Our Father Treats His Brother a Birthday Dinner at Home

12 32
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
1 year ago

Yesterday's event was unexpected. My father has a brother, it's just the two of them now as their parents had already died. So my father thought of surprising his only brother with a birthday dinner celebration.

But aside from this birthday event, we were also commemorating the death anniversary of our grandmother, their mother, Nanay Ceding.

By the afternoon, my brother and his wife were busy cooking, we only thought of preparing four viands - pancit bihon, humba, caldereta, and fried chicken. I also suggested we get him a cake from Sticky Buns, our favorite from that bakeshop is their Choco Ganache.

This was the cake that was bought at the bakeshop. This is super good guys, we tried it one time and we had never looked into other types of cakes anymore. We all love chocolate cakes and this one is similar to Cebu City's Leona's Chocolate Suprise Cake. It's very close and it isn't that expensive too although, due to the gas price hike, they had also increased their pricing a bit.

By around four in the afternoon, we were surprised that our uncle arrived at home. We found out that he went to ask my father for some monetary gift as he want to buy some liquors. We all laughed about it. My father spoiled him by giving him some cash and also reminded him to come by dinner time else, he will be picked up by one of my brothers.

Since he didn't come at the time we agreed, my brother went to pick him and his son. He has three sons but two of them are in Manila right now.

As soon as they arrived, we all gathered at the table, asked Yoyo to get the cake and hold it so we can take photos of him. We also requested my father to stand next to him and I took their photos on my phone.

My father is a few years older than Yoyo, he loves his brother so much that whatever he will ask from him, as long as it is something that would not hurt him, he would try his best to give.

Unfortunately, my uncle didn't finish school. Their parents had advised him to study well even if our grandfather was a fisherman, he had sent both of them to college. But since my uncle didn't study well, he ended up as a fisherman as well.

That's why, when the grandfather died, one of his last requests was for my father to look after his only brother. My father keeps on advising him and making sure that he would also feel loved especially on his birthday.

Yoyo Agat lost his wife as well a few years ago due to cancer. It was painful for him for sure but he has somehow moved on now. We didn't hear of any news of him dating other women, I guess he is just contented now with being single.


We shared the food together that night and after that, the guys went right away to the karaoke machine and sang songs.

I guess Yoyo Agat was super happy that time that he kept on requesting them to dance. They both danced and we were all happily watching them.

It was a long night for the guys as they spent hours of singing! In fact, when I woke up at two in the morning, they were still singing their hearts out! I guess the alcohol had really taken over them. But, it was just pure fun and I am glad the neighbors were not complaining. It was the first time that our karaoke went on overtime. Anyway, they ended their singing session at 2:30 AM.


That's all for today. Here are some of my recent articles too:


momentswithmatti

Mother | Boholana | Cebu | Philippines | Travel | Photography Enthusiast | Calligraphy | Art | Crypto Noob

Noise | Hive | Steemit | YouTube IG Twitter

6
$ 4.01
$ 3.96 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Ruffa
$ 0.02 from @mommykim
Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
1 year ago

Comments

belated happy birthday sa imo Yoyo mamsh,,,brotherly love sure is adorable and amazing...kudos to your Father in watching over your Uncle

$ 0.00
1 year ago

salamat momsh!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Happy birthday toy for uncle ate. Ang sweet din po nung father niya, kitang kita sa mata niya na he really cares for his brother. I'm sure he really enjoy the celebration

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm sure he really enjoy th

he sure enjoyed the celebration..hehe he was all smiles!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Happiest birthday! We should always celebrate life. Birthdays are fun and make our bonds stronger.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

t birthday

true sis....

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So sweet a mans love is pure. It's nice to see that your father is very concerned still to his brother, that's a very special relationship good to keep.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

thanks dear... he had really modeled it well to us as well...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awiehhh Happy Birthday naman di dapat mawala ang alak ano hehe. For sure super nag enjoy sya. 🥳🥳🎉

$ 0.00
1 year ago

naku yan si uncle ko, iiyak talaga ang week pag di nakapag inom

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow,they are both love each other genuinely,I wish I had a siblings as caring as your father.happy birthday po and enjoy your day

$ 0.00
1 year ago

both love each other genuinely,I wish I had a siblings as caring as your father.happy birthday po and enjoy your da

thank you... my father is indeed a thoughtful man

$ 0.00
1 year ago