The Dark Side of Social Media

6 32
Avatar for Mathilde
3 years ago

Image source Unsplash

How often do you open and check your social media? Does it take a big toll in your daily life?

I bet no one can live without checking their social media at least for once, to see their friends and family updates. To become connected globally and across the world. To communicate and share some life updates with everyone. But sometimes too much of social media is harming your health. When you felt uncomfortable from what you have read or from what you have seen, it can affect your thoughts. Bullying and judgment starts in the social media. Anyone can harm the person they want to because it is so easy to hide and fight through the space between your keyboards and through the virtual screen online.

Social media has brought a lot of envy to everyone. Some flexing their good life and how stable they are in their current situation. The clothes they have brought online, the cars they have learned to drive, the mansions they have started to build, how happy they are with their relationship. Sometimes all these factors are bringing some envy and insecurities to people who often checked social media a lot in a day or someone who spends the day scrolling in social media.

Social media gives you depression

If you spend your whole day scrolling in social media, you are most likely to get depressed. People who prefer spending time outdoors are happier than people who spend more than a day in their social media. Your mental health isn't much likely to be healthier espescially when you get used of seeing toxic post from different platforms in social media and sometimes they can shape the way you think.

You wanna know why it happens? I have stated in the first paragraph of my article that it can give you envy whether you deny it or not. Sometimes comparing yourself happens once you start opening your social media and it could be because they have more than likes and appreciation rather than yours and you feel like you are less of a person compared to them.

Bullying happens in social media

Have you heard of keyboard warriors? These people tend to attack random people in social media because they are confident that they won't be hurt and they are feel free to say whatever they want to say.

Sometimes they create fake photos and account just to fool someone and it could be by asking money or giving some horrible threats to someone. Sometimes a lot of people pretend to be someone and used it as a way to ruin someone's profile or spread hoax.

Social media is full of fake news

Whether you agree or not, social media is surrounded with a lot of fake news. If you don't read and check well, the chances is you are one of the people that are fooled by many. In social media, it is so easy to spread fake news just by creating a post despite no evidence and someone or everyone might start believing then.

Sometimes it's the influential or famous people are the one responsible for spreading fake news, just because they are known by many doesn't mean everything they are sharing or saying is absolutely true.

Social media portrays false images and realization

Have you seen a lot of skinny and fit girls in social media? Huge and perky boobs taking the toll of your newsfeed? Sometimes people used this images just to body shame someone for not having the same figure. You don't really have to look like them, it doesn't mean the society adores those figures then you also have to do your best just to look like them. It will only create a borderless of insecurity.

Those are only false images and realization. Being fat is okay, as long as you are not hurting anybody then there's nothing you have to change but to love yourself for who you are. Having acne is pretty, you don't have to be clear skin just to gain people approval and remember that life is short. Having a belly fat is not bad, you are a real human and not a Barbie doll expected to have plain tummy all the time. Having underarm hairs is not dirty, humans are hairy being and there's nothing wrong with having it, it's not like you are the only one having it.

Social Media is a great instrument to get closer to your love ones but as the time passes by, it turns into something dark. Something you cannot explain and it feels like it has lose its own purpose, to communicate and spread love to the important people in your life.

7
$ 0.50
$ 0.10 from @wrabbiter
$ 0.10 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.10 from @carisdaneym2
+ 3
Avatar for Mathilde
3 years ago

Comments

Everyone shows you want to want you to see, its all an edit performance and the viewers would be obsessed trying to be like what they see, instead of being their self. But nevertheless it shows both good and bad, so we can select our preferred choice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Indeed but we cannot avoid some circumstances in social media wherein people can make you feel less or sometimes compare you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very well said. I slowly became detached myself from social media a few years back. I would only update photos of my trips or occasions for documentary and for our relatives abroad to see some updates about me and my family. But with browsing, not anymore. Out of the blue I suddenly felt that it was so toxic and it wasn't doing anything good for me so I decided not to be active.

Last year I was into watching some vloggers and then I stopped towards the end of the year. Same reasons plus I got busy. Though I am curious about the life of the vloggers that I like but I'll watch them again someday. For now, I have to think of myself first. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love your perspectives and thoughts actually when the pandemic starts, I decided to stop using social media because it is bringing me nowhere and also I'm tired seeing some constant sharedpost about people's drama and insecurities..I can't explain but it is very toxic to me and I'm glad I'm not alone in feeling this situation ♥️

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Awww. Always remember that you are not alone. I even stopped watching watching Korean dramas. It's not toxic. I just tend to focus more on other things where I can be more productive and earn at the same time. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Of course you are a very productive person! You are an aspiring successful entrepreneur with a plan for your restaurant, I would like to have business someday of my own 🙏🙏

$ 0.00
3 years ago