Unmotherly Thoughts

28 52

10.10.22

How do you deal with womanhood and motherhood at the same time? There were things that you enjoy and hate as a woman and a mother.

Sponsors of Micontingsabit
empty
empty
empty

Headaches, cramps, cravings, and mood swings, are things that I hate when I have my monthly period. Having no time for myself is one of the things that miss since I became a mom.

Now, both are happening right at this moment. I don't know what to do. My husband is at work but gets off after a couple of days. Just a few more days alone with Lil B with this womanhood. I am just afraid of how am I gonna deal with this at the same time. That's why maybe a few things popped up in my mind last week. Just a heads up, these thoughts weren't nice and I am hoping, believing in myself, that these thoughts served as a warning or a reminder to take a deep breath.

Before all that, I just want to share a little bit from my past.

*Flashback sounds**

  • I was in grade school when my mother strangled me. Honestly, I forgot the reason why but all I can recall was were alone and it has been a few months after she gave birth to our youngest sister. I think was just being a typical kid back then, not doing the chores she wanted me to do right away. She got angry or maybe frustrated and she just strangled me out of nowhere but stopped.

  • I was in high school when my mother asked me to slice a few things for her to cook. Again as a typical teenager, waking up late and not doing chores immediately or let's just say rebellion is what's happening to me. Then when she got inside the house and saw that I was just about to slice the ingredients minutes after she asked me. She got angry, got the knife, and slit it on my nape. It wasn't that deep but I felt it, I touched it and there was a bit of blood. I was shocked, scared, and secretly cried.

Postpartum

This is what they call the fourth trimester, which is the time after birth. The postpartum period begins upon giving birth from 6 to 8 weeks after giving birth. By that time a woman's body parts or organs may or may not have returned that's why the postpartum period may last up to 12 weeks after birth.

Baby Blues

Giving birth to a child changes everything and changes a woman's life, literally. Physically, mentally, and emotionally. Mood swings, anxiety, sleeping habits, and a few personality changes can happen too. This is just a phase and what we call 'baby blues', an adjustment period perhaps?

Postpartum Depression (PPD)

This is another type of depression that happens after birth. I remember someone telling one of our dad friends that women who had C-sections are most likely to develop PPD. I say, after big changes that happen after you give birth all women may develop PPD. Experiencing all changes in your body, plus changes financially and socially.

Postpartum Psychosis

This is an extreme mood disorder that happens rarely to a mother. I am sure that you have heard stories like a mother hearing voices that ended up harming or even killing their baby.

I am a person who sometimes likes to be alone and wants to talk to my friends when I need to vent out feelings.

I am a person who likes to do things or finish things/chores right away so I can rest or sleep.

I am a person who doesn't like loud noise unless it's rock music.

How can I do those things now that I have a toddler who's not speaking yet? How can I do those things when this little hooman keeps following me and needs skin-to-skin contact whatever and wherever I go?

As I mentioned earlier, a few things popped up in my mind out of nowhere, or let's just say out of frustration. I even thought of spanking my daughter so many times, non-stop. I thought of slapping her because she keeps on crying for no reason. I even thought of covering her mouth so that she can stop crying.

Don't worry, those are just thoughts. I just realized that when those thoughts came into my mind, I shook my head and said to myself 'why would I even do such things?'

I admit that I get frustrated. I am trying so hard to control my emotions but find it very hard because I wasn't raised like that or at least among my sisters I am the one who usually takes the blame.

How can I stop the cycle? Taking a deep breath wasn't just enough and I sometimes ended up telling Lil B to back off, letting her cry for a few minutes, even raising my voice, or even pinching her. Doesn't sound like a good mom eh? I know, I am guilty, I am sorry. What's happening to me?

This is what I hate about womanhood and motherhood.

lead image and closing banner edited from Canva

pictures posted are mine unless stated

in all original content. Micontingsabit

Check me out on
Noise.cash\Noise.app\Appics
Hive|Miconteangsabeat
PublishOx|Micontingsabit

Join me on
CryptoTab - BTC mining
Free Bitcoin Cash - BCH mining
Pi Network - Pi

12
$ 0.41
$ 0.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Bloghound
$ 0.02 from @DocLayla
+ 7
Sponsors of Micontingsabit
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Oh my god, sis, nashock naman ako dun sa sinaktan ka. Talagang traumatizing yun. Hmmm, I will not do that sa aking anak kahit anong galit ko pa. Kasi tatatak sa isip nila yun forever. Being a mom is a big responsibility talaga so hanga ako sa lahat ng nanay like you sis!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Iba talaga sis pag magiging nanay na tayo ang daming realizations at stress na aabutin pero okay lang yun part na yan ng buhay natin kaya laban lang tayo palagi.🥰

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Salamat sis. Ang importante aware pa din ako sa paligid at nagagawa ko, kasi kapag hindi na baka malala na ang lagay ko. Huhu

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Gusto ko na magkababy pero sa isip ko di ko pa kaya yung responsibilidad. Lalo na yung pag aalaga at number one financial jusko! Tapos may siraulo pa na asawa ay nako mabaliw siguro talaga ako di lang ganyan maisip ko.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nako kelangan kapag magkababy dapat supportive ang asawa din sa lahat ng aspeto kasi dapat parehas kayong mabaliw hahahahw

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Relate ako sis yung headaches, cramps then mood swings. Yan talaga nai-experience ko lagi pag may monthly period ako.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

akala ko nga mawawala kapag nanganak nako, sabi kasi ng friend ko yung iba nawawala daw pero ako nung first two months lang nawala tapos bumalik agad huhue

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yan din narinig ko sis na mawala pag makaranas kana mag silang.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Motherhood (childbirth) with the joy, frustration and existential crisis that comes with it is something that needs to be studied on its own, very miraculous and intriguing aspect of womanhood.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's true, the world should be balanced as it is huhu

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Each time I go through the stresses of ladies and motherhood, I feel sorry for them because they really do pass a lot with regards to the pains.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

pain I can handle but I find it hard to handle if they come in together in one day.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I guess may tantrums yang anak mo sis.Kasi ganyan din bunso ko iiyak nalang bigla di mo maintindihan kung bakit.anyway guess ko lang. about PPD.naexperience ko yan dati nung mga weeks old pa lang yung bunso ko.Pag umiiyak si Bunso iiyak din ako tas pag ayaw niyang tumigil napapalo ko siya kasi naiinis ako sa asawa kong mas inuuna pa ang makipag inuman kaysa tulungan akong alagaan yung anak namin.depress na depress ako nun .Di ako sanay na nasa bahay lang at umaasa sa sweldo ng asawa ko kaaunti

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ako ata yung may tantrums hahahhaa. pero lagi kasi nakadikit, kahit magkatabi kami gusto nakakandong pa ih.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Super clingy siya sis. Ganyan din bunso ko.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ooh sorry about that. I have never experienced motherhood the only experience I've had is menstrual cramps. God bless you and every mother out there. You're amazing!!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kudos to all moms out there! I guess you should just take it easy on yourself

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am trying thank you so much ♥

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hand salute from me to you, sis! You're doing amazing!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

huheu I do hope so sis. thank youuu

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Xoxoxoxo

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Being a mother isn't easy. It takes a lot of energy to not vent on the children especially when they are being unbearable

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's true, it also takes a lot of patience and clearly my patience is not enough.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Its not really easy especially that you are alone taking care of her, ganyan din ako madalas pero nagsisi ako but sometimes I really can't control myself😌

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Minsan sis, naisip ko na ikulong sya sa banyo. Hindi ko talaga alam bakit sumasagi minsan sa isip ko mga ganung bagay. Hindi ko na dn alam kung paano ako makakahinga kapag may pasok ang mister ko.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang hirap ano, akala ko ako lng ang ganyan sa anak ko sis, kaya minsan napapaiyak kapag narerealize ko ang bad kong nanay

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ansakit sa part na naraasan mo yan mismo sa magulang moate, ako naranasan ko matutukan ng itak dahil sa mga alaga kong hayop, ayaw kasi ni dad sa mga animals. grabeng trauma inabot ko dun, pag nattrigger un umiiyak talaga ako

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Iniisip ko na lang talaga noon na masama akong tao kaya nakatikim ako ng ganun. Kaya ngayon hindi ko talaga alam gagawin ko para hindi ako maging ganun sa anak ko

$ 0.00
1 year ago