Cooking Sweet and Sour Pork for Brother's Birthday!

14 52
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
1 year ago
Topics: Cuisine, Food, Foodie, Pork, Filipino dish, ...

My brother celebrated his birthday on the 20th of July and I volunteered to cook something for him. I had been getting a lot of these recipe videos on Facebook and one of these recipes that caught my attention is the sweet and sour pork. I had been craving it for a few weeks already but I only had the courage to cook it for my brother's birthday.

I missed taking photos of the ingredients and only realized that this would be a good blog post when I poured the pineapple chunks into the wok.

Well, better late than never so I still took photos of what was in front of me. To give you an idea, here are the ingredients that I used for this recipe:

  • Pork slices

  • flour and cornstarch with salt, black pepper, white pepper and egg

  • oil

  • pineapple chunks in a can with the juice separated

  • bell peppers in green and red colors

  • onion and garlic

  • ketchup

  • sugar

  • vinegar

  • soy sauce

  • salt

The first step is to make a breading for the pork slices. I have no idea the weight of the pork but I just sliced them into small pieces and added the flour, cornstarch, salt, black pepper, white pepper, and egg together. This was placed in the fridge for about 30 minutes while I was preparing the rest of the ingredients.

I then made the sweet and sour sauce by mixing the ketchup, pineapple syrup, vinegar, soy sauce, sugar, and salt and pepper to taste. They have to be mixed well and then set aside.

After 30 minutes, I deep fried the pork for ten minutes. I didn't mind double frying though but it is also recommended to make the pork crispier.

After frying, I sauteed the onion and garlic in the wok, I just put in a small amount of oil then I added the bell peppers. Just sauteed it for a few minutes then I added the pineapple chunks this time. Mix it well!

After a few minutes, I added the sweet and sour mix and then mix it again until it starts to boil. I made a slurry too, it's just a teaspoon of cornstarch dissolved in water.

The slurry will make the sauce sticky which will allow the sauce to stick to the pork meat.

I put in the slurry one at a time just to make sure I won't make it too much sticky. Mixing it with the sauce and just after a few minutes, the sauce seemed to thicken indeed!

Just to let you know, I grew up not liking to cook but when I got pregnant and had a baby, cooking became one of the things that I enjoy together with baking. If only we have all the ingredients in our little town, I'd surely be baking and cooking always.

After simmering it for about a minute or two with constant mixing, I added the fried pork and mixed it well with the sauce. The colors look really appetizing! It doesn't require much effort and then we were done!

This recipe is very easy and that I guess the only thing that was tedious here was the deep frying of the pork! Nonetheless, I was able to get the food up to our table and my family loved it! We love sweet and sour stuff so it was good to have that during our "boddle fight" or the "kamayan" which I will share as well in the next blog!

I must say that this recipe was a success! I look forward to learning more recipes! I have a tendency of forgetting everything that I learned from one recipe cooked so I am glad that I can document this one here and blog about it so I can easily recall the experience and get this one better in the next cooking chance.


Thanks for reading! Here are my previous articles: Weird But Good Food - Parents Are Back But Tagbilaran Stay Extends!

xoxo,

momentswithmatti

Mother | Boholana | Cebu | Philippines | Travel | Photography Enthusiast | Calligraphy | Art | Crypto Noob

Noise | Hive | Steemit | YouTube IG Twitter


7
$ 0.09
$ 0.02 from @Fexonice1
$ 0.02 from @mommykim
$ 0.02 from @Ayane-chan
+ 2
Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
1 year ago
Topics: Cuisine, Food, Foodie, Pork, Filipino dish, ...

Comments

I love the color, nakakahappy tlga magluto para sa pamilya. Chinese meals ay medyo oily pero pasok talaga sa panlasa ng mga pinoy. Hehe sarap nyan po hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

uu nga ung chinese foods usually oily no? i guess grabe talaga ang influence nila sa atin in terms of food choices...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Everything looks really delicious, I hope it was a good birthday and a nice meal with the family. Cooking for our family or friends is really important, it's like giving a part of you to them in the form of food. Recently it was my father in law's birthday and I made a nice lemon pie, I have already made several, so I have become an expert when before I didn't know how to make it hahaha.

The most important thing in all this is the sharing that we have as a family.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

aww i'd love to know how to make lemon pies too! i have a bad experience with lemon pie though but it's all from the past!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow it looks so perfect and delicious po! nakakgutom po hehehhe Mailuto nga po eto bukas hehehe. Thank you for this po.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

thanks teacher! yes must try! super easy lang pala!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Okay saved na itis ate kasi ito ung hinahanap kong recipe talga eh. Bet ko ung Fish sweet and sour ng Chowking pero mukang mas magiging bet ko lasa nitong Pork! hihi. 😍😍

$ 0.00
1 year ago

g Chowking pero mukang mas magiging bet ko lasa

hehe sarap sis! try mo na.. magugustohan yan ng son mo din!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kalami ana ma'am jean. 🤤 Makalaway gayud halos imung article ma'am jean kasi puro halos foods tyaka sa mga restaurants din. ❤️ Mangayo mi ma'am jean. 😁 Happiest birthday to your brother ma'am jean. 🎉

$ 0.00
1 year ago

hehehe thanks sis... ang food nindot na content kay di ta mahutdan ug ideas hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mao gayud maam jean tinuod na. Tas ganahan sad ko magbasa sa mga articles na about sa foods ma'am jean.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kakita ko sa tiktok ani sis ba hihi ,e try nako pohon be kay murag lamion 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

uu murag fb ni nako nakit an..heh wlaa man gud ko tiktok...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes no doubt this recipe was a success i have seen how beautifully you have made that hats off to you

$ 0.00
1 year ago