Moving On From Number 24

13 27
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

First, I'd like to acknowledge @Jane for allowing me to write this article, I came up with this because of her blog post Why Number "4" Is Significant To My Life?.

My significant number was a combination of intentional and unintentional events. I would like to share with you how and what happened on that date number that made it significant to me.

August 24, 2008

This is where it all started.

My husband was actually a classmate since first-year college and a friend. We have met before college even started and we are both affiliated with the same scholarship program. As part of a circle of friends, we have been teased at the start of our senior college days. That was the time when both of us were single. I had no special attraction to this guy, honestly but because my friends have been teasing us, the way I see him somehow slowly changed.

It was this date when he officially asked if he could be my boyfriend. I had no reasons to say no so I nodded and said yes. The truth is that I was not in love with him. I believe love can be taught indeed because, after months of dating and knowing him more and more, I became attached and found myself being in love with him.

But this is not the head over heels type of love. In fact, I went to work outside the country for two years, had a long-distance relationship and he stayed. So when I came home in 2015, we got married.

February 24, 2015

After seven years, we finally tied the knot. We were not financially stable and we both don't like a grand celebration, we wanted a simple one only with just our families so we opted for a Civil wedding instead.

Civil weddings are quick ones, we just have to answer the mayor and sign the marriage contract. We didn't shell a huge amount of money for our wedding, what's important was that we are officially married and legal to stay together.

Also, we opted for February 24 because that's a holiday in Cebu City where we were based. So if it's a holiday during our anniversary, we could go somewhere and would be able to celebrate the event every year. No excuses and I suggest that couples do the same.

Ours falls during Cebu City Charter Day.

June 24, 2017

Two years after getting married, I suddenly felt pain in my stomach, we were walking inside a mall in Cebu City when I felt like something dropped in my stomach and it was painful!

I endured it throughout the night but the pain comes every now and then that by the next day, we went to the hospital to get checked. I was about to undergo a CT Scan when they found out that my pregnancy test came positive!

The pain that I was feeling seemed to go away when I heard the news. Both my husband and I were rejoicing about it. The hospital just advised that I get admitted for observation. The pain somehow subsided and we were advised to get checked after two weeks.

After two weeks, the pain was not anymore present and so we planned to go home to Bohol but then on our way, while inside the ship, I felt the same pain once again. As we arrived home, my mother suggested we go to an OBgyne. When the OB did an ultrasound, she couldn't find the zygote but my pregnancy tests are all positive so she recommended that I go to the nearby hospital in Jagna so I could be forwarded for immediate operation as she believed I am having an ectopic pregnancy.

The sad news broke my heart, I was crying the entire time that we were at the hospital and they did another internal examination, it was painful whenever they do so and according to the doctor, if the pregnancy was normal, an IE won't be painful.

So, to cut the long story short, I was forwarded to Tagbilaran City and was operated. The OB who did the operation found the zygote at the back of my uterus near the stomach so they had to also cut my stomach because the zygote had somehow stuck to it.

That was June 24, 2017, and I won't forget that day. The thought that we lost our first baby was more painful. I was blaming myself, perhaps I was not careful, perhaps I was being punished and a lot of things were in my mind.

But we had already accepted it, the mark in my belly signifies that I once had a baby before Matti.

March 24, 2020

When we learned that I am again pregnant for the second time around in 2019, my husband and I decided that we must buy a car so to ensure I won't be blaming our motorcycle rides if in case something happens, the last pregnancy, I thought I lost the baby from all the bumpy rides we had.

It's just amazing that when we applied for the car loan, it was processed immediately and on March 24, 2020, James drove the car to our condo unit.

I never paid much attention to that but looking at it now, it seemed that the number 24 has been repetitively showing up in our life.

Moving on from 24...

July 24, 2021

I was due in July, on the 24th of that month, I was on my 39th week and instead of a regular checkup, my OB said I was already 5cm dilated and I needed to be admitted. 

At 6 PM that same day, I was already in the labor room. I then thought of my significant number. I was amazed that my baby might be born on that day but I was only progressing slowly. Midnight past and I was not yet in active labor.

I couldn't sleep that night although my OB told me to as I needed strength to push when the baby's ready to come out but I couldn't sleep no matter what I do.

In my mind, I guess this was God's way of telling me that I have to move on from my first pregnancy heartache. The 25th is now my new significant number as I gave birth to a bouncing 4.5 kilograms baby via normal delivery. 

Conclusion

Unconsciously, I had been attracting the number 24 in my life. It might be possible that there's a reason why most of our life's events fall into this date.

Sometimes, we make a great deal out of these coincidences, perhaps that's the case for me but didn't the Bible say that in this life, there's no such thing as coincidence? Everything that happens has been written for each of us and it is a divine appointment that the date number 24 had been assigned to my husband and I. Praise God for showing us how sovereign He is in our lives and for giving us a sign to move on, let go of the pains of the past and welcome the new joy of the new day!

---

xoxo,

mommy jean of momentswithmatti

Love harder than any pain you've ever felt.






5
$ 21.11
$ 20.74 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.10 from @LykeLyca
+ 3
Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

Comments

I was born on the 24th of April. I also have a lot of significant memories about 24 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

that's great.. according to my research, the number 24 in the bible means priesthood

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wla aqng alam sa akin😁.. pro 28 date ng kpanganakan ng 2 anak q..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe baka un na un sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Have you searched about the meaning of #24? Nice story.. Maybe those not coincidences.but meant to happen for some reason.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thanks.. i have not checked the meaning.. i will look it up

$ 0.00
2 years ago

God bless you, sis. Yan cguro tinadhana sayo ng Panginoon. Look at Matti - he's a very adorable kid :)

Yung isang nabasa ko naman si Jane ata yun is number 4 naman. Ako naman sis is 13. Maraming ganap ang 13 sakin hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

April 24, 1998, I accepted Christ as my Personal Savior. that's my sweetest blessing every 24th. I also lost my first child, at 7 weeks I experienced miscarriage. There are really remarkable days in our lives. Thanks for sharing yours.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks sis for sharing... indeed our spiritual birth is one that we cherish the most

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As in 24 ka nmn... Idk about mine lol! But, my mom's family goes with 7.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

7 ..kanice

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For my dad it was the number 7. I posted about it before on noise.cash that it was very significant for him and he said to be his lucky number. For me, I don't have any significant number but other than my birth date, I love 3 and 8. 😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Your dad must have his reasons why he picked 7...7 is a significant number in the Bible too

$ 0.00
2 years ago