Over protection!

21 32
Avatar for Mhizutty
2 years ago

Have you ever seen an over protective parent before? They are the most paranoid people I have ever met in my entire life because with every situation that they think about, their head goes to the worst places there can be.

I really don't know how a person can just take the most minute scenario and make a very huge mountain out of it in the name of fear.

I can understand that these parents have probably been through alot that I cannot begin to mention but is that enough reason to hinder their kids from living their best life, a free life?

The lead image shows a mother who is wrapping her child with extra material just because she is scared that her child will get injured when he plays. The look on the child's face tells us that he has had enough but the mother is just getting started.

Parents who are overprotective seem to think that it's the only way they can show love to and protect their kids but frankly, I think they do more harm than good and the kids are the ones who get to suffer it all in the end.

Most kids are not even allowed out of their homes except they will be supervised. Nothing like extra curricular activities or playing and the likes. All this because their parents are trying to protect them from the destruction in the outside world.

They seem to have forgotten that destruction also lies within and trust kids to always come up with new ways to learn things plus the every present social media who makes things all too easy.

Parents being to over protective always leads to development of the wrong attitude in these kids, as they would rather sneak off to a party, ditch class or school in total to go have fun because their parents would not allow them on a normal day.

I was a victim of over protection during my younger days and it wasn't funny at all, cos my mom wouldn't let us so much as go outside to play. I only had the option of playing with my sister indoors or not playing at all.

It got worse when I became a teenager because I wanted to hang out with friends but that wasn't happening either cos my life was pretty much a triangle, church, school and my house.

My first year in uni was very hard on me cos I wasn't used to the whole people thing and I couldn't even look at people in their eyes to talk nor was I comfortable walking into a class that was already full with people. I used to make sure I came to school very early so that I didn't have to walk into a full class.

It took me years to adjust because it was a life I was now used to. I always tell myself that I was lucky enough to have had close friends already in school who checked up on me often and taught me the basics, else I would have been an easy target for whatsoever you can think of.

Over protective kids are like a bird that has never flown out of its cage and with the slightest opportunity it gets to fly, it wants to fly to the end of the world.

If you ask me, over protectiveness is not the way to go at all because there are other ways it can be handled.

Lead image source..

Author's Epilogue

Sometimes when I think about it, I still feel like I missed alot in my growing days and sometimes I feel like I missed nothing at all.

I may be handling mine well, at least I like to think so but that doesn't mean someone else is. Therefore, I say no to over protectiveness.

Thanks for reading!

Mhizutty the voice of truth 🎡🎢🎡

14
$ 2.26
$ 1.92 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Kushyzee
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 11
Sponsors of Mhizutty
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Mhizutty
2 years ago

Comments

Indeed, parents should know their limits on protecting their child as sometimes it causes harm to them. it also took away their freedom and self-esteem as they don't used to get exposed. However I know that parents are just concerned with their children's safety but they should also trust their children's as they also need to grow and learn from their own to grow independent

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's very true that over protected kids show signs if low self esteem..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wanted asking if people still practice this then I remembered my friend's mom, she will always call to know where the daughter was, and if she doesn't pick, my phone will be her next target.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Always wanting to be aware of her child's whereabouts as if she is a kid.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is never good to be overprotective. Children cannot develop to their full potential when parents try to "control" them instead of encouraging them to "spread their wings and fly" so to speak.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly! The child would feel boxed and even scared to do anything.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can understand why some parents are overprotective, they don't want anything to happen to their children but they have to realise they are doing more harm than good, they are not giving their kids freedom to grow. Kids need to make mistake and experience things about life on their own, coz their parents aren't going to be around to protect them

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You've said it all, parents would always leave their kids someday that's why they should let them experience life on their own so they can get the full picture.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now look at you.Learnt how to fly already eh. Can walk into a double-full class majestically eh?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm now here for the violence ooo..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These kinds of parents think they are doing the best thing for their kids. But they produce the opposite effect of what they want for the kid. The child may grow over-dependent on his parents, and may not participate effectively in the outsideworld without them.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Imagine a child growing too attached and extremely dependent on parents who will not always be around...just problem!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The way parents protect their children from various problems is often the main thing even though a child will be depressed by their actions but we also have to understand that their hearts always want to make their child to be in a good situation.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We know they want the best for their kids, but I believe there are better ways things can be done.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parents knows it's their responsibility to protect. They feel they have seen it all and they can spot things from miles away but if they hold on too tight they might lose that child because no one likes being choked. I believe there are better ways they can protect a child without overly doing it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

No one likes being choked indeed. It would get to a point that they would seek freedom and when they are gone, definitely no turning back.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's the fear. Once they are gone, they have lost that child... Forever. Balance is important.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Overprotective parents have perks too. However, when it is too much it will become worst and nightmare of a child. Parents have to trust their children as well.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Parents need to just teach their kids the right rules about life and let them do their thing. They should support and guide and not over protect.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank God we have an opportunity to learn from our parents' treatment.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True, we should l arm so we don't make the mistakes they made.

$ 0.00
2 years ago