Fantasy in my dreams (finale)

5 28
Avatar for McYusuf
2 years ago
Topics: Fantasy, World, Fiction, Nigeria, Reality, ...

If you haven’t read the first three parts then you should do that. Click the links to enjoy

Sponsors of McYusuf
empty
empty
empty

It has been said that the water one would drink would never pass us by. I had dreams but how would I accomplish them? Maybe it’s best for them to just fade away and I never remember any of them again

On the 10 July 2010. A day I can never forget. It indeed became a remarkable day of my life.

As usual, I was on my way home stressed from the hustle of the day. Despite the fact that I woke up early to work, I was still unable to sell all my goods. But the little I sold should be sufficient for the day. I got home so tired and was about to eat the meal I bought from a local restaurant. At least once a while I should create happiness for myself.


I heard footsteps approaching the entrance, immediately I packed all my stuff and ran to the corner of the staircase where I stay and peered at whoever approached the building. Most times they are people who come to ease themselves. And at times the presence of some smokers. I thought it would have been them as usual.

But from their conversation, I could sense something different. But I never can guess who it could have been. Some moments after they entered the building I saw the head of the community and a lady. I remembered when I went to meet him to take permission before using the building. He gave me a go-ahead, so I was less bothered.

He told the lady beside him “there is a boy who passes over here, I gave him a go-ahead to make use of the building.” She replied and said, “where is he?”

He said, “ Maybe he’s gone out for work and not back home yet”. She asked him if I was the one who maintained the surroundings where their father was buried? Yes, it’s his doing! He responded.

Then he must be some kind of hardworking guy. (He took her to the backyard and showed her the surroundings). Before they could get back inside, I already came out of my hiding and acted like I was just coming back from the street.

Good evening sir! Good evening ma! I greeted both of them and was about to make my way back to the staircase before she called me back to ask what my name was.

Yusuf, My name is Yusuf ma! What a beautiful name! She replied.

This led to further questions from her, she asked to know more about my background and why I was living such a life?. She asked about my future ambitions even if I had any. I was surprised to have heard all these questions from her. I narrated every story to her from the beginning to my present state right in front of her. She felt so sorry, I could see it on her face. She almost cried but she wiped it off with the small handkerchief from her bag.

She said, I have talked to the community chief and we discussed a lot about this building. There would be construction on the building soon. I felt sad. Then she continued, so you might have to vacate this place and get to somewhere safer. She told me she wasn’t from Nigeria, she would have taken me along to her home. But she lodged at a hotel pending the time of her return.

She gave me a brown envelope and told me to manage myself, get myself an apartment, and told me to get back to school.

I told her I have no means of sustaining myself if I am to return back to school. She smiled and said. “I would take over from here on, whenever you are in need of anything just give me a call” I laid flat on the floor in gratitude to her. I was so happy and overwhelmed by her generosity.

She was about to leave and waved goodbye to me.

She was like a God-sent angel. I couldn’t believe I would ever encounter such a person like her ever in my life. After she left, I opened the envelope and it was filled with dollars. I couldn’t count as much. I was scared that something bad might happen to me, or I might get attacked. Maybe someone might have been watching us. I went to the bank immediately and created an account for myself then I exchanged the dollars for naira. It was a huge amount.

I got myself a new apartment, furnished it, got some new sets of clothes, and a cell phone. I called her to appreciate what she had done but she didn’t pick it up. I was so happy. I decided to forward her a message to thank her.

It's time to resume again after the vacation. I enrolled myself at my former school and continued my journey.

Years passed by, my dream to become a medical doctor finally came to reality. I studied hard and made sure I came out of the university a certified medical student 👨‍🎓.

I sent her a message expressing how grateful and indebted I am to her. I was so happy!

Few minutes after she replied to my message saying;

“Congratulations to you my boy! I have been working on your visa to the United States so you can work here as a medical doctor.”

Happiness upon happiness. Who would have believed my life would change for the better. Today is all we know, no one knows tomorrow.

IT IS NOT GOODBYE BUT SEE YOU AGAIN 👋👋👋

Header image edited on canva application.

1
$ 0.21
$ 0.06 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @PatsKy8135
+ 1
Sponsors of McYusuf
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for McYusuf
2 years ago
Topics: Fantasy, World, Fiction, Nigeria, Reality, ...

Comments

That's a beautiful story. In real life too, there are good people who become angels to those who deserve help.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That’s right ma’am. Thanks you for your support ma. I really appreciate

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Have you checked your article?/you doubled copied it..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ooooh. I would correct that now Thanks ma’am

$ 0.00
2 years ago