Pluviophile Before, Pluviophobic Today

26 51
Avatar for MegaKyodaiBanrai
2 years ago

We have a stormy weather today due to a typhoon and it's a very dangerous situation to be outside. I can hear the ear-splitting thunders and high speed winds howling like it's a ghost trying to boo us during the day. Some of the trees, plants, and light structures outside are ripped already. We have a cover in the balcony used to shield against the strong winds and rain but it got destroyed so quickly. Our poor cattos need to be evacuated inside and shelter them. Combine it with strong rainfall and you've got a deadly natural force that covers the vast majority of the land, that can last for a few hours up to several days.

Sponsors of MegaKyodaiBanrai
empty
empty
empty
The view from my window today, obscured by the mist and rain droplets

Exciting Rainy Days

This situation reminded me of my childhood (around 5-10 years old) when I really loved seeing the rain and play with it. We're still living in the dark and cramped alleyways where rain doesn't have room to enter due to the overlapping roofs. Every time I hear on the local news and radio that there's going to be rain or typhoons coming, I feel excited. It's like celebrating an occasion that I anticipate a lot.

During those rainy days, I am just watching the droplets and mist and I have some contraptions made to collect the water from the rain. It consists of several plastic bags or containers that are shaped like a trench which is efficient at collecting and moving rainwater. And I am happy because our roof is pouring so much water like waterfalls during a heavy rain which I took advantage of to collect more water and bathe with it.

My mom and aunt noticed that I liked playing with rain and scolded me, saying that it can cause illness like colds and fever. They prohibited me to go outside and tried to add a collecting trench in the roof that will collect the waterfalls that I highly enjoy.

As I grew up I noticed that I slowly lose interest in playing with the rain and realized how weird I am. Instead, I played with videogames, especially when classes are suspended. Yes!

Doom and Gloom Within the Storm Clouds

When I reached high school, I noticed that rainy days are really bothersome, even for a few minutes especially during the entry and exit of school and break times, though we all love it when classes are suspended. As college days came in, the suspended classes are pretty rare anymore and the local government or schools would declare suspension only for grade school and high school. As if college students are waterproof!

There was an experience of mine that I have to prepare for a quiz that day and the heavy rains drenched me before the class started. The feeling of cold and wet during exams is not great and distracting.

In my case, I don't like it when a sudden brownout happens or a long blackout occurs especially that we need the Internet to deal with daily tasks and transactions. It also gives me a mood that will affect my productivity like a nap taking 3 hours or more, or not being in the mood to do important matters and relying on relaxing activities to cope with it.

Lasting Impact and Damages

I wish that the current typhoon rampaging in our place would quickly stop as it has dealt some damage to high prone areas already. Our country is facing at least 20 typhoons a year or 2-3 per month.

Millions to billions worth of damage to structures and displacement to people is quite depressing and it will take months for some to recover. There are areas that get flash floods within 10 minutes of decent rainfall and mountains have landslides. Some crops die due to excessive water or uprooted by the winds. Over the past decade, it took several repairs to our house as leaks from gutters and roof appeared. Currently, we need to repair again after this storm ends and the last time we conducted a general fix was 5 months ago. What we fear is that when rainwater goes into some of the electric linings at home.

We had an event before that our light bulb melted into liquid glass as the water caused it to short circuit. It happened directly to our dining table as we're about to eat dinner. After minutes of taking a bite from food, a bright spark from the bulb happened and we were frightened, quickly leaving the table. Thankfully no one was hurt and it was fixed quickly. Overall, dealing with heavy rains and storms is not fun and with heavy consequences, sometime leading to unforgettable traumatic experiences.

Are you a pluviophile or ombrophobic? How's the weather in your place today? Please stay safe at home if you are experiencing the same weather as I do.

Thanks for reading and see you in the next one!

[#16] Published September 8, 2021

16
$ 6.47
$ 6.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @TengoLoTodo
+ 9
Sponsors of MegaKyodaiBanrai
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MegaKyodaiBanrai
2 years ago

Comments

Though I love rain too when I was very young. I would go outside to play under it and then, we don't know that it may affect us and our health. Right now, I don't think I can do that again. Lol Typhoons are really dangerous and one need to be careful especially when there is thunder or it's about to rain so it doesn't affect us.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It rained yesterday but not so hard as I want it to be. The weather now is sunny day, so hot. It makes me restless. Glad that no one was hurt of that light incident.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

And now, the heat today is insane. Maybe because of the humidity from the drying rainwater.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uhm,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here from time to time, there are storms, and major floods occur. But 20 typhoons are too many, uf. I hope this last one doesn't cause too much damage. And thank God nothing happened to regret in your house with the incident of the light bulb. Keep safe!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We are expecting that another one will come in the next week, probably a super typhoon based on weather news. Hopefully it will change direction.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let's hope it changes direction. Keep safe!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is no good weather in my country either. The storms have brought many floods. The river that flows through the city broke its banks and washed away many farmers' belongings. It took many lives of people on the slopes of the river. And there are still many dannified people.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Keep safe kuya Bryan, I don't mind the rain especially if it only rains at night. It keeps the land watered and green, although we as humans are causing far too many hurricanes and typhoons na

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true kuya Ed, even places that are not supposed to get extreme weather is being affected.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope the rain stopped in your place and you are safe too. I like the rain but not so much. Take care!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Speaking of, a typhoon is currently destructing the northern part of the Philippines.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When it rains u remember a boy I'm seeing in a road. He was homeless and hopeless, he is bugging himself. I can't do anything for I'm just a mere elementary students that time, but it always bugs me every time

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi! Today here it is sunny, I have learn to appreciate rain when I lived in UK ahahah I loved going outside for a walk under the rain

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think we all once fell inlove with the rain during childhood, but as we mature we are more concerned with our surroundings. I remember, I'm also one of the student who prayed for a class suspension during typhoon. 😂 But as I grow old, everytime there is a typhoon I feel sad for people that are living near the river and such. I love making arts of rain, and I sometimes love rain too but I do not considered myself a pluviophile. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm a lover of rain, it calms my mind. Every raindrop is music to my ear. But sometimes heavy rain gives me heavy feelings. Keep safe always ❣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Be careful let us pray that nothing bad would happen in this stormy weather your in.The weather here is okay I guess it just a bit rainy but not really storming here just like yours so you have to be more careful. be safe.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

dear MegaKyodaiBanrai.. you must know one thing that your article created the exact image of the situation.. in the places i have been i have never faced something like Cyclone or tsunami.. yes.. rain do turn out to be a bit fierceful..but my dear .. we enjoy each and every moment with some savory.. 'i am telling you that you are good content writer.. Damages due to rain...in my area are not as such ....i do not remember that they created some damage to property...... except the one when a tree fell over the building...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Please be careful of short circuits... do not ignore them and bring an electrician to solve the issues.. I hope you all are safe during this typhoon periods

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We're glad it all stopped this afternoon and there's some winds left. We are glad that our neighbor is a carpenter he knows how to fix most of the stuff at home.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh that's fantastic, Thinking about you guys <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The floodwater reached almost knee level in our house. Thank God everyone was safe except the animals. Roads and dikes were damaged too

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I hope the water and rain subsides by now, and I feel bad to those poor animals . It just stopped raining here after I published this one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pluviophile here! The sound of rain is very serene to me.. very calming as well. Pero lately ayoko na pag umuulan. Tinadtad kasi kami ng mga reports ng mga pabayang pet owners na hinahayaang nababasa mga pets nila na akala ata nila walang pakiramdam mga alaga nila. Nastress ako nun thinking about those pets.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kaya nga po e, meron ung iba na talagang nabasa na ang alaga pero pinabayaan lang. Sila kaya ang pabayaan sa labas.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sobra akala ata sa alaga nila stuff toys

$ 0.00
2 years ago