My Niece Graduates, Celebration at Gerarda's

13 33
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
1 year ago

With my niece graduating from grade school, the family has to celebrate it, and what better way to celebrate such a milestone than eating? So, we picked Gerarda's for this event.

Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty
Thanks lovies!

Well, our first choice was the J. Torralba street branch but then decided to change it to CPG branch when we found that the former has no proper parking space. It's not our first time dining here so we are already very familiar with this place which is why we suggested we should try their other branch but couldn't get that because of the parking issue.

Gerarda's is a family favorite because of its good food and great service. They currently have three branches now, two in Tagbilaran City and there's one in Panglao. We have not tried visiting the other two, it's always the CPG branch that we usually go to.

This blog is all about their food because I didn't take photos of the place, however, believe me when I say this restaurant is clean, air-conditioned, and spacious enough to accommodate 30 adults and there's more for other sets of customers.

This is locally called Kinilaw, or in English Cevechi. Boy, I guess this was the first one to go out. There were three sets of each food as we ordered three food sets good for ten people. That set includes this Ceviche, a chicken dish, soup, and more. I wasn't even able to take photos of the other food served on the table!

But I must say that Gerarda's kinilaw is always a bomb! Everyone was digging into it first!

This one above is a chicken dish. I don't know the exact name but it has green beans and bell peppers on it. It wasn't spicy though and this was next to me so I almost ate just this one. Later on, I found out that the other two plates of this chicken dish were almost not touched! I guess the family was not up for some chicken that night.

Here's Kare Kare, which is a type of Filipino stew with a rich and thick peanut sauce. It is a popular dish in the Philippines served on special occasions. I super love it but I only got the sauce. I didn't eat the meat that it came with. It has seafood in it too by the way but I didn't mind having some because it's just hard to eat crabs while in this kind of setting.

Of course, Sisig won't be absent from this dinner. It was served hot and sizzling. It was the server who mixed the egg into the dish. It may not be obvious but there's fresh egg cracked into the pork dish but it got cooked because of the sizzling metal plate.

Serving this requires skills because it is extremely hot it should be handled professionally. I have been burnt many times before for holding this plate. So if you decide to get a sisig in the future, make sure to watch where your hand lands!

Here's the Bulalo. This dish was not part of the set but it is Aiesha's favorite and so we ordered it for her. It has beef but what she really likes is the taste of the corn cobs in it. She usually just eats the corn and disregards the rest. We all laugh about that thought though because Bulalao is not cheap but he eats just the corn.

Anyway, someone else eats the rest of what is left in that bowl

Here are mixed veggies which they refer to differently, they don't call it Chopseuy and I forgot how this was called. I even searched Google for a dish similar to Chopseuy but it returned Chow Mein I am sure it's not Chow Mein, it starts with Cho too but I can't really figure it out. Can you help me? Do you have an idea what this dish is really called?

Okay, so while I was typing the above paragraph, an angel whispered that I should check Gerarda's website for their menu instead. Thankfully, they still have a website that is up and running. Don't you just get annoyed when restaurants or resorts post their website links and it's not working?

Finally, I found it is called Chow Pat Chin. Matti loves Broccoli and he ate all of the Broccoli. Unfortunately, there were only a few of them in this plate serving so I went searching for more broccolis from the other plates.

Last but not the least, here's pancit. I am really sorry about the pancit as it was not well-loved by the diners. it was left untouched as well so we ended up taking it home.

There were desserts too by the way which I missed taking photos of as they were served late and we already kept the cameras in the bag. I was supposed to tell the family not to touch it so I could take a photo but everyone was excited to try their chocolate and mango dessert what I liked really was their deep-fried ice cream drizzled with chocolate syrup.

Also, I learned there were other dishes that I forgot to take photos like the Crispy Tadyang.

Here's the entire family waving to the camera. It was a fun night and we all congratulated the graduate for a job well done! She now deserves a vacation!


Thanks for reading! Check out my previous articles too:


xoxo,

momentswithmatti

Mother | Boholana | Cebu | Philippines | Travel | Photography Enthusiast | Calligraphy | Art | Crypto Noob

Noise | Hive | Steemit | YouTube IG Twitter

9
$ 3.58
$ 3.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @mommykim
$ 0.02 from @keeneek
+ 2
Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
1 year ago

Comments

Wow what a long table so happy to see this. Congratulations to this beautiful girl By the way I'm newbie here

$ 0.00
1 year ago

thanks dear!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congrats to her

$ 0.00
1 year ago

thank you!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

congrats sa imo pag umangkon mamsh pero ang sisig jud naka agaw pansin oi...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

hahaha lami na ila sisig momsh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Waaa kare kare!! Bet na bet ko yan huhu .Kaso ang hirap lutuin niyan andaming ingredients at matrabaho hehe. Congrats to your niece!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congrats po sa kanya. Nagutom ako sa mga ulam hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grabi ka dako sa place dai. Naaccommodate mong tanan. And grabi ka lami lantawon sa mga food. maglaway man pod ta ana ui. hehe Congrats saimu pag-umangkon dai. Murag kanus-a raman to ba na ginapicture-ran pa nimu na siya. Kanang mga photoshoot2 ninyu

$ 0.00
1 year ago

congrats to your niece po.....masarap talaga yung kinilaw tsaka yung sauce ng kare- kare masarap ipartner with rice HAHA

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nagutom ako. Ceviche pala ang kinilaw. Ang sarap huhu. Sana naging tita kita huhu

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congratulations to your niece sis, and nasarapan ako sa lahat ng ipinakita of a picture sis

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congratulations to your niece ate. Pero nashock ako, ang dami nyo po sa table haha. Buong barangay po ata kayo dyan. Charr! Yung second dish po is very familiar, para po syang mechado.

$ 0.00
1 year ago