal Memoirs

20 54
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

There have been several instances where I would remember the memories of when I was still pregnant. I didn't intend it but they just started popping up out of nowhere. Perhaps because some of my friends are pregnant right now and seeing their updates online makes me reminisce those times when I too went on that road.

Thus, I decided to create a blog out of these memories. I believe that doing so would relieve this feeling. I am glad as well that in today's day and age, we have technology that helps us capture these moments and even preserve them!

Pregnancy Test

I regret not taking a video or even taking a photo of my husband's reaction when I showed him the test kit but this was what happened.

We came from South Korea, that was December 4, 2019, when we arrived home in Cebu City when I did the test but during our DIY travel in SoKor, my husband already had a feeling that I was pregnant because I had no appetite in our entire trip.

First, I was excited to eat seaweed but the smell of seaweed made me puke. I love eating seaweed during our Japan trip so it was a wonder for the two of us when I felt different during our SoKor trip.

Aside from seaweed, I was not interested in anything at all and there were so many yummy looking streetfoods in SoKor, mind you. We went to this Myeongdong street food alley but I didn't bother eating one. I was not really in the mood for food.

Also, when on our way to the airport, there was a seat for pregnant women and I sat there and my husband said he must take a photo because he has a great feeling that I was pregnant but I told him not to because he might be wrong.

We have been married for five years. We got married in 2015, I had an ectopic pregnancy and was operated on in 2017, so we thought we might not be able to bear a child because my family line has this condition.

As soon as we reached home, I did the pregnancy test, we keep test kits in our house just in case and it returned two red lines which means I am indeed pregnant! I showed it to my husband and he said I knew it! It was a great feeling, I got teary-eyed and we both praised God for His faithfulness!

First Ultrasound and Heartbeat

As someone who had a miscarriage history, I was very careful when I learned that I was pregnant. I stopped riding a motorcycle, I stayed home, I informed my employer and requested a work from home set up which they agreed, thank God!

On December 6, my husband and I went to a maternity clinic to meet my OB and had my first ultrasound. It was a delight to know that he has a heartbeat already of 114 bpm and that he was exactly six weeks based on the TVS.

Baby Movements

Based on my pregnancy journal, yes I did keep a journal during my pregnancy, it was on the 20th week that I started feeling my baby's movements, mostly the kicks. My husband said he couldn't feel it yet but I could felt every inch of it.

As the weeks incremented, the movements became too obvious that my husband can also see the stretching and molds and folds of my tummy. I had a huge tummy during my pregnancy, blame it all on the pizzas and plates of pasta that I craved! But it was an unexplainable feeling seeing my baby move while inside my tummy. I had kept clips and footage for private viewing and it makes me cry! I am very emotional.

A few weeks before giving birth, I could feel his tiny hands and he loves kicking me on the right side! I would even touch and tickle it!

Baby 4D Video

The best time for a baby 4D video is 27-32 weeks. I had mine at week 30 but the sonographer told me they'd recommend earlier because the baby is still small and so there's a huge available space for the baby to move during the ultrasound but we managed to get coverage and show Matti's face.

At first, he was covering his face with his hands and feet, even his umbilical cord was on the way but after a few attempts, he finally showed up. I opted for video only and requested a single photo. The video was 10 minutes long and I made a video log of that experience. If interested, you can watch it here:

Gender Reveal

Included in the 4D ultrasound was the gender, I could have scanned for the baby's gender earlier but because of the community quarantine in Cebu City, I limited our interaction with the outside world.

The police and military were very strict during that time but gladly, those who were pregnant are allowed to go out without any quarantine pass as long as there's an appointment text or document provided.

But we can't get a gender reveal gathering so we resorted to an online gender reveal instead with some friends and family around via Zoom meeting and YouTube Live.

James, my husband had no idea of the gender yet until that night. I ordered a cake from our neighbor and requested to make the blue filling. James cut the cake and was really happy that we are having a baby boy!

Surprise online Baby Shower

I had zero ideas that my small group would give me a surprise baby shower. Because of the quarantine protocols, we still couldn't have our home Bible studies so we would meet online instead.

My discipler who was also part of our small group managed to set up an online one instead which was unexpected. She had it during our online meeting. I felt very blessed to receive their gifts. Aside from the material things they had mentioned giving during the meeting, what I surely treasure were the verses and advice they had given me.

Here's how the virtual surprise baby shower went:

Baby Stuff Shopping

One of the things that I miss now is shopping for cute little newborn stuff. I did enjoy every night of scanning through online shops and I was always excited to receive message notifications of deliveries.

I took videos of almost every single item I ordered. It was fun although I could still shop online right now, it was different when I was still shopping for newborn items. I guess because they are super cute!


xoxo,

mommy jean of momentswithmatti

Love harder than any pain you've ever felt.

9
$ 25.09
$ 24.98 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @LykeLyca
$ 0.03 from @Fexonice1
+ 1
Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

Comments

Mine was, I never knew I was pregnant. I was driving a motorbike, backride sa motorbike, freediving pa while pregnant while gukod2 pa sa sea turtle. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

dzah! haha isog kau si baby..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gebadlong ko sa paryente sa Cebu laagan daw ko. Naabot pa kog Manila para mag food trip. 5 months pregnant na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

lols.. walapa nay certification ana na month?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Doctorโ€™s note ra. Mao sad to nga time ga process kog visa twice in Manila Kay ang first, denied. Ako ra usa. Obvious na gyud dako ang tiyan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Obvious na gyud dako ang tiy

aww... maau kay dili ra complicated.. maau gani dili pa to lockdown noh..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

o wala pa. ako ra gani usa moadto syudad para magpa check up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww! this made me cry sis. first I am so happy for you that you have great supportive friends. Your virtual baby shower touched me, specially the part they have to share passages from the bible in a way like giving out prayers and blessings for you and Matti. Plus their gifts were really cute and really useful, Alam mo yong they really care for you and knows what you need. Not just giving you random gifts for the sake of attending a baby shower. Second, your journey was really not easy, Imagine having a baby with the Covid19 pandemic around. To tell you honestly, this was my greatest fears as a woman and for other women as well, Like, How would you deliver a normal pregnancy when you hear in the news that patients admitted to hospitals comes out covid positive already. This really tortured my mind. I can't imagine going inside the hospital covid free then coming out positive!....... Thank God, his grace really is sufficient that you gave birth safely and look at baby Matti now very healthy and very happy. Looking forward to more of your posts dear. I love this article. This is truly what the essence of a woman is. Kisses and hugs from me to your little angel.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

am so happy for you that you have great supportive friends. Your virtual baby shower touched me, specially the part they have to share passages from the bible in a way like giving out prayers and blessings for you and Matti. Plus their gifts were really cute and really useful, Alam mo yong they really care for you and knows what you need. Not just giving you random gifts for the sake of attending a baby shower. Second, your journey was really not easy, Imagine having a baby with the Covid19 pandemic around. To tell you honestly, this was my greatest fears as a woman and for other women as well, Like, How would you deliver a normal pregnancy when you hear in the news that patients admitted to hospitals comes out covid positive already. This really tortured my mind. I can't imagine going inside the hospital covid free then coming out positive!....... Thank God, his grace really is sufficient that you gave birth safely and look at baby Matti now very healthy and very happy. Looking forward to more of your posts dear. I love this article. This is truly what the essence of a woman is. Kisses and hugs

thank you ate for watching the videos! I appreciate it a lot and welcome to read!!! I can't wait to read your articles soon!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy mommy! Happy Matti! Grabe kahit dito ka lang pala, ok na sis. Laki kita mo hehe. Congrats!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

sis maliit lang yan compared sa iba..hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

grabe ka documented oi! Malingaw jud si Matti magtan aw ani pagdako niya. And he is blessed to you and James as his parents!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

thanks sis.. as in.. mao jd ni tong time na sige ra mi ug yt ba..hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very nice c.e ma'am kay naa man jud kay remembrance sa imong preggy journey.๐Ÿ˜ŠI wasn't able to took mine kay stressed man kaayo ko atong panahona.๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜So ang akong gitigum na lang ang iyang journey from the day she was born hangtud siya magdako.๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.01
2 years ago

its never too late momsh... timing lang jd na covid so stay at home that time and walay laing lingaw edit2 video..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well documented kaayo ang prenatal moments oi. I see how happy and passionate you are in doing it, daghan kaayo ipang watch si Matti pagdako niya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sis gituyo jud nko document for him to watch when he gets bigger

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe jud ka sa documentation ayyy! Hats off! Nice! I enjoyed the videos.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

hehe thanks sis..sa panahon na puro Youtube lang akoang gibuhat ..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations!!! Your journey was successful. God be praise

$ 0.00
2 years ago