Not everyone is evil!

19 41
Avatar for Mhizutty
1 year ago

So I got stuck outside due to heavy downpour today. It rained so heavily that if I had not hid, I would have floated to an unknown destination and people would have probably thought I was a big bird roaming around the sky, not knowing it was a human being carried by the wind. This explains how heavily the rain was and how strong the wind was that followed it. The wind kept drawing patterns upon patterns with the rain as it fell on.

Multiple attempts to book a ride from my bolt app proved abortive as none of the cars were available at the moment, So i had to hide in a somewhat shed which although I was grateful for but then I just wished it was well protected from the rain which entered from time to time.

As cars were passing by, it reminded me of an encounter I once had while I was still in secondary school. It was a similar one with this one only that it was worse cos the rain lasted for hours and there were no buses available and I didn't even know that one could order an Uber then.

Being quite young and innocent, I decided to beg one of the cars I saw going to my direction for a lift. I was rejected by many and others didn't even bother to answer me. Most just listened to me and sped off as if what I spoke wasn't English. Angrily I made a promise to myself that I would definitely buy a car someday.

Fortunately for me, a bus driver came along and although the bus was full, he allowed me in and I sat somewhere on the engine, popularly called "attachment" in my country Nigeria. The seat was hot and my buttocks felt the heat. The only good thing was that I was totally soaked so it kind of spread heat all through my body and made me warm.

I got home soaked and cold from the rain and my mom attended to me. After changing my clothes, I asked her why people were so reluctant to help me and she said they were just being careful for their safety because people are evil. She said there have been many stories of people who helped others like myself and ended up loosing their lives mysteriously.

I was shocked and puzzled but I made sense of what she said but then I told her when I got my car in the future I would help others, especially youngsters like myself. She laughed and said when I grow up I would do same as the people who ignored me.

Right now that I consider all that she said to me again, I see why all of that happened and it makes more sense. I then understood why nobody wanted to help because it is man's nature to take advantage of people's kindness and even worse of make them regret it.

But what keeps baffling me is that everyone is and cannot be like that but it's like nobody cares to look out for the needle in haystack cos the haystack is much and everywhere, so the needle can't be seen.

The world, and I will specifically say Nigeria cos that's where I live is now scared of doing good cos of the stories that we hear daily. We can't give beggars money for fear of the unknown, neither can we help someone out for fear that they may be something else. Even the people you want to help will not enter your car if you just pull up and say you want to give them a lift for fear of being kidnapped or used for rituals or more.

It's just so sad the way things have gone so bad and my fear is that probably in the future we would not greet our neighbors anymore for fear of something worse.

I don't have a car yet but I will soon, and I know I'll help as many people I can, just like the bus driver who once helped me. Will you?

Everyone cannot be evil. Let's all try to keep an open mind at least. This is not to say that we shouldn't be careful. Truth is, we cannot be careful enough as things may still go bad regardless so try and help out while you can. It's better to die doing what's right than otherwise.

One of my favorite quotes that I don't know who said is " most of the privileges, talents, gifts or opportunities that you have are not for you, but so you can help others and show them the light"

Lead image source..

Author's Epilogue

I just wish that I was indoors and in my bed all covered up and cuddling while it was raining. I know I would have had a good sleep. Instead, I was being drenched and brutalized by the cold wind which assulted me without mercy.

I just got in a few mins ago and this article was the first thing I did cos I know I would sleep off and then forget to write.

Thanks for reading dearies...

Mhizutty the voice of truth 🎵🎶🎶

12
$ 1.63
$ 1.32 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @Ellawrites
$ 0.03 from @FarmGirl
+ 9
Sponsors of Mhizutty
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Mhizutty
1 year ago

Comments

Sorry about the rain dear friend, hope you're not feeling too cold?, You're right dear, so many people find it difficult to actually help others because of fear of the unknown, people even find it difficult to also accept help from others too.

It is well dear, I hope things get better and just like you said: "we should still try to help others if we can." But I'm scared, like totally scared of helping all beggars... It's easier for me to help someone I know, than helping a stranger, especially not a beggar. It's so difficult, I always feel my kindness would be used against me.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I totally understand your position. But I guess your concerns are very real.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I once read a story about two friends that were traveling and on their way, they saw another guy that was stranded and needed a ride, on their goodwill they offered to help him, not up to 30 minutes he stopped on the way and told them that it is where he was going, so the two friends continue their journey and they saw police checkpoint on the way, the policemen started searching the car as if they kept something there, they searched for more than 20 minutes, they were focused on the back seat, after much search and they found nothing, they decided to let them go, when they got far from the police they started asking themselves why Will the police start checking their cars as they were informed about something, so they decided to check the back seat themselves and they found a gun there, it was the person they helped on the way that kept it so the police can see it and collect money from them or they will be arrested for firearm possession, unfortunately for them, God doesn't sleep. Be careful when offering help.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's just outrightly cruel. Thank God for delivering those guys

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly, not everyone is doing Evil things, but somehow we also can't blame others why they don't help as we don't know maybe they already have experience bad things after lending Theo hands to people who needs help. But despite how cruel this life was we should also consider helping each other.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly my point. We can't just give up on the world, bcos of the bad ones

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your mom is quite right. We humans want our safety more than anything else and that probably why most people are adamant to give a lift to someone they don't know. There were cases where a car helped a woman begging for a lift only to get held up or something because the woman they intended to help was used by a gang or something. Can't blame people though.

But yes, not everyone can do evil things.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I can understand sometimes. Some people just want to prioritize their safety

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You saying that you could have been carried by the wind will sound like a joke to most people but I am just laughing coz I know that can actually happen 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You nor well

$ 0.00
1 year ago

everyone has their own way and character sometimes some people judge from the way they do it but not at the core of the goal.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I don't really blame them though

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah in our society everyone is beautiful. They just look up their own self that's why we often called them as selfish and other bad stuffs.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

This is why I've always said that not everyone out there has an evil mind. Some people are still good people while some people are evil. Despite the fact that there are many evil people out there, you'll still find good people. I'm glad you helped the person

$ 0.02
1 year ago

The problem is how to identify the hood from the bad

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is the type of question that I often ask myself. Whether I would help someone in such a condition or not? Obviously you can’t trust a stranger but again not every stranger is evil. Someone might truly need help just like you did.. but how would I recognise who is good and who is evil. Maybe I will just close my eyes and with a pure intention and trust in God, I will help the stranger

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I guess trusting in God works

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, that’s what works the most for me

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wetin you wan cuddle for your bed?🌚

The very fact that you'd be careful is why you won't help everyone. People wicked o, no go try o.

$ 0.00
1 year ago