Do you believe in superstitions?

Avatar for McYusuf
2 years ago

Superstition

Hi everyone. Today is Friday again 😁. It is so amazing to see how time flies so fast. The weekend is upon us again.


It is time to take some rest with family and friends again. I read an article (My idea of a fun weekend) by @Eylz2021 about how she spent her weekends before the pandemic, how joyous it was to go out with her friends and tour places. Yeah, it was great that she later concluded in her article that the pandemic had changed lots of things for them. Going out turned to making video calls and sending goodies to each other.

One thing I cherished was when she said she realized that even spending her time and her weekends at home with family is even more fun and joyous than those moments she spent with friends. There is always this unconditional love you get from your family that cannot be found elsewhere.

I hope to get home soon and spend some time with my family again. It has been more than a month now πŸ˜ƒ. I miss them 😭 🀣

Should I say we have been brainwashed about some things while we were much younger. It's so easy to get scared and we believe things so easily since we don’t know much and we consider the elderly ones to have gathered more experience than we do.

Superstition means a widely held but irrational belief in supernatural influences, especially as leading to good or bad luck, or a practice based on such a belief.

Oxfords dictionary

Some superstitious believes I encountered

The broomstick

Gone are the days. There was a day at school while we were on the assembly ground for morning devotion as usual. We finished the assembly late this very day.

We were about to go to our classes when the teacher said "everyone wait" then we wondered what could have caused the sudden stop. Not long after we saw Amina coming in through the school gate.

She had been a regular latecomer. The master in charge said; β€œI would take her as an example to those of you that always see it good to come late to school”. He called her to the podium to give her some strokes of the cane. While she received the third stroke, Amina fell on her knee and straight to the floor.

She had fainted!! Everyone shouted. Some girls rushed to get water and poured it all over her. The school nurse and the health prefect took to their responsibilities and made sure she was taken to get some first aid before she was taken to the clinic.

After Amina was taken to the clinic, we entered our classes. She became the gist of the day in all classes, then someone told us that she knew what Amina did to have fainted like that in front of the assembly ground. We were eager to hear her out.

She said, if you get a broomstick and divide it into seven parts then you put it in your armpit if any teacher beats you then you would faint as she did. 🀣🀣🀣.

Most of us believed her, including me. Then a week after I was among the late comers since I knew I would receive some strokes of cane I had got a broomstick from home. On getting to the school gate I broke it into seven parts and put it in my armpit as she told us. Today is my day, I thought. 🀣🀣 I would not even wake up as Amina did.

I entered the school gate with my little charm on me. Then the teacher in charge told me to receive some strokes of the cane for coming late. With boldness, I stretched my arms and he gave me 6 hot strokes of cane. I was expecting myself to faint but it didn't. Then I thought of pretending to have fainted before I realized all my broomsticks had fallen after I received the first stroke. I cried in class and told the girl she is one of the greatest liars I ever met.

Eyelashes

Every time I remember this I would always laugh and laugh 🀣 so hard. There was a day our cousin came to visit us, so mum had told us not to play and do our work before her arrival. We never heed to her words, instead, we played till she arrived.

She met us playing and decided to punish us and beat us for not listening to her. She told us to go on our knees, then when she arrived we would receive four strokes of the cane.

My cousin told us to remove our eyelashes and put a little saliva on them then put it on our heads and we should also do another one and put it at the entrance of the door so she can step on it while she enters. If she steps on it then she would forget that she wanted to beat us.

We did it as usual and were expecting mum's arrival. But when she came she didn't even enter, she called us from the outside and told us to get to our work as soon as possible ☺️. We were so happy then I told my cousin "You are either a liar or a fake herbalist”.

Throw your teeth for the lizard.

This also makes me laugh 🀣 especially when I see a kid do it. Before growing permanent teeth, the milk teeth have to be removed naturally for the permanent ones to grow. So it almost happens to everyone.

So there was this day I lost one of my teeth and I couldn't find it anymore. My brother forced me to find it because if a lizard should see it then the spot where the teeth were removed would never grow again. 🀣 I believed and made sure we find it before the lizard does.

The seven earth

I was in a conversation with a friend of mine recently, we were discussing something else entirely before the discussion led to the seven earth.

He said if we should continue to dig the earth's surface we would get to a stage where we begin to hear the voices of people living under us πŸ˜‚. Then I asked him how he knew people are living under us?.

He said; it is said that there are seven stages of the earth and people live in all seven. So after digging the first stage, then we fall to the second and continue digging till we fall to the third and continue till we get to the seventh. Lol 🀣🀣🀣.

I can't laugh.

There are a lot of superstitious beliefs we have been forced to believe at times maybe due to ignorance or lack of understanding about the concept. But later on, we realize it is something that can never even happen, or even never in existence to have happened like that.

Some of these beliefs were created to make warnings against something. Like when they say you should never sit on a mortar, pregnant women should never go out in the sun, whenever you spill your saliva on the floor always make sure to scrub it with your legs, and many more.

Have you believed in superstition?.

IT IS NOT GOODBYE BUT SEE YOU AGAIN πŸ‘‹πŸ‘‹πŸ‘‹

Header image source

12
$ 5.90
$ 5.41 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Olasquare
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 9
Sponsors of McYusuf
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for McYusuf
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

Hahaha those are funny beliefs you believed when you were young. I guess we are all naive during those years to believe what others say :D

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Absolutely right. Most of us had believed in those things to have been true. But time tells

The more we grow the more we understand

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true :) We learn as we mature :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ this is crazy. I have heard about the broomstick before but never saw anyone do it. I know about the tooth. Anytime it removed, I would count 7 stones and add it to the removed tooth...we would then throw it on the roof. Hahaha. Chai. They deceived us big time.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚. They deceived us for real and it indeed made our childhood days fun with great memories.

So you even know the amount of stones to count πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£ yes... I always throw it on the roof.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope the children of nowadays are able to enjoy those superstitious believes.

Though not all are fake. Some are to teach us lessons but they come in form of indirect lies called superstitions πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolutely...massive lies but at least, the children of these days have carried on with the one of Santa Claus.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😹😹😹😹. That’s true though

$ 0.01
2 years ago

So funny lol! Especially the broom stick, but all of these are new to me. This was fun and unique btw:D

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks for reading

It was indeed fun every time I remember πŸ˜‚

It made our childhood memories unforgettable

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I grew up with superstitious because of my late grandma. I believe in some of them though hehe.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Please can you tell me one of them?

If you won’t mind πŸ˜‚ I would be eager to hear it πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You really made me laugh bro, I think things were formed by people just for fun. I will be writing something about superstitions today, thanks for the idea.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚ can’t wait to read. Hehehehe

It really made our childhood memories filled with fun 🀩

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omg hahaha, this is so hilarious. We also had superstitious beliefs in our country (Philippines) but, I'm not really a believer though. Well, I heard of some stories but I never experienced tho 😁

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hehehe. That’s a nice to see it happens everywhere

Please if you won’t mind telling a short one ☝️ πŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, I remembered my mom doesn't allow us to sweep the floor at night for the reason that the blessings of that day will go out. Hahaha yeah it's something like that πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. That’s just so hilarious

Thanks for telling me this πŸ˜‚ just so funny πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha I know right. Until now I can't seem to find the connection between sweeping the floor at night and the blessing we received πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would have asked what would happen if we sweep during the day time? πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They said that the blessings in the house will leave. What will be left in the house are misfortune in life hahahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahahahaha πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Superstitions??? There's a lot of it bro, here in our country.. πŸ˜… Especially to the olds one in here. They believed most of it. As for me, maybe, but only few.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hehehe. If you don’t mind I would love to hear one from you. πŸ˜€

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will think about it bro. 😊 Hehe. " Hoping laziness won't mess with me." HAHAHA XD

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It’s okaay dear friend

Or maybe laziness itself is a superstition too πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. I guess so bro! XD

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚hahaha. The girls in your school are liars. Bro I can relate to most of all the superstitions you talked about sha I did some they never worked . But it was fun to believe something like that could work . Nice one I laughed so many times while reading this.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hehehe. I am the fool to have believed them πŸ˜†

Yeah it was indeed to fun to have those time and recall those memories again and again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣 that broomstick part made me laugh out loud. You should have pretended to faint na 🀣🀣🀣 Oh boy! You really crack me up with this post. I have also heard of many superstitions while we were young and only to discover we were been deceived.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Nigeria itself is a superstition on its own πŸ˜‚ come to talk of people living in it. πŸ˜‚

Glad you realized most are fake. But some of them taught us some lessons.

Thanks for reading

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are a lot of superstitious beliefs in the Philippines.. I believe in some but not all.. Unless they happen to me haha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hehehe. Please can you just tell me one of them

Just a little talk on it πŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't believe in superstition and I don't give priority. I have been taught by my family not to indulge in superstition.But seeing your point out made me smile a lot.Special Throw your teeth for the lizard this one.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚ . Good you didn’t fell for it

Though it would have just made your childhood memories more fun when you remember them again and again

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe in superstitions since growing up, my family really let me be aware of them. We have some weird superstitions too πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.03
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚ so it everywhere

If you won’t mind telling me one please πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When you sleep with your hair wet, you'll be blind. 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£.. that’s just so hilarious πŸ˜‚ lol πŸ˜‚.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's weird. I told you already 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Totally weird. πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚. At times superstitions are just so funny when we remember them

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believed the one about the lizard, we would often throw the tooth on the roof so a lizard would take it to Tooth heaven and another would grow in its place.. Lol. Kids

The one about the seventh earth is not necessarily a superstition, through there may not be 7 earth's but there are other planes in the earth surface that scientist are still trying to uncover, such is the mystery of the Bermuda Triangle.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hummn. πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚

So lizards can fly to the heaven πŸ˜‚ omo!

And the earth most times I think they get confused of the planets and think the earth is into 7 places.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Superstitions are none existing truths that teaches young people the need to be godfearing and to steer clear from habits that could be harmful. I believed in superstitions while growing up only to discover what out elders were trying to teach us.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Nothing but the fact I also discovered it was all for some lessons to be learnt.

Thanks for stopping by sir

$ 0.00
2 years ago