Fantasy in my dreams

17 34
Avatar for McYusuf
2 years ago

Header image from pixabay and edited on canva app


It’s so hard to sleep at night, I can’t sleep! I would always have to be watchful of my surroundings, my luggage, and the little business I do for survival because once that’s gone, then I don’t think I have any hope for the future, or maybe the future is not even for me, who knows?

Not only being vigilant while sleeping at night just because of my belongings and my surroundings but mainly because of the thoughts that come to mind every time I remember how my parents left the world.

My dad wasn’t rich, but one thing he makes sure we never lack is happiness, he taught me to know the fact that money isn’t happiness but just a factor of happiness, happiness comes from the heart. I believed in his words so much as a father and would always work towards his sayings.

Mum was a petty trader, she never got a stable product for sale, she might have to sell foodstuff this year, and in the year to come she would have changed to trading clothes since there is no much profit from food selling. Mum never wants to see me lack anything, so she would always give her best to make sure I get all I need.

It was her father’s burial ceremony, she had no choice but to leave for the gathering where most of her family members would attend. She left with dad and I was told to stay at our neighbor's house pending their arrival. I think I preferred to stay home alone than to go there, but Mum won’t understand. They would always treat me like a slave who is there to work for them, I would get threatened not to utter a word when mum comes to pick me up, they would smile on her face but I would be the one suffering the consequences.

On this day, Mum and dad traveled as early as possible, the journey from Lagos to our hometown would last at least 10 hours boarding a faster bus but at times it takes more. I felt it inside of me, but I never understood anything.

I held mum's hands back before she left but she hugged me and gave me a kiss on the cheek “don’t worry boy, we will be back soon” it’s already nightfall but we are yet to receive a message or call of their arrival. I was bothered

At midnight we got a strange call “Hello!, this is General hospital Ikobi, a patient from a fatal accident requested we call your number, please it would be better if you could show up at our health center immediately”. Our neighbor never told me anything but I knew something terrible had happened. They took me along to the hospital. When we got there I saw Mum lying on the sickbay helpless and wasn’t attended to. All I could see was a drip in her hands while she kept turning side by side in severe pain. I didn't know what to do, tears dripped down my face, mum could not recognize my presence anymore. Her face was full of blood and her body got a lot of cuts and some bone dislocation. Why on earth could this happen? I looked around the hospital. Maybe I would see dad but no one looked like him. I held my neighbor's hand and asked them, ``Where is dad?” They looked me in the eyes and said, “your dad is no more!”

I could feel it in their words that they never cared, they were less concerned, they told me they have to go, they have something important to attend to.

I cried after them but they left me and drove their way home. Little me could offer Mum no help, I went to the hospital consultation room and asked for help, but the nurses were looking at me like a kitten who lost its way. They told me they can’t do anything about it unless there is money.

I went back to the room to see if mum had gained herself back but mum was no more. I held her hands and placed my head on her tummy and cried silently…

“Mum, why would you leave me alone in this strange world!!!”

To be continued…

This is completely FICTIONAL…

Today’s is another beautiful Friday on the earth's surface as we are prepared for another blessed weekend to come.

It is so much fun to have people out there to put something on the platform, readers and writers surely made the platform a beautiful place to stay.

Thank you all

IT IS NOT GOODBYE BUT SEE YOU AGAIN 👋👋👋

5
$ 0.39
$ 0.10 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 5
Sponsors of McYusuf
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for McYusuf
2 years ago

Comments

And there you go.. I know now the beginning of the story

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Continue writing fictional stories and I was happy with the imagination you have, plus you wrote about them. Sometimes the situation you mentioned above is happening in the real world. People must understand the art of helping others.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's just sad. It's a cruel world we live in but such is the reality. While that is fiction, it does happen in real life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right friend It happens. People are in need of help they couldn’t make it through.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Let's make it a point to be the help that others need.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You got me thinking it was real - your experience. I was relieved at the end. Looking forward to the next episode.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks so much for reading through.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome sir

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was glad to read it was fiction! Oh my, that got me huh! Waiting for the continuation...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Smile 😊 No problem ma’am. Thanks so much for reading 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha! You're welcome :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let me reserve my comment for now until i read the concluding part

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤭🤭🤭🤭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am about to conclude if it is real not until I read to the end 😅😅😅😅 Don't mind my thought. This is so sad and poor for the boy. I hope the mother makes it even though the dad is dead.

The neighbor didn't act as if they cared at all. So bad for them

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Still following your tracks 😂 Don’t think it was me please 😹😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fictional? Men, you got me shaking feeling for the small boy in the picture. This is so tragic.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehe. Sorry it had to come that way 😹😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago