Kid's school activities that I also enjoy

27 58
Avatar for MizLhaine
2 years ago

I read an article from @tired_momma titled "School Days for Students and Parents. She shared about her journey with her kids as they have their schooling. I really agree to her that this time of pandemic, it's like both parents and kids are schooling, are learning.

For almost 2 months of having classes, me and my kids have somewhat adjusted to our routines everyday.

For my Grade 1 student, he usually have an online meetup through Google Meet on Monday, Wednesday and Friday for an hour. They usually have meet and greet, lessons, quiz and games. After every meeting, he will view video lessons. Every Tuesday and Thursday, we should wake up early so that Eilan can start at 7:00am viewing his lessons so that we can submit the picture to her teacher for attendance before I go the office at 8:00 A.M. Any unfinished tasks for a day will be done at night. All the books and outputs will be collected every Saturday afternoon.

For my Kinder 2 student, she has modules of which everyday she will answer certain pages. Every Wednesday, they will have their meetup with the teacher and the teacher usually gave lesson and then a particular activity will follow. Modules are returned and picked up at her school every Monday.

So, as you can see, I also study with my kids. During their online session I usually schedule myself for work from home for those days so that I can assist them in their classes, but they are the ones really interacting with the teacher. I also assist them in their tasks and in the process the little kid in me is also happy. I also enjoy their activities. Here are some of the activities that I enjoyed.

Planting Mongo Seeds

One of Eilan's task for school is Planting Mongo seeds. For 5 days, he observed the progress of the Mongo seeds. He was so happy seeing the improvement each day. He diligently water each plant and tell a story about it. This activity let him appreciate the value of taking care of plants and also appreciate the wonderful work of God of making the seeds sprout for it to grow to a plant. I enjoy watching him and documenting his observations everyday.

The Mongo seeds after 5 days

Memorizing Bible Verses

Every week, Eilan has a memory verse. He loves to memorize it and his sister Lianne would also join him in memorizing the verses. The memory verses are relevant to the story of creation. I would write the memory verse on a piece of paper, put in a wall, and while I am away for work I am telling him to read and memorize it.

Art Activities

Every week also, the kids have art activities. Sometimes, they will use watercolors for coloring activity sheets just like the one in the photo below. And they even put a cotton for the cloud. Before they will do this activity, they will watch the video provided by the teacher.

They also have paper cut outs. As much as possible, I let Eilan do the task of drawing and cutting papers so that he will know how to do things. Sometimes, I feel tired of waiting for him to finish but that's they way he could learn. It is emphasized as well in their class that in everything that they do, they should be honest. So I just let him do his tasks and I am there to supervise. Here are some of his outputs, a wall decor made of papers and paper objects for their shapes lesson.

Closing thoughts

As parents it is our desire that our children will learn, that's why we are sending them to school. But because of this pandemic, we shifted to the new way of learning and that learning really required our participation, especially if we have young kids. If we want our kids to learn, we should allow them to discover things on their own and not tolerate them to cheat or be the one answering the modules as what is pointed out by @LykeLyca in her article about module cheating. We should teach them how to do things on their own so that they will learn. In the process, it's not only them who are learning and enjoying, we parents are also learning and enjoying.

How about you? Do your siblings, kids, nieces, nephews, grandchildren have school tasks that you also enjoy? I would love to know your stories.

Images are edited through Canva

Links :

If you have a passion in writing you are very much welcome in read.cash

๐Ÿ‘‰https://read.cash/r/MizLhaine

And if you want shorter messages, see you in Noise

๐Ÿ‘‰https://noise.cash/u/MizLhaine

11
$ 8.51
$ 8.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @tired_momma
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
+ 7
Sponsors of MizLhaine
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MizLhaine
2 years ago

Comments

Natuwa ako ng malamang nag mememorize sila ng mga bible verses po as young as they are. Aside from that, sobrang hands on din nila sa mga school tasks nila with your supervision. Sana ganyan lahat. Yung mga bata kasi dito samin sobrang spoiled. Sinisigawan pa yung parents nila pag hindi pa natapos module na dapt sila yung gumagawa. Jusko nakaka stress.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes po, happy ako kasi yong school nila Christian school, tinuturo at emphasize din talaga ang character education. I really see to it na may learning sila. I hope na hindi din magbago ang attitude through time. I am praying for it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really like if the kids are memorize the bible verse,

This mostly I miss teaching my children for thier schooling, because I'm far from them. Only I have a time if I have vacation

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, may memory verses kasi nasa Christian school sila. I know miss na miss mo na sila, soon you will be there with them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maganda talaga basta nasa christian school ang mga bata ,bata pa natututo na ng words of God.

Oo si grabe na pero may awa ang Diyos makakauwi at makakasama ko ulit sila

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sis, by God's grace, you can be with your family at sana hindi mo na sila maiiwan ulit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't have kids to supervise but I saw my neighbor stressing herself in teaching her two sons and kiddingly told her "para kna ring estudyante jan kasama ng mga anak mo sa pag aaral ng kanilang lessons". She just laugh and scratched her head and nagged her son to do the rest of the activity that they are doing. I see how some student struggling with their studies with out the present of the teachers especialy those who's parent doesn't have any idea to their lessons.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Super agree, studyante na din mga parents now. Mahirap pag yong parents wala din alam, so ano nalang isasagot ng mga kids, lalo na yong nasa early grade. I hope this pandemic will really end, bu God's grace, I hope it would be soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga po, nakakaawa din yong mga bata.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have two kids Mzlhaine since they are already teenagers I ought them to be very independent in their modules but as much as possible I also check them if they are doing good. I am working from 8:00 AM-8:30 PM so it is a little impossible for me to assist their module entirely. Last year, they were enrolled in private school but this year I decided to enroll them in the public. Every morning is a struggle for them since I will always bring their cellphones at work even the remote control of the TV and the charger of the laptop. I am always feeling guilty whenever they will say that their cousins have their cellphones with them even if it is module time. Although I felt guilty I need to be tough so that they can always set priorities doing their modules. Before buying their cellphones, we have an agreement that they cannot use their cellphones during module time. I encourage them every day to do their module promptly so that they can use their cellphones and it works since they can finish their module before the deadline. I salute the working mommas out there who can still indulge time for their kids, teaching them with patience and in the process letting them enjoy learning.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thanks for sharing your experience and technique here. Salute to you Mommy! It's really hard on your part because you have long hours of work. Me, it's 8:00-5:00 work so I can assist them before going to sleep. I also do not allow my kids to use cellphone on their young age, I don't want them to be addicted to it. Kudos to you Mommy for teaching your kids to be responsible.

By the way, I am just sad that your account is in SPAM. I hope it would be ok soon.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kudos to you too Mizlhaine for teaching your children at their age of foundation! I am deeply sad too that my account is in spam. Oftentimes I lose my motivation to write. Some said that maybe the reason I am on the spam list is that it is me or someone who had accidentally click the downvote that is why I am now on the spam list. It has been months that I was on the spam list now. I hope that this spam thing will be lifted soon so that I will be motivated to write.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Last year, my niece was still on grade 1 that time and she has this lesson in Music to sing the line with the melody of this song. It was fun observing and grading her do it. Now, grade 2, the lesson in music is just so hard to grasp at her age, Ang laki ng transition, napa facepalm nlng ako.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It depends sa school din siguro ano. For now, ok pa naman sa music ni Eilan pero may mga PE activities sila na hindi ko matandaan kung gumagawa kami noon, pero nasusundan din naman nila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This reminds me of my mom helping me with my school work when i was younger. She knows the answer to every question and that made me look at her as some magician๐Ÿ˜‚. By the way, the mango looks like it's 2 -3 weeks old. It grew so fast in just 5 days. Kudos to Eilan.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You remind me of my mom as well. One of the reasons why I am really determined to help my kids in their school work is the memory of my mom. She was my first teacher, she taught me how to read and write at an early age before I go to school. So I want to do the same, she inspired me. Yes, the mongo grows so fast. He is really happy to see it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have 2 kids currently attending online classes.My eldest, who is in grade 6 and my daughter who is in Grade 2. Unlike other mothers, I just let them be independent. I am just available to guide them but to the point that I'll do their activities or assignments that they supposedly done? it's a big NO NO for me. I don't want them to be dependent on me and also, it will be unfair to their classmates who are exerting efforts on their activities. So I just let my kids do their activities alone. I am just here to guide them if in case they don't understand the instructions clearly.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I admire you for that! It is really a responsibility that we should allow our kids to learn on their own. It is for their own, it is for their sake also. I am really there when it's Filipino because my child always ask what does it mean.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Relate ako sa last ate kasi wala akong choice. Sa ngayon ate, binabase yung grade raw nung grade 9 to 11 ka para raw makapasok ka sa college hehe tapos di naman nirerecord yung mga grade sa modules, kainis. Kahit sabihin ko na grade is just a number lang, di talaga yon aapprove hehe. Naalala ko noon na sayang lang effort ko sa pagsagot tapos di naman po papansin lahat ng sagot hehe. Naalala ko po non sa physical scrience namin, pinasa ko lang yung harapan ng nb ko, pasado na tapos nagpakahirap pa akong i-figure out lahat ng mga chemical properties. Yung sa kapatid ko ngayon na kinder, tinuturuan siya ni mama

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hello sayo, I can see your perseverance kasi you share it here. Yes, may mga courses talaga sa college na binabasehan ang grade sa HS. Sagot padin ng sagot, ang important may natutunan ka in the process that you can apply in the next lessons or in the next chapter of your life. Isa talaga sa mahirap ang Science lalo na ang chemistry, hindi ko na matandaan lessons namin noon. Mabuti naman at adyan si mama para magturo sa kapatid mo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We have no kids in the house so I can't relate ๐Ÿ˜„. We are all almost the same age as siblings, and only one is studying, he is college. We let him on his own and learn independently. Anyway, I am not an expert and do not know much about the lessons involved in his chosen program.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hehehe. It's ok, at least you can relate to our stories, and good thing, malaki na sya, can really do things on his own.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama po.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Like my Tia after she planted wildflowers seeds. I know how happy your child dear as they water it every day and see its progress when they wake up in the morning. That's really good for them. I can see that you are enjoying yourself with your kids.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Before the Mongo seeds, they love to plant melon seeds in the pots. Yes, everyday he is excited and I am happy seeing them. Our kids are really precious and they deserve the care, love and attention.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Kudos to you Mommy!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks Mommy, Kudos to you too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago