Study Hacks to Apply On Your Next Review Session

10 119
Avatar for Marts
Written by
3 years ago

After a week on this awesome platform, I noticed that the majority of members of the Filipino community here are students juggling their school works, family responsibilities, and personal goals. I am tempted to say that I can relate but it has been more than a decade since my last formal schooling. Though I still am a student (I am taking up a Theology course for ministry and my career goals), I believe the demands for our younger students are way too different from what I experience now and had experienced before. So I am in no position to compare.

Photo Credits: Unsplash.com

Especially when it comes to examinations! Reviewing for exams is not just exhausting, it is agonizing. Examinations are necessary hurdles we need to pass before we can proceed to the next academic level. 

Let me share some tips you may incorporate into your schedule to at least help you cope with the pressuring demands of the academe. Consider these review/study hacks: 

Have enough sleep

Sleep plays an important role in memorization and storing up valuable information. A sleep-deprived person cannot focus well and cannot function optimally. Learning becomes difficult and no matter how many books you read, your review will not that be efficient. Don't believe the lie that "sleep is for the weak". Sleep is necessary. 

Review the most difficult topics first

Tackle the most challenging subjects first, when you are most alert and more receptive to learn new ideas. This is because the most difficult topics require more time to fully comprehend. This will also help you process and retain new information more easily. Doing the opposite will tire you out early, and when it is your turn to review the most difficult subject, it will seem more overwhelming.  

Eat healthy foods

I cannot overemphasize the importance of a healthy diet in studying. Students function well and learn more when they are well-nourished and eating healthy meals has been linked to higher grades and better memory. You also become more alert and you process information faster. 

Do the Pomodoro technique

Have you heard of the Pomodoro technique? This technique uses a timer to break down your tasks into intervals. There are available apps for this technique. The concept is this: you focus on work/review, say for 50 minutes without distractions, and after 50 minutes, you take a break. Then go back to your work/review for another 50 minutes until your next 10-minute break.   

Drink water!

Keep yourself hydrated. Drinking water will help boost your mental performance and help your brain work faster. You may drink 1-2 glasses of water every time you take your 10-minute break. Don't review without hydrating yourself! It will exhaust you more. I recommend drinking plain water than carbonated drinks. 

Remove distractions while studying

Whenever you are in your review sessions, focus. Distractions waste our time and draw us away from the lesson at hand. Study distractions can either be internal or external. Internal distractions come in the form of emotional thoughts and physiological needs. External distractions include technology - social media notifications, gaming urges, phone calls, etc. As much as possible, keep your gadgets away from you whenever you study. Again, FOCUS. Get back to your gadgets during your 10-minute break.

Study in a well-lit room

Reading and studying in the dark will do damage to your eyes. Imagine if you are going to study for hours, a dim environment will not be conducive. Study where there is natural light, or in a place where you can easily read your review materials. Your eyes are valuable assets, take care of them. 

How about you? Any review/study tips you want to share? 


Hi, I am Marts! I am a writer, and aside from my stint here in read.cash, I also have my own blog - martsvalenzuela.com. I appreciate it if you pay me a visit! I plan on growing my readership as I learn to improve my craft and journey towards my passion to write and publish books that add value to people.

Let's rock!

7
$ 4.99
$ 4.74 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @carisdaneym2
$ 0.10 from @kingofreview
Sponsors of Marts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marts
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

You will get to read the strangest information of Aaj Tak on this post. An article has been written on this post on Elementary School Valentine's Day. When you click on view website then you will get to see a new page. On that page, you will get to read the review of White Orchid Slot. which may be of some use to you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Can you please make an article about Promodoro technique? But I feel like I'm against about eating healthy foods because I'm not eating such healthy foods but I can still get high grades. (hindi ako nagyayabang yung kapatid ko naman kain ng kain ng gulay, tamad lang)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehe we eat healthy foods not for the sake of grades naman, but for the sake of our health and physical body :)

Will consider that - re Pomodoro :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

These are wonderl tips not just for students but also for people who are working just like. This is very helpful to sustain a healthier life.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Glad you find these tips helpful. :) Thank you!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I really did. I find it very informative as well. Keep it up friend. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So after reading my materials and answering my activities, I go here and check my notification then it happens that I read this now 😳🤭 What I always do when I'm studying is the Pomodoro technique I really don't know that it has a name lol hahahhshs. Yeah, keep hydrated! I always say that to myself every time or else my brain won't function properly hahhahshs

As far as I know, I'm using the quote"sleep is for the weak" don't get me wrong, I just don't wanna waste my time like it's either I'm learning at this hour or I'm earning. But like what you've said having enough sleep before the exam will surely help to refresh the idea and your memory. Sleep is really important. What I hate about myself is it's hard for me to focus when I got distracted. Hahsha I'm really trying my best to be more productive and avoid procrastination.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha "sleep is for the weak" is our favorite mantra, but later in life it will turn out to be "tulog is life" hahahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I tried qr-code to upvote this article but it is not showing? Why is thaaaat? I check my transaction and it was sent successfully 🤔

$ 0.00
3 years ago