Buzz Buzz Lil B.

14 49

060722

'Buzz buzz Lil B, it's your big day!'

She's baptized! She's now guided by the Holy Spirit!

This is actually a late post but I still want to share how we prepared for her Christening/birthday celebration. I actually don't know how to begin or what introduction I'll do for this article.

Sponsors of Micontingsabit
empty
empty
empty

What's our religion?

My parents and sisters were born as Roman Catholics. We were raised with the teachings of Catholicism since we were kids. All of us studied in a Catholic School too. Yes, we do first friday mass, we were required to attend sunday mass every week and have the priest sign our log book as a proof that we listened to the word of God.

My husband is a Catholic too. In short, both of our families believe on the same God, values, morals and etc.

My husband and I are Catholics in papers.

I remember my husband's friend asked me what my religion is and I answered 'Catholic' of course cause I am. But after a few seconds, I said 'sa papel' ('on paper') which means I am legally a Catholic, meaning we don't base everything from the bible. I don't mean to offend Catholics or other religion but this is just my personal opinion, which I will not discuss.

Anyway, since both of our families are Catholic our children should be baptized too. They can be Catholic now and if they decide to change their religion when they grow up, they can do so.

Now let's talk about how we prepared for her big not so big day.

Choosing the date

My mother wanted her to be baptized as soon as she's born however gatherings are prohibited. I asked my husband if we can have her baptized at 6months. Because we will need to travel in some cities for some reason and my mother doesn't like us to bring Lil B with us because she wasn't baptized yet. Traditionally or as what older people believe is you can't babies shouldn't be travelling until they are baptized so that they can be safe. Baptism is still a no go, because restrictions are up and down.

Then I told my husband we can have her baptized and celebrate her birthday at the same time. Less effort and we have to worry if my friends will come or not. At least inviting her God parents and closest friends will surely attend.

Lil B's birthday falls on a weekday and most of the God parents have jobs and they are available dring weekends. We picked the closest weekend date to her birthday, which was May 14.

Booking the date and finding the church

There's a church just 5 to 10mins walk away from our house. Solo baptism costs 2500 pesos and 1500 for non-solo baptism. However, May 14 was already fullybooked. I still considered it or to get a later date which is going to be a problem to daddy's schedule.

I tried visiting another church and good thing that I decided to bring along her birth certificate and my marriage contract. Shalaaaaah! When I checked on the available dates, May 14 is still not taken. They have lower fees too, 1500 for solo baptism and 500 for non-solo. I immediately submitted the papers and booked that day, May 14 it is!

Lil B's baptism outfit

I saw in one cloth diaper brands on Facebook that they put up some items on sale. I found a dress and a blouse with cloth diaper for only 360 pesos.

Ninongs and Ninangs

Choosing godparents are somehow crucial nowadays. We've been hearing or seeing some parents obligate their assigned godparents to finance their child's event. Red flag!

We chose people who are close to us and we can entrust Lil B with them. People who will definitely be a 2nd parent and will teach good values to Lil B. We listed 6 Ninongs and 8 Ninangs.

Souvenirs and Giveaways

I took a little bit longer figuring out these. I was constantly checking Shopee and Facebook for souvenir and giveaway suggestions. Until I found the cheapest one I can find.

I bought customized mugs from Shopee for 89 pesos each and these are for the god parents.

alcopen for 12 pesos each

I prepared a loot bag for kids/teens and alcopen for guests. I bought all of these from Shopee too.

Cake

I actually ended up asking one baker if she can make a 2 themed cake, one that we can eat for her Christening day and the other half is for her birthday.

The cake costs 1600 including 12pcs of cupcakes. The Mobile Legends them was for her birthday celebration.

Venue

At home, we were actually worried that the guests may not have enough space at home but we were kind of a bit tight on the budget so I asked my father to arrange a little bit of space on his halamanan (garden) so that we can have enough space fo the guests.

Invitations, gift tags

I asked my younger sister to make an invitation and gift tags. She's the one who has the skills to edit pictures.

Cute isn't it? hihi.

And that's how we or I prepared for her birthday. Hahahaha, char! My husband is working in the province so I have no option but to do the work. He's happy about it too, I can't really believe that my husband appreciates what I do for Lil B. I know that he really wants to help on the preparation, that's why I did my best so he won't have to worry about it anymore.

Shopee really did come in handy. Salamat Shopee truly!

5
$ 1.73
$ 1.67 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @keeneek
$ 0.02 from @Khing14
+ 1
Sponsors of Micontingsabit
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Cute ng preparation very hands on ka sis kaya naming maganda any baptism at birthday ni lil B. 😊 even souvenir and the edit cute.

Totoo yun sis sabi ng iba na kapag hindi pa Baptist is bawal talaga igala sa malalayo. 😁

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks momsh, nagdiy na lang dn para may magawa dn akong wala sa routine hihi

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Say hello to Christian world lil b, happy christening baby😊

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Happy 3in1 plus 1, happy kaarawaaaan hahahah charot

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Welcome to the Christian world, Lil B!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you sis!!! Pwede na sya magwalwal.. sa melk char!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Gusto ko yung "they can change their religion if they want" It entails real freedom of religion. Minsan kasi most people profess that they need freedom of religion peru pinipilit nila ang mga anak nila na maniwala sa bagay na pinaniniwalaan nila. And were kids choose other religion sasabihin suwail na anak. Hahahha ewan ba.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yan dn pananaw ko kasi yung iba can't walk the talk eh. Yung iba naman feeling nila nacocompensate ng pagsisimba ang mga di magagandang ugali. Tska religion should not be argued, dapat isinasabuhay hihi

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Parents are models so, be good to your offsprings ☺️😊

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Happy Christening to your lovely daughter. May God bless and protect her all life. Great preparation and amazing shots. Have a great time.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks! The pictures where taken by her godparents.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tounge twister pa din saken ang name ng baby mo sis..hehehe..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Kapag may nakita kang ganitong name, tandaan mo ang sarsa HAHAHAHA. Sur shuh, sharsharap hahahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ahh..sige sige..hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago