Our Biggest Investment Since The Lockdown

32 58
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

I have been thinking of what to publish today, I have seen a few prompts but I was not yet in the mood of answering those so they are just in the bookmarks just in case I'd be wanting to post one in the next few days.

So I resorted to reading articles instead. I checked my notifications and started reading each one from the latest to the oldest. It didn't take long before I found @yhanne 's article, check it here: $100 spent in less than a day

And right while I was in the middle of reading the article, it gave me an idea. Her car's name is Dusky, how cute is that! Ours, we named it Kai and there's a story behind that.

Buying a car was not a priority for us but when I had a major operation due to ectopic pregnancy in 2017, my husband and I decided that if in case I'll get pregnant again, we will surely invest in a car for my convenience.

At the end of 2019, we learned that I was 4 weeks pregnant. And right there and then, my husband started his quest for the right car that would help us when the baby arrives. By that time, there was already news about a possible lockdown.

With the help of my brother, my husband and I decided to get a Toyota Wigo. But before buying, my husband has to get his license renewed first and then add a restriction code as well. It took over a month before we found an agent who can help us out and it was February when he was able to get his driver's license renewed as well.

By March, my husband finally received a notification that the car was ready to be picked up from the branch. He was not confident yet in driving, he just had two driving experiences back in Bohol so he was scared that he asked a friend to drive the car for him.

Praise God that he was able to get the car to our village that day because the next week, the lockdown was imposed. During the lockdown, there were no taxis available, it was hard to get a public vehicle, and it was even harder for us to get out of the house together. But thank God, His timing is really perfect. With the car available, my husband was able to practice his driving skills every time he is on break from work.

Then when my doctor was back at her clinic, she requested that we meet again and that was my first time getting out of the house again after months of staying indoors. It was always convenient and safe to be in a car compared to driving a motorcycle. By that time, we still have our Aerox with us as well which my husband drives when he goes out of the house alone.

When I gave birth and even afterward, it was just easier to bring a lot of things with us compared to a motorcycle. And most especially when we went home to Bohol. During the lockdown, there were so many things needed, and it was a little scary to be in the midst of a lot of people but having a car allowed us to at least be a distance away from the crowd.

I must say that from the time that I was pregnant up until today, our car has been a great help. I am thankful to God for allowing us to have it at the right time and even until today, we have been thankful that Kai has been in good condition, more than two years after acquiring it.

We are still paying our monthly mortgage, it will be full in the next two years as well. And my husband can't wait for that to happen. The budget for Kai is a big amount which eats a huge chunk of our monthly budget so once it is fully paid, my husband said he will surely get himself a new camera gear. I told him I will support him with that because he had sacrificed a lot for me and the baby, he deserves to get a new one for himself once Kai is fully paid.

As for the car's name, as I mentioned that there's a story behind it. Well, as you all know, my baby's name is Matti and that's a name after my husband's favorite YouTuber from Canada and so by the time we got our car, we already have a name for our baby so we ended up using that YouTuber's firstborn name as our car name and his baby's name is Kai so our car's name is Kai as well.

By now, Kai has a sister and her name is Coco so we are thinking that if we get a new car next time or any other vehicle, we will call it Coco as well.

That's it. Again, getting a car was the best decision ever for this pandemic. It has been a great help for us, for me specifically.


xoxo,

momentswithmatti

Mother | Boholana | Cebu | Philippines | Travel | Photography Enthusiast | Calligraphy | Art | Crypto Noob

Noise | Hive | Steemit | YouTube IG Twitter

14
$ 8.43
$ 8.15 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pichi28
$ 0.05 from @Jerrysavage00
+ 5
Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

Comments

Very useful gyud ang car sis. Specially if you have children. Dli mabayran ang convenience.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

el covid tuvo muchos efectos, y la mayoría de las personas debimos hacer cambios en nuestras economías personales, y muchos de los que estamos aquí, con la pandemia migramos al Internet a buscar nuevas fuentes de ingresos y un aprendizaje sobre emprendimientos digitales, que bueno que compartas tus experiencias.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

muchas gracias

$ 0.00
2 years ago

akala ko KAI kasi sa kpop

hehhheheheheh you know na EXO lover here hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahhaha murag kpop d ay ang name momsh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh kay si KAI sa EXO biya na hihiih

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ay mao ba momsh..hahah ala ko kaila gud sa EXO kay wala na jd ko na addict sa mga korean stuff sukad nabusy na sa life..sauna kay addict kau ko anang mga koreanovela katong naa pa kos sykes..hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How cool is that! Sobrang timing nung car for the lockdown :) Praise God!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was God orchestrating it. Praise God talaga sir

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very convenient jud bitaw ug naay car unya naay baby sis. Not same sa motor nga magkalisud labi na ug naay lakaw kay daghan dad-unon. Mas safe ug comfortable pud ka while magtravel.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Motor mi before baya sis . If wala ko mabuntis basin magmotor lang japon mi karon. Pero true.. lahi ra jd kun naay sakyanan uy... Kanang dghang butang jd ang prob sa motor nya mabasa pa ta.. i remember a friend ba nya mag motor sila sa iyang panganay going to work and school. Kun mag ulan mo hangyo jud ang bata nga pa, magpalit nata car ba...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow. So happy for you sis. Right in time talaga ang pagdating ni Kai.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Super.. it arrived just in time...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My dream will be achieved to have it soon hehehe. Dream ko tlga to though d sya priority pro soonest mkukuha ko dn yan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's okay sis.. pag anjan na yung need na talaga sya dun mo.na siya mapag iisipan talaga mg mabuti

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your story reminded me of my mom and dad's story when they finally decided they do need a car! Indeed sis God's timing and provision is always at the right time! In every area sa life natin. And His delays are also always our protection

Ay.... Ano meron dun sa youtuber na Matti???

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow i am amazed to know that sis... Si matti is a videographer based in Canada hehe my husband's fave youtuber hdheh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We wish to purchase also a car since it is very important today. Due to the climate change, we need really a car. We plan to have it before this year ends. That's best decision you have made.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish you all the best dear...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for that my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

kahinumdom sad ko ni Fred kay pag approve na sa akong visa for Europe kay nipalit dayon syag laing car. puro second ni sila dinhi. so ang car gamit namo kay pang family na jud ug naay space para sa daghan gamit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amazing... Lisod jd ug madugangan si matti kay piot na mi hehehe.. need na ug daku na car ug di kapalit si james sa iyang camera in case kay mo add na pod another 5 years to buy hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

nag plano pod ni si fred mopalit og lain nga mas dako. ambot kanus a ni sya mopalit. haha lage magkadako ang pamilya, need na jud og van.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

adako ang pamilya, need na

hehe maau lang jd ang maka afford rox..hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha ganahan jud unta kog camper van lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kanindot ana uy hehe mahal man guro na kaau

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mahal gyud

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pero kita kog family sigeg travel camping nice sad to ilang car

$ 0.00
2 years ago

uban kay irenovate ang bus

$ 0.00
2 years ago

naa koy friend nga nagpalit jd sila ug truck then mao na daun ilang balay...sa US nuon to sya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

o mas maayo mag camping van sa US and Europe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

lage... hehe dire sa pinas wala pa kaau sah

$ 0.00
2 years ago