My first time stripping

24 39

022422

Last week I need to strip, strip, strip that'll never stop. Whoa. I need to strip, strip, strip, till you just go pop. Whoaaaa. Did you sing it again? HAHAHAH. Oh wait, this is a different kind of stripping. Not the strip that you are thinking of.

thanks to my ever supportive sponsors! More BCH you and me! 
Sponsors of Micontingsabit
empty
empty
empty

Special thanks to sis @Jijisaur for renewing you sponsporshipzzzzz.

Alright, how did I strip? Char! This is stripping is a thorough way of cleaning or washing cloth diapers. Strip cleaning is done to remove combat stains, build up stain/smell or if you noticed that the cloth diaper inserts are not absorbent anymore. This is simply resetting the cloth diapers.

Oh by the way, cloth diapers are lampins but of course to make it look more nice, people came up with designed cloth diapers. Don't worry, I'll share pictures later. This might be helpful for other mommies or soon to be moms too.

What are cloth diapers?

As mentioned earlier, it's just simply lampin, reusable cloth made of either natural or man-made absorbent fibers.

Why use cloth diapers?

There are a lot of benefits of using a cloth diaper. By the way, my sister was the one who introduced us to cloth diapers, that's why when I gave birth I decided to let my baby use cloth diapers too. There are also pros and cons in using cloth diapers.

**Keep in mind that I am not hating on mommies or parents who use disposable diapers, I just want to enlighten and help other mommies or soon to be moms that there are other options when it comes to baby needs. Your choice should always depend on your convenience or your preference.*

Pros

  • Reuseable up to 3 years of age.

  • Less waste. Save mother earth

  • More savings over time compared to buying disposable diapers within the first 3 years of age.

  • Cute designs. (There are brands that you can choose from depending on your preference)

  • Less skin rash. (Disposable diapers still has chemicals that may harm baby skin)

  • Can be kept or passed down to siblings or sell it as second-hand item.

Cons

  • More energy and water usage, for cleaning and laundry time.

  • Upfront investment. (There are other Work-at-home-moms WAHMs, that offers Layaway options)

  • Some brands or materials are pricy depending on the cloth or design used

  • Not travel friendly. (You need an extra bag when you travel for used cds)

  • Not babysitter or daycare friendly. (Most people do not know how to put on CDs correctly that may result to leakage)

Well, you are planning to use cloth diapers and wants to get more advise or do research, you can join or check Cloth diaper Advocates PH.

Just a side story, one of my friends who just gave birth asked me about the cloth diapers that I put up for sale. I told her that do you plan to use or try it? and she said she's interested to try. Knowing her, I asked her if she's sure because she will need time and dedication to take care of the cloth diapers and do the laundry every other day or at least once a week. She answered, 'Si Kenet (husband) yung naglalaba eh' then I told her just to use disposables as she and her husband is both working.

Personal experience

Good thing that I tried using cloth diapers to Lil B as early as 3months. That time, I can say that I already have recovered on my C-section. Personally aside from the cute designs that I've seen on my niece's CDs, basically I want to help save money. My husband is the only one working so as much as possible I want to lessen the expenses. I am a full time stay at home mom so I can take care of the laundry too.

It was hard to start because I need to familiarize and know what to do and not to do. Thanks to my sister, she was my go-to person when it comes to CD-ing. She also would lend my some of my niece's cloth diaper so I can try what will work for us. My sister gave us 6pcs of cloth diapers for newborns as a gift. Then I bought 2nd hand cloth diapers in Carousell.

It was really hard to build up a permanent stash because there are different types and brands that you can choose from. I joined a lot of cloth diapering groups and brands looking for other affordable ones. Other moms find it pricy but there are still other cheap but good quality cloth diapers, you just really have to look, even on Shopee.

Now, I have different brands and types. I have already achieved enough number of cloth diapers for one week worth of laundry. I'll share the brands and type of CDs we have, before I share that let's go back to the topic of strip cleaning. :)

Stripping

Stripping is also advised to do for newly bought CDs so that the cloth will be more absorbent.

Here's how:

Screenshot from a cloth diapering group on FB

I noticed that Lil B's wiwi became more smelly even if she's still on her and she got a little few rashes. I asked my sister again regarding the issue then she asked me to strip the diapers. Anyway, we've been using the cloth diapers for about 5 to 6 months. She told me that sometimes after frequent use of CDs it may cause for the cloth to become less absorbent or smell build up, that could be the reason why my Lil B had rashes.

I decided to strip all the CDs all in one laundry but I need to buy a few disposable diapers for her to use while I am stripping her CDs. Why? Because it may take time washing all of the CDs since you cannot pull all of it in the washing machine, plus the inserts and she has more than 40 CDs and at the same time I have to take care of Lil B.

I went to the grocery store to buy disposable diapers and I was stuck in the diaper isle. I cannot decide what brand and size to buy.

Now, let's do the stripping.

STEP 1: regular wash the CDs

STEP 2: stripping time!

I used dishwashing liquid because the detergent rlr is pricy.

STEP 3: Soak CDs shells for 4-6 hours and inserts overnight.

STEP 4: Rinse the CD shells and inserts until no more soap bubbles can be seen (unli banlaw)

Oh I wasn't able to rinse it right away because my motha was doing her laundry too. It's not advisable to leave it soaked in water for too long too. Instead, I soaked the inserts again with boiling hot water. I didn't include the shells because the material may be damaged in hot water)

STEP 5: Wash it with your regular detergent. While I soaked the inserts with hot water, at the same time I washed the shells regularly.

It took me 2 days to finish washing the CDs because of my motha but I am still glad that I finished it and the CDs look clean and bright, looks like brand new to be honest.

Stuffing

Of course after drying up the CDs, I need to prepare them for next use. I need to stuff the inserts in the shell. I find it somehow fun and therapeutic, sometime I do stuffing when Lil B is asleep or I let her play with her newly washed CDs while I stuff it. It's also kind of a hobby to count it every time I wash it. Just to make sure everything is present hahaha!

Let me share what brands of CDs I have for Lil B.

I have a total of 49 shells which include these:

2 PUL Touch of Lucas, 3 Boldeet, 1 nappyspills?, 5 whimsyfilly, 1random free cd

1 adventuretime, 2 Bachibum cover type, 2 Naughtybaby cover type

5 komfyChiks pocket type pull-ups, 1 fitter pull-up

8 PUL Alva baby

2 serged type Touch of Lucas

2 Jhieo jersey sidesnapped, 1 regular jhieo cd

3 KomfyChiks fitteds

And here are my favorite CDSs hihi

5 LilBheybiBum

3 raphabumbum

Raphabumbum Cds were the pricy ones but I cannot deny the quality of the material used. Even though its a bit expensive, it's still worth the price. Oh I have one more, my sister gave this as a chirstmas presetn to Lil B.

1 HP BSL

It's actually a terno set with sando. I only used disposable diapes when Lil B was just a newborn baby and I immediately used CDs to take advantage of it because other moms who used CDs a little be late find it hard to potty train their babies because of course they want their babies to wear cute CDs.

Oh now this article is too long now. I'll just cut if off here.

If you are interested to use modern cloth diapers, just make sure that you will be dedicated to CD-ing and there's nothing wrong if you use just the traditional lampin. Lampins are very helpful to those moms who lost jobs and cannot afford to buy disposable diapers.

That's all folks! I am sleepy grinding Mobile legends hahahha.

Lead image and pictures posted are mine.

6
$ 3.90
$ 3.82 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Ayane-chan
$ 0.03 from @dziefem
+ 1
Sponsors of Micontingsabit
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Alam mo mars kung naabutan ko lang ito years ago eh for sure ito pinagamit ko sa anak ko kaso that time eh mahal pa ang mga yan kaya naka lampein lang anak ko. Pero now talaga ina advocate ko din na gumamit mga co mommy ko ng washable diaper kesa ung mga nasa market ngayon. Ku- cute ng mga pants nya sis ahhh. magkano bili mo nyan?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yung brand na KomfyChiks 100 tska Whitesnaps 170 lang isa. Tapos yung ibang printed na designs nasa 200+ kasi mga made to order sya. May ibang mga mura din yung cover type may mga tig 100 lang yun tapos pwede mong papalitan yung lampin sa loob hanggang di pa natatagusan ng poopoo or wiwi. Yung ibang mommies bibili muna ng ilang ganito tapos wash and wear muna talaga kasi madali naman matuyo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe ang murayt na nila talaga ngayon mars. dati di ako makabili dahil 1k pa mahigit ung isang washable. Di pa uso non Shopee at Lazada kaya mahirap makabili ng mga murang pants. Swerte din at ang cute pa kapag sinuot na ng baby.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seryoso ganun presyo nya dati?!?! Omeged. May mga ganyan pa dn na presyo lalo na kapag di local yung fabric. Ngayon may mga abot kaya na at painstallment ang ibang brands

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes ganun kamaamhal dati pati nga ung menstrual cup eh ngaun lang ako nakabili kasi dati isang libo presyo niya eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nako buti marami nang mga babae na nakakaalam ng mestrual cup, buti parang may isang brand na available na sa drug store ata. Tsma ba?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayyy di ko sure sis pero shopee ko kasi ito nabili sakin. Ikaw ba? Nagamit ka ba nito?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi pa eh pero nakagamit na kapatid ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nako ses pag na itry movyun, di ka mag sisisi. As in worth it gamitin. Ako nga takot nug una pero nung na try ko na sabi ko sa sarili ko, "weeh? Ito na yarn?" Hahaha parang wala lang eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This was a great idea, oh I remember before my mother are just using lampin. Diapers are only used if may mga lakad. But of course iba na ngayon๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung gamit ko yun yung sinasabi nilang modern lampin kasi cute na at may designs na dn, iba iba dn yung klase nya kaya minsan nakakalito kapag nagsisimula dn.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dati nung baby pa mga anak ko, yung lampin lang na manipis. (Anak anakan lang, kapatid at pamangkin hahaha) Ngayon hindi na nag gaganon, tamad na maglaba mga magulang haha. Noon, ako taga laba ng ganon huhu. Maganda nga ganyan nalang bilhin ng mga mommies iwas rashes, hindi pa bili nang bili ng diapers.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oo sis, di pa natatambakan ng basura ng disposable diapers. Pwede ko pa ibenta kung di pa masundan agad si bb. Nagleave na ko sa mga cloth diaper groups kasi baka mapabili pa ko ng di kelangan hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Trueee. Minsan nga may nagkakalat na diaper sa harapan namin kahit walang baby, paano ba naman kung saan saan pa tinatapon ng kapitbahay grrr. Wise decision yan sis, hirap na mabudol nang mabudol. ๐Ÿ˜†๐Ÿ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahha kinanta ko intro hahaa wala talagang palya sis pag entertain mo haha hayss laba day pala ngayon kasi holiday.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nako last week pa yan sis. Kala ko nga abutin ako 3 araw maglaba hahahaa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I only used diapers for my daughter when we are going out for checkups and vaccination but at home, I just used lampins or just baby shorts. My baby was prone to rashes back then, I rarely used them.

That's a good choice, sis. You can save a lot.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ay mas presko dn diba kapag nakalampin lang. Kaya yung mga ibang nanay sa groups na nanghihingi ng tulong para makabili ng diapers na ookray sila madalas kasi pwede naman maglampin or damit na luma pwede gamitin as lampin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo ganun lang din ginagawa ko. Damit na luma or lampin. Hanggang 3 months lang naman yang lampin eh, pag medyo malaki na siya pwede na yan mag shorts. Yun lang dapat marami ka lang pamalit saka sundin lang sa paglaba kada palit.

Nakaka UTI din kaya kapag palaging naka diaper kasi maiinit yun eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yun nga dn, kaya mapadisposable o hindi and advise ng pedia is palit every 3hours may wiwi o wala. Kaya nakakahinayang kapg itatapon lang hahahha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang cute mommy tapos tipid pa sayang hindi gumamit ng ganito ang pamangkin ko

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Akala dn kasi ng iba mahal. Pero may mga murang brand lang dn na nasa 100 pesos. Okaya 2nd hand

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mas maganda tlaaga to sis ung reusable

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kahit matrabaho lang sa paglaba, basta makatipid and mas safe dn sa skin hihi

$ 0.00
2 years ago