How to Bounce Back from Failure

3 33
Avatar for Marts
Written by
3 years ago

We all have our episodes of failure and defeat. Of course, we are not perfect, and there are times when we are not at our best. We get low grades in exams. We miss our goals. We fail to reach our target sales. Our efforts fall short. Life is not an endless holiday.

But life must go on. In fact, we learn more from our failures more than from our victories. John Maxwell, a world-renowned leadership guru, says "the difference between average people and achieving people is their perception of and response to failure. 

How should we respond to failure? Rather, how do we bounce back from failure? Let me offer a few ideas.

Don't think you are the only one who's failed

It is easy to compare yourself with others and look at their successes as we sulk on our failures. This is destructive. Refrain from thinking that you are the only one who has failed. Millions of people are messing up every day. What you see on social media and hear from the news are just story highlights, and for every success story, there is also a story of failure and defeat. Do yourself a favor. Don't sulk. 

Remind yourself that failure is part of the process

The sooner you accept this fact, the better. Think of your failure as a stepping stone. It brings you closer to your goal. Failing at one point is way better than not trying at all. So consider yourself wiser and stronger because of your failure. 

Record what you have learned

You will miss out on the very significance of defeat and failure if you do not learn from it. Look for patterns - where did you miss? At what point did you have it wrong? How will things be different if you choose the other option? Record your realizations for future reference. If you do not learn from your mistakes, you are bound to repeat them.   

Seek encouragement from trusted people

Sometimes, it takes a pat from the back and an encouraging message from your support system to keep things going. This is why you should have accountability friends to back you up. Seek comfort. Listen to whatever they have to say. Be encouraged and motivated again. Bounce back and let their encouragements be your fuel. If you have no accountability friends, it's high time to look for one. 

Be honest with your feelings

When we fall, we sometimes fall hard. Of course, it hurts badly, and we should be honest with ourselves. If you want to cry, do so. If you want to wail, then do. It doesn't make you less of a person when you want to be real about how you feel. I have written about the benefits of opening up through journaling. This might help. 

Take the necessary corrections and move on

As soon as you have identified your mistakes and cared for yourself and your emotions, take up your gear and do the necessary corrections. Move on. You don't have to stay on the ground. Failures are pit stops, not a destination. 

Stay focused on your objective

Failures don't define a person. It is not a life sentence. You should keep on pursuing your goals and stay focused on your objective even after a fall. Don't let your mistakes derail you from achieving your purposes. Sometimes, it might push you to make necessary adjustments but it doesn't mean you have to give up altogether. You are greater than your failures. 

I love what Michael Jordan has to say about success: 

"I’ve missed more than 9000 shots in my career. I’ve lost almost 300 games. 26 times, I’ve been trusted to take the game-winning shot and missed. I’ve failed over and over and over again in my life. And that is why I succeed." 

If you fail, there is no other way but to bounce back. Heads up, stand strong. 


Hi, I am Marts! I am a writer, and aside from my stint here in read.cash, I also have my own blog - martsvalenzuela.com. I appreciate it if you pay me a visit! I plan on growing my readership as I learn to improve my craft and journey towards my passion to write and publish books that add value to people.

Let's rock!



2
$ 1.86
$ 1.84 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Amnaaa
Sponsors of Marts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marts
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Something that stood out to me was to write down my mistakes. I'm going to try that!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes! Especially if you are fond of journaling, this activity will be very worthwhile!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

When I get a chance, I'll read your article on journaling!

$ 0.00
3 years ago