How Did I Find Out I was Pregnant? - A CHALLENGE!

47 65
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

Someone from Noise.cash had asked me this question. I made a long answer so I thought why not create an article about it too? That's a great topic and will also make a challenge for moms here in read.cash about how they also found out that they were pregnant!

Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty

I had shared before that I had a miscarriage in 2017, an ectopic pregnancy where I ended up getting an operation. Two years after, my husband and I never thought that I would become pregnant again. In my heart, I am okay if I won't get pregnant soon but we were not also using any contraceptives or whatever. We were only praying for God's perfect time and will on this matter.

In the year 2019, a lot of things had happened to us, we traveled to many different places, we went to Davao, Taiwan, Tokyo, some more local destinations, and the last on the list was in Seoul. Thinking about it, I realized how we had made the most out of 2019 and it ended with a bang indeed!

So, let me tell you how I found out I was pregnant and some side stories.

Waiting for Red Days

I have always marked my bullet journal with the days when I get my monthly visit. They're always in red of course and on the last week of November, our scheduled trip to Seoul, South Korea was set. It was a trip that we thought we won't be able to pursue because of the visa processes and all but thank God, a week before our flight, the visa was approved! I can't anymore remember though how much I had spent going to the embassy and the amount of money spent for that. I regret not documenting it but for sure I would be able to recall that if I would search online. I still remember the building where the embassy is and I hope that's the same location.

Traveling during red days is a pain in the ass, only women can relate to this so I had been waiting for my visitor to arrive. I checked my last visit and found that I am already a few days delayed.

I thought I might only be having a delay because, at some point, there were months before where the red days arrive a little later. I just brushed off the idea of being pregnant and we proceed with our Seoul trip on November 29.

Freezing Hands at Seoul

I underestimated the weather and temperature in Seoul thinking it won't be that cold during autumn, not to consider that our trip is at the tail end of November which means it is also the end of autumn and winter is just commencing.

So upon getting out of the airport, I was greeted by the cold breeze, I was in my skinny jeans and some jacket but they were not enough to warm my body, thank goodness I was wearing shoes!

The bus was our refuge, it was warm and very comfortable. But as soon as he went down to our bus stop, the freezing cold breeze came again and the bad news was that we had to walk from the bus stop to our hotel for around ten minutes. It was the longest ten minutes of my life.

Recalling that, I am glad my baby was safe in my tummy. We arrived at the hotel with freezing hands, I could barely make it move!

Unusual Dislike for Onigiri

Traveling internationally, food will take a huge chunk of our pocket money so the technique was to buy snacks and food at convenience stores! My favorite is Onigiri, this was what kept us alive in Tokyo.

Onigiri is rice with viand wrapped in a seaweed sheet. I love seaweed!

However, I noticed it smelled very bad. I never had experienced that until we were in Korea. I thought I bought a bad onigiri so I didn't eat what we bought on our first day and just left it in our hotel room's fridge.

However, when we were in Myeongdong Night Market, I had no appetite for all the good food in front of us. I never felt hungry looking at them and I had been covering my nose because of the bad smell. Whatever was in front of me, I disliked the smell.

This was the case in all our five-day trip to Seoul. I only eat for the sake of eating so I have the energy to move around but never really had the right appetite for eating. Thinking of it, I am happy and grateful that I was able to walk kilometers during our trip while not eating that much. I am grateful my baby stayed there safely.

Seat for Pregnant Women

On our way home, while inside the subway train, we were standing as the train was full then at a stop, one of the seats got available but it was a seat for pregnant women.

No one sat there and some stranger pointed me to sit instead. I obliged and sat there, there's a sign in the seat about giving it to pregnant women and my husband was laughing saying, you might be pregnant for that stranger to offer you the seat. I just brushed it off. My husband even teased me that he'd take a photo as a remembrance but I stopped him.

I already had a gut feeling that I might really be pregnant. I have been delayed for around two weeks already!

Positive in Cebu

We arrived in Mactan early morning as our trip from Korea was 11 in the evening. We napped and upon waking up at around seven in the morning, I had the urge to take a pregnancy test, we always keep some kits at home. The kit has been staying in the storage box for months and it was the first time that I tried it.

It stated two red lines for a positive result. I peed, got some samples dropped into the kit, and waited.

One bar showed... then another red bar! Oh my goodness! I am pregnant! I shouted while in the comfort room and ran towards my sleepy husband who got up when he heard me shouting, he thought there was a cockroach or something that made me shout.

I regret doing that though, next time, I will keep it from him and then film his reaction but at that time, he hugged me, I hugged him, it was an unexpected end of 2019 for us.


And that's how I discovered that I was pregnant. I already had a gut feeling and the PT was just a confirmation. On our visit to the OB, we found out we were six weeks pregnant already!

Today, recalling all those things made me smile. It's just a perfect time, God gave us Matti at the end of 2019, after all our travels, we were able to save our 13th month's salaries for my pregnancy, then pandemic happened, hubby and I worked home-based during the entire pandemic until today.


CHALLENGE

Now, it's your time mommies and daddies, please do share with us here your story, how did you find out you were pregnant? Did you have any massive symptoms? Or did you take a test and found right away? I am excited to hear about your stories!


xoxo,

momentswithmatti

Mother | Boholana | Cebu | Philippines | Travel | Photography Enthusiast | Calligraphy | Art | Crypto Noob

Noise | Hive | Steemit | YouTube IG Twitter

19
$ 3.81
$ 3.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.13 from @meitanteikudo
$ 0.10 from @Codename_Chikakiku
+ 7
Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

Comments

Wow! It's such a blessings and challenge accepted sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i hope to read your entry dear.. let me know...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeiiieeee. Buti pas si baby anka punta na sa Korea while in the tummy of mommy hihihi. Buti nlnag po safe si baby 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes po so thankful wlang masamang nangyari sa kanya while nasa loob..grabe lakad namin nun

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi sis! Finally found you here in read. I would love to do the challenge... Although di ganun kabongga like you did kasi travel travel galore talaga un sayo, hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

e in read. I would love to do the challenge... Although di ganun kabongga like you did kasi travel travel

uy thanks sis for joining.. i already read it..hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My pleasure sis..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

grabe pinagdaanan nimo sis. Worth the wait. and everything has its own right timing. me sis kay na misscarriage napud ko once kadtong nag review days sa civil.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

arriage napud ko once kadtong

oh oh.. how is it now sis? yes naa jd timing tanan, its important to still have faith and hope.. don't worry, in God's time, naa na sad ka baby or naa naba?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Smiling while reading jud ko sis. Nindot jud ireminisce ang mga ing-ana no? Maayu kay kusog ningkapit si Matti sis. Perti ra ba jud nimong lakaw-lakaw. Pero at least nakasuroy na si Matti sa Korea bisan naa pa siya sa sulod.hahaha I will join this challenge sis.hihi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ot jud ireminisce ang mga ing-ana no? Maayu kay kusog ningkapit si Matti sis. Perti ra ba jud nimong lakaw-lakaw. Pero at least nakasuroy na si Matti sa Korea bisan naa pa siya sa sulod.hahaha I w

hehe maau gani jd sis nikapit jd siya.... nakabasa nakos imoha..hehe thanks for joining sis!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salamat pud sis kay natagaan ko nimo'g idea unsay ikasuwat kay murag nahutdan na jud.hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish your kid will be very healthy and wise. Wishing your family the best,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thank you so much!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

nice one sis..mainspire man pud ta ug suwat.bitaw ngplan nmn ko mgsuwat sa whole love story namo sa akong bana and apil na ang akong pgbuntis nga wa damha .bitaw happy ko kay ghatag jud ni God para ninyo ang the best gift ever nga si Matti

$ 0.00
2 years ago

isuwat na na sis kay ganahan ko makahibawo..hehe aw nakabasa naman nuon kos katong imong first na blog about sa gusto nga magpalaglag sa imong ex bf pero lahi to sya na story.. please write.hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'll try to find time sis. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yun ang maganda. Haha. Finally God gave you the gift you've been waiting for. Sayang lang di ka nakakain ng mabuti noon haha but for sure now you can eat all your favorite food. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

sayang talaga ang food trip sana sa seoul..hehe

thanks sis!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

awwwwwww na imagine jud nako kung unsa jud kaha ka bugnaw no niya to think nga preggy naka ba niya galakaw mo ug lagyo...good thing kay si Matti kapyot jud for his dear life hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

kapyot jd for dear life mommy..hehehe maau gani wala jd sya nawala kay grabe raba namo lakaw2...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang detailed sis, at sobrang memorable. I bet sobrang saya nyo that time, ako hindi ko na maalala, memory gap is real😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

sobra sis..hehe di ko maexplain in writing

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Minsan talaga God surprised us in the most unexpected times, susundan na ba si Matti?🙊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

mukhang malabo pa yan sis..hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

sobra sis..hehe di ko maexplain in writing

$ 0.00
2 years ago

At nabuo na nga si matmat hehe omg baka ako din 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha mag plan ka muna sis..hehe mahirap maging ina..hehe hindi siya madali..hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oww, you and my sister in law were the same.. She had her operation last year because he had also an ectopic pregnancy.. She was sad that time because there are possibility that she can't be pregnant soon..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i was sad too.. but thank God my fallopian tubes were not affected... how is she right now?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's good to her.. She is recovering right now od what happened to her baby.. Let's just pray and never lose hope.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

to her.. She is recovering right now od what happened to her baby.. Let's just pray and never lose hope.

amen sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woww. 2019 was a best shot for me as well not about pregnancy ahah well, not ready for that! Congrats mommy, 2019 is the best❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes 2019 is the best so far.hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good thing your baby stayed in utero even though you were on your feet and walking for so long. When God does his work nothing stops him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes I am very grateful he was there holding on

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganda ng photos nyo 🥰 so yun pla ang story.. Sa korea nabuo si matti? 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

sa cebu lang ata sis... dun namin na feel na buntis na ako

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Someday i also want to roam the world together with the girl I love, it's great that that almost travel diffeeentcoutnries and local places, it's also a blessing that you've you've pregnant and you knew it in unexpected way, it's true that if we have guts in life there's always a sign given to us that it's true. How old Matti is now?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ntcoutnries and local places, it's also a blessing that you've you've pregnant and you knew it in unexpected way, it's true that if we have guts in life there's always a sign given to us that it's true. How old Matti is now?

thanks! you can also travel with the love of your life...Matti is now 16 months old

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Asus, ang kyut naman. Right timing talga si God magbigay ng blessings ano?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

amen sis.. sa time na di namin ineexpect talaga

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Share ko mine later. Char!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

will check it rox..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So you did just like most women a test and knew you are pregnant? You wrote you did the test end of 2019 and your child is born end 2019 too. 🤔 I wish you all the best and hope your child will have a bright future. 💖

$ 0.00
2 years ago

and your child is

my child was born on 2020.. i am sorry to confuse you.. i guess I didn't mention giving birth on this article..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't worry, it's clear now. Btw you can always change your text. Thought about how different food smells once pregnant. Turns out it's the real smell. The smell of a pregnant woman is better.

$ 0.00
2 years ago