Embarrassing Moment with a Client

6 42
Avatar for MizLhaine
1 year ago

I always share here my experiences in my Freelance work in Upwork. I wrote two articles about it such as:

My First Job in Upwork

Contract Ended: Sad and Happy

Now, I am sharing another experience.

Since the time I got my first job in Upwork, more doors of job opportunities opened for me. Most of them are just short term. I am diligent on applying on jobs that I am sure I can do. Yesterday, there was a job posting about Facebook Page photo edits of which a client wants to edit/update a certain Facebook page. I was confident that I can do the job because of course I know how Facebook pages work, so I applied. It was around 4:00 am in the morning. Then, minutes from the time I applied, I got a message from the client, he is now interviewing me on how I can help him, telling me about his problem. His problem was he wants to edit a page name and the page information but at that moment, he cannot do it. I send him screenshots of how to edit page and the other information but he said that he cannot see it. So he said, he will screen share, we had a zoom meeting. So he showed me the page, and it was totally different from my view, I don't know what to do. So I told him that I would drop the call and see what would be the problem.

I suspected that he was not the admin of the page that's why he was not able to do the editing. I chatted him and then, he asks more questions and then we had a zoom meeting again. I showed him the Facebook Page I managed and then he said it was different on his end. He showed again the FB Page and we tried to figure out, most of the time he was the one who figured out which one to click, because yeah, Business Facebook pages was totally new to me and I don't have the expertise for that. I feel so small, frustrated that I am not helping him. Our talk lasted for almost an hour but I really feel embarrassed. At the end, he was able to edit his page, thanks to Google. I was just there that he talked to. lol.

He thanked me for helping him. I was actually thankful that we are not in a contract because I am afraid that he will really give me a bad feedback if there was a contract then. So I was ok that we don't have any contract and I did not ask for any payment for the time spent assisting him. I considered it as an experience, a new learning and a realization that I should learn more in this niche.

In the noon time, he sent me a contract and told me to put the hours worked for the job. He was really kind. He did not scold me the time that we had a call and even thank me for the help, even if I feel I was not helping him. I did not key in the hours yet for now. I am just hoping that he will not put my feedback down because at the moment I have a 100% Success rate in Upwork.

So that's my embarrassing experience and I really learned from it. But it won't stop me from looking for more job opportunities.

3.23.2023

10
$ 0.39
$ 0.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
+ 1
Sponsors of MizLhaine
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MizLhaine
1 year ago

Comments

Uy i hope maging long term client mo din sya if ever. Parang both of you learned something din at that moment. Nice one!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

yes I agree, we both learned. Parang short lang talaga need nya, di na sya ngreply sa akin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

May mga embarrassing moments talaga tayo sa buhay natin mizlhaine nuh. Nakakamiss lang mag work sa labas mizlhaine.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

i am glad he was understanding and I am sure he appreciated the effort you did sis...

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Your client was very understanding and he had more patience talking with you about his problem.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes and that's what's my contribution I think, listening to him and watching him do stuffs. lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago