Quizzes & Puzzles 1

14 422
Avatar for Mictorrani
2 years ago

For many, many years in the past, I was a “Puzzlist” - that is to say, I was constructing and compiling various sorts of logical puzzles, some very complex, some less so. I also created quizzes for different uses. It was never my main occupation, but I have always done many parallel things; to do so is part of my general approach to life.

Since things like these amuse a lot of people - after all, it is a playful way to learn (not at least from the answers), and it's quite fun to produce as well - I decided to test a new series here: “Quizzes & Puzzles”. Then if the response is good, the series will continue until further notice, with a new issue now and then (never more often than once a week though). The main part will be quizzes, but occasional puzzles will turn up. That is to say, that this is what I have in mind now, but I know from experience that reader feedback can bring things in entirely new directions.

In the internet age, it's sometimes too easy to answer quizzes by using Google, although it's more fun not to do so. For that reason, I will not offer any prizes for correct answers. Let's do this for fun, and in order to exercise the brain or to learn something in a playful way, but feel free to post answers and solutions in the comment section.

What will the quizzes be about and what sort of logical puzzles will I include?

Almost anything can turn up as a quiz; I will try to reach some variation in my choice of subjects, but of course, topics from my articles will be there: history, (in the broadest sense), literature & art, science, language, etc. However, I might go beyond even these borders to less intellectual realms. We will see where this leads us.

As for puzzles, I have not really decided that yet. We will see.

Quiz 1:1

This is a question about geography and words. I ask for two capitals. Names refer to how they are written in English.

a) If you reverse the syllables in the name of this (present day) capital, you get the name of the previous capital in the same country. Which capital am I referring to?

b) I assume that everyone is familiar with the distinction between vowels and consonants. The name of the second capital whose name I seek, consists of 11 letters, and as many as 8 of them are vowels. Which is the capital?

Quiz 1:2

Most people know that saffron is the most expensive spice, but which is the next most expensive?

Quiz 1:3

A member of the plant kingdom contains a substance being 50 times sweeter than ordinary sugar. The root is used to produce medicines and sweets. But beware, only a small overconsumption can make the blood pressure rise dramatically. What is this plant called?

Quiz 1:4

Who wrote this and from which Victorian novel is it taken?

"It was spacious, and I dare say it had once been handsome, but every discernible thing in it was covered with dust and mould, and dropping to pieces. The most prominent object was a long table with a tablecloth spread on it, as if a feast had been in preparation when the house and the clocks all stopped together. An epergne, or centerpiece of some kind was in the middle of this cloth; it was so heavily overhung with cobwebs that its form was quite undistinguishable; and, as I looked along the yellow expanse out of which I remember its seeming to grow, like a black fungus, I saw speckled legged spiders with blotchy bodies running home to it, and running out from it, as if some circumstance of the greatest public importance had just transpired in the spider community.

I heard the mice too, rattling behind the panels, as if the same occurrence were important to their interests. But the blackbeetles took no notice of the agitation, and groped about the hearth in a ponderous elderly way, as if they were short-sighted and hard of hearing, and not on terms with one another."

Answers will be provided in “Quizzes & Puzzles 2”, along with new chances to test your knowledge.

Read also the series, ”Suggested Reading”, which is a compilation of articles by other authors on this platform; and “Retrospection”, which presents some of my own old articles in a topic related way, quite different from the chronological order in my profile.

In my INDEX, you can find all my writings on Read.Cash, sorted by topic.

Copyright © 2022 Meleonymica/Mictorrani. All Rights Reserved.

(Image by Christian Dorn/Pixabay, CC0/Public Domain.)

My 5 most recent articles:

Suggested Reading 19

How to Avoid Mental Decline: Neuroprotectors

Before Western and Modern Medicine & Surgery II: The Great Physicians

Before Western and Modern Medicine & Surgery I

Suggested Reading 18

16
$ 5.12
$ 4.84 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.04 from @Ling01
+ 8
Sponsors of Mictorrani
empty
empty
Avatar for Mictorrani
2 years ago

Comments

you did great job. Its really educative and IQ test method.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you. I hope it will be educative in a playful manner.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not familiar with any hehehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If I would guess the answer to quiz 1:2 I'll saffron is the most expensive spice and there's no other one that is expensive that it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are others, although not at the level of saffron.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not familiar with your quiz but lets try to answer. The first question is Tokyo an Ouagadougou. I don't have any idea about the second and third question. I just wait for the next article to share your answer. Anyway its very creative.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let me guess what vía sweeter than sugar is beet? 🤔🤔

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No.. Both beet and sugar cane (as @Ling01 suggested) are plants from which sugar is made. Most industrially made white sugar is made from these two. They are not sweeter than sugar.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Interesting, I am curious now to know the answer

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will not take the pleasure from other readers by revealing it just yet. Perhaps someone gives the right answer in a comment. Otherwise I will do it in Quizzes & Puzzles 2.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of course, I meant reading it on your next post. LoL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay let me try haha. The first one is Tokyo The second one is Ouagadougou I know who have shared about spices when I'm just new here the first article I read made by you is all about this topic, so gonna go with Cinnamon :D Last question, I don't have idea, if this a test paper, I'll just answer "Sugar Cane"

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The two first are right, but cinnamon and sugar cane are wrong.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am curious by your puzzling question and I have spent several minutes thinking about what might be the answer to those quiz especially in geography because I like geography but sadly I can't think of any.

I will just wait until you will answer it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago