What if they don't like me?

48 50
Avatar for Marinov
2 years ago

Being in a relationship entails a lot. You will get to know your partner and his ways to see if you really fit together. If you don't do that, you might regret one day and think you must have known him/her better before going things deep between the two of you. You might fall for your partners words without knowing their core. And the next thing you knew, you are drowning and finding it hard to save yourself. Well, if you're already confident with your partner, you're so blessed and I do hope all the best for you both.

If not, better take your time to spend your time with him/her in such a way you will be able to grasp everything about him as in everything because why not? We don't want to regret in the end.

After that getting to know stage, it's time to elevate things. There will be time when your partner would ask you to attend to their family gathering. You are somewhat excited and you feel important because you matter to your partner but then you also feel worried because there might be a chance your partner's family won't like you. And that's when you will see how your partner loves you. Because if he/she does, he/she will speak up for you and would not allow the family to speak ill about you.

But there are also family who really are compassionate and truly care for you. It's not just because you are their son's/daughter's partner but because you matter and you are a part of the family. Whatever your preferences in life, they would understand and respect that. And that's the type of family I want to be in.

I am the type of girlfriend who is not so open to everyone. I prefer to talk freely to people who knows and understand me well. Currently, I'm in a relationship where I don't feel so open to my partner's parents and I have my reasons for that. I am talkative when I know the people I am talking with like to listen to me too and knows where I am coming from.

I have lived for weeks in my partner's house, I mean in his family's house because they invited me here for me not to pay the rent for a boarding house. I accepted the offer since I want to know my boyfriend well and his family as well. His family is nice but then I had this attitude of being silent when I'm with elders. Sometimes, I can't keep up with their conversation and just chose to be with my phone, browsing on Facebook and reading articles on read.cash.

I didn't know that being silent would create a negative say about me. Is being silent bad? Am I not having the right attitude just because I don't keep up with the conversation? Well, they don't say that to me frankly. It's just my instinct telling me something's not right. And my instinct was right when my boyfriend said,

You should speak more and get along with them. I don't want them to speak bad about you.

And there I realized that there's really something because why did my boyfriend said that? But then I tried to do my best again. I open myself up to them and talk more often. By the way, I am close with my boyfriend's family in some way it's just that I am not into speaking everyday because I am busy thinking and writing about my article. If I will get disturbed, all the ideas would fly away and I wouldn't be able to go back where I left. And so I chose to just stay inside the room.

Being inside the room also created a bad talk about me. I felt it too. And I was right again when my boyfriend said,

Don't just stay here all day. They said, you should go out and sit outside. Try to stroll around.

And that really made me think that what I'm doing here is not in accordance to what they're being used to. That's also the reason why I miss our home where I felt comfortable without watching my moves.

There was also one time I decided to wash the dishes. I was about to do it when suddenly, my boyfriend's mom saw me and told me not to do it. I told her it's fine with me since I was used to washing the dishes at home. But then she insisted to take over and so I just followed. Because of that, I seldom wash the dishes here because they wouldn't let me if they saw me doing it.

One time, my boyfriend's cousin, his aunt and me are talking about pregnancy. I don't know what got into her cousin's mind that she talked about my boyfriend's ex and said that that girl is industrious and always do the household chores. In my mind, I was thinking she was comparing me and her because she sounded like she is. I don't want them to feel I was affected so I just smiled.

In that moment, I realized that you cannot please everybody especially if you are the silent type of person for they might mislabeled you as strict and mean. Well, I am not that silent actually I talked too much when I'm with friends and my family. I started to stay silent when I do feel something's off. But that doesn't mean I'm not trying my best to get closer them. As of now, my boyfriend's family and I were okay. There's just really sometimes which I don't feel like I'm fine in here.

I also realized the cons of living together in one house with your partner's parents. Though we are not married, I do experienced already the feeling of living together with partner's parents. It's not always bad though, there are also good side of it. But, I do prefer to live with our own so we can do things our way without those eyes watching. I am not against those who live with parents. My preference is just different as what you had.

For these reasons, I want to ask my partner,

"What if they don't like me?"

"What if your family won't like me?"

"Would that affect our relationship?"


Thank you so much guys for reading! You've been so kind to me since day one.

Sponsors of Marinov
empty
empty
empty

Thank you so much again for your time! To my generous sponsors, upvoters and to those who comment, I am sending you my warmest gratitude! Let's talk and get to know each other well.

I want to thank @Janz and @Elyz2021 for renewing their sponsorship! I am blessed to have your trust in my works mga madam.

You can also reach me at marianovylhyn@gmail.com

Lead image is edited from Canva

Photos are taken from Unsplash.com

Ciao! ❤️

17
$ 7.34
$ 6.79 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @renren16
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 10
Sponsors of Marinov
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marinov
2 years ago

Comments

Na try to be rin tumira sa manugang ko, pero nahirapan ako kasi Hindi ako makalagrelax kung kelan ko gusto kasi baka may masabi.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Korek! Feel ko rin yan. Nasabihan na nga ako nga dapat daw hindi ako palaging nasa kwarto natutulog. Masama ba nasa kwarto lang? Kesa gumala diba. Di naman ako natutulog, nag reread.cash naman ako

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Murag dili pud ko muuyon anang ing.ana mamsh uie, pero kung ako pud, ari na laman ko puyo sa amo.a, labun ako rang usa, tas ang pag.renovate na lang sa bay ahung buhaton. Makauban pa naho ahung mga ginikanan!😉 Dili nato ipamugos atung kaugalingon sa mga tawo nga way gusto sa atu.a. Magsakit ra atung dughan..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kaajo mamshy. Well, maajo pod ng mailhan daan diba? Pero yeko ar man sila ari naa laman lge usahay naay apan. Pero most if the times, okay man pero mas nice jod ug naa tas ato di ba. Wow more blessings mamshy para sa injong bay. I hope you're okay na sa imong allergies

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mahadlok ug mauwaw gani ko didto sa ila mamshy uiest..hihi maong 2 years na jud kapin nga wa ko'y adtu.ay sa ilaha.. mura ku'g maikod hahaha..😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mao jod mem no? Murag naay gap ba hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gajud mamsh.. Lahi ra jud basta imo jud kaugalingon mga ginikanan imong makauban uie, mao bitaw na puhon ari ra jud ko's amo.a hahaha..😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Basin diay okay pod ddtoa mamsh pero nah, kasagaran man jod di magkasinabot sa in laws. Bwo pod na

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ambot mamsh uie, kadtong niadti ko kay okay man pud. Ingon baja lagi na mugawas ra ang tinuod nga batasab ug magkaminyu-minyu na.. Murag palanay pa na mamsh kay uyab pa man lagi.. Magduha-duha pa na'g pagawas sa tinuod nga kolor..😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mao pod. Karon bitaw diri naa man koy di maangayan pod. Pero mao may ila lge.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mao na'y giingon nga makiayon nalang ta kay nangipon man lagi, maong No! No! jud bitaw ko anang mangipon or something lagi ing.ana kay dili ko malihok sa kung unsay ahung gusto. Magbantay pud baja lagi ta's atung lihok lagi mamsh noh?.hihi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Arang mamsh. Bsta uy dghang apan. Pero okay man diria pod. Naa laman lge usahay di ta kaujon ba sa kung unsay pamalakad. Tujo man pod ni naho ari sa magstay tahay bisan kadali para ma ila2 sila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's what I don't like i relationship. The meet and greet the family, what if ma invite nga tapos ganyan. Mapapanisan sila ng laway sakin if ever. I don't talk much in personal. Madaldal lang ako sa chat at text pero sa personal. Wag ng asahan ahaha. Kaya baka matulad din ako sau if ever. Ay wait, wala nga pala akong juwa no 😎 ahahaha. Ang hirap ng ganyan, ayaw ko ma experience yan kaya di talaga ako mag aasawa.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True po. What if ganun na talaga personality mo di ba? Di ka pala imik in person pero nakakausap naman kaya lang di lang gaya nung iba na machika talaga. Ganyan din ako eh. Mas gusto ko pa magsulat kesa dumaldal. Sure na po ba yan na di kayo mag aasawa? 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako din kasi ee basta di ko ka close di talaga ako magsasalita. Hayaan ng mapanisan ng laway ahaha. At least di napagod kakasalita ahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha korek. Dun nalang tayo magbigay ng oras sa nakakatulong sa atin

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Isa talaga yan kinakatakot ko eh, yung hindi magustuhan ng family ng partner ko. However, kahit ano yung gawin natin, we can't please everybody. Kaya maging totoo nalang tayo. Tanggapin man nila tayo oh hindi, di na natin kasalanan yun.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The best advice! Basta pinakita natin kung ano tayo. Okay naman dito kaso nga minsan yun nga, may nasasabi pa rin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The thing I hated to is the comparison, I don't like to be compared by anyone and also only those people I really know what I am capable of haha, don't mind others chitchat about you just be what you are, comparison wasn't defined they are more than you.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True po sir. I hate being compared too. Kasi ibig sabihin mas gusto nila yung isa kesa sayo kasi ganto ganyan. That's why I choose to be because that what makes me happy. And it's up to them if they will like me or not

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i know how you feel..that's why it is best to really leave and cleave... when you get married...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes po, soon. Kung kami talaga magkakatuyan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I felt your discomfort! Yikes. Safe to say you are at a disadvantage being cooped in by them for sure they will be expecting you to follow their culture. It is their home court.

You are right you kinda know now what it would be like to be living with in-laws. Alert alert!

Anyway, it does call for action though or interaction should I say? It is tough adjusting to them but like you said you will get to know your partner's background...

Or or or .. explain your thoughts to your partner and see how he finds a way to convince you or explain to his parents .

Hayy ang hirap! Now i also feel you missing your room.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True, Pich. I miss my room so much where I feel no one's watching me and I can do whatever I want. But, I think I must not complain too because this is my choice to get to know my partner before anything happens to us especially marriage.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you are on a mission! you go girl!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

main reason why I don't want to get in touched with my ex's family before But in the long run and up to this day my ex's mother still in talks with me daily

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh, well I'm glad you're still in good terms with your ex' family tho. That's nice

$ 0.00
2 years ago

wala siguro ka chicka mama nang ex ko kaya sakin lage pumupunta

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung ex mo ba yun yung tatay ng son mo? Pwede naman hindi sagutin po. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

nope iba...first ex ko yung ang mama niya close pa rin kami until now

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Off topic. You shouldn't be posting your private gmail acct here

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh, this isn't my personal account tho and I don't know gmail accounts are not encouraged to be written in here. I will omit that po. Thanks ms. Jane. ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Personally these days I don’t think of what others will think I just do it anyways if it satisfies me or if I am okay with it they don’t have to like me ..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's the best gift you can give to yourself. To give yourself peace rather than thinking of other's opinion.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahhh, hirap na usapin eto pero the decision is always yours. Maybe give them the benefit of the doubt, hang out with them, give them some of your time sincerely and see how it goes...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I've been with them many times na po but what can I do when my personality is hindi talaga masalita. Hehe! I already tried naman. And we're okay but sometimes, yun nga merong di magandang nasasabi pero okay na rin yun. At least nakilala ko sila at pinakita ko kung ano ako.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganon talaga :) We cannot please everybody, just as they can't please us :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah that's why I don't think of it too much these days. Knowing that me and my partner is good, okay na sakin

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yon ang importante din, yung okay kayong dalawa :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pinakamahalaga sa lahat 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It always depends on you. Live the way you want. If you can afford living on your own then why not?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes that's right. I chose this because I do want to know my boyfriend and my boyfriend's family too but I don't think of living with them for long. Just for months.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Siguro sumali ka din sa usapan paminsan minsan para ba magkahulihan din kayo ng kiliti ng family nia..pag d k kc nagsasalita pedeng isipin n inilalayo mo ang sarili mo sa kanila.. Nag ki create ka ng barrier parang ganun..hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama nga naman. I already tried that but then I can't really keep up with the kind of talks they have. Kasi di talaga ako masalita eh kahit nga sa amin. But I will still try again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't agree with "They"

I'll not think about what other peoples will think I'll just do what i felt to be okay with it I'll not allow any third person if they like me or hate me I'll stay focused on my life

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I wish I could do this like you 🥺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is a problem when you are living in your future in laws. They always have something to say. I don't see anything bad about being silent, less talks means less mistakes. What if you are just silent because you choose your words and conversations? I guess differencws is part of relationship and one should always respect that.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Right? What's wrong being silent when in the first place it's your personality. Even in our own home I am not that talkative too. Yeah that's why I'm trying to talk with my boyfriend. We are okay here tho pero yun nga minsan may nasasabi talaga

$ 0.00
2 years ago