A Little Kindness

6 24
Avatar for Mhizutty
1 year ago

Finally, after eight long months! The powers that be in the Nigeria tertiary institution system have decided that students ought to do their studying in class and not in their father's house. ASUU has called of their strike and the management of my university deemed if fit for us to resume activities today.

I really don't know what I was expecting them or the whole affair, but sitter Ng here, assessing the whole day, I think it was overly underwhelming. Despite the resumption of academic activities, my class didn't need to be in school as all we had left to do was prepare our industrial training report, a task that didn't require our presence in school. But, like always, a lecturer needed to flex his muscle for the sake of his undue and overly inflated ego, imposing on us to be in school today.

I thought about defying him altogether, but just for my mum's sake, I just went. You would think I would be at least happy to see my other course mates, but what I got was a reminder of the most common human trait; a good old dose of selfishness and using people for one's own gain at any cost. I really don't know what people are turning into these days.

I don't expect everyone to be mother Theresa, but at the very least, can we just show a little consideration for other people's feeling?? Imagine people that didn't bother to check on me once over a period of 8+months coming today to ask me to give them materials for their report; which is an inadvertent way of asking me to pass them my report, so they can literally copy it and spin it, then submit it as theirs.

These kind of things makes you wonder what it means to be friends with people. Because when the people you call your own only remember you when they need to use you for their own gain, then I don't think I want to have friends at all. A little kindness is enough for anyone to see how this is really wrong, but I guess there's so very little kindness left in the world.

With the killings and inhuman behavior, I guess it says it all that the quest for self has vaporized the love that mankind was supposed to have for each other. What's worse is that we all claim to be kind and love others but frankly, there are only few that practice this. Are you one of them?

Author's Epilogue

I don't know if I can take any positivity from the day, except I am alive, healthy and fed, however stressed to my marrow, but I guess tomorrow will bring with it more kindness and maybe a little love. A girl can hope. I'm going to try and get some seriously needed rest and sleep.

Mhizutty the voice of truth 🎡🎢🎡

8
$ 0.31
$ 0.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Ruffa
$ 0.01 from @GarrethGrey07
+ 2
Sponsors of Mhizutty
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Mhizutty
1 year ago

Comments

We have to live with it i guess, that not all people are kind , some are users and some are like a leech it would suck your blood and go away if they full. Anyway , hope you'll get better in the coming days , cheer up honey! I still believe though that there are still some that is real and kind.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The kindness and consideration must be applied in humans too. Sometimes there are people who walked near to us only because they need something from us my friend. I am so much relate.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A little act of kindness and consideration make this world a little better to live in. I hope the following days will be better for you. Sending love and hope from PH β™₯️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A little bit of consideration is everyone's wants, but for somehow people only remember us when they need us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think everybody is waiting for everybody to check on them. But we must take that risk of reaching out to people.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Finally we are back to school... school today was stressful I hope we cope, during the strike most friends didn't called even when we tried to, it was as if the friendship is just for school purposes

$ 0.00
1 year ago