The Child I Want

38 46
Avatar for Marinov
2 years ago

(Note: I am not questioning anyone's parenting style. I am just stating my parenting preferences.)

At the age of 23, I am now thinking if I really want to have a child or not. For sure, I do want to have my own family but not a child. Hmm, can we really call it a family if there's no kid around the house? I'm not sure about it though. What I am sure of is that raising a child is hard and I don't think I can manage having one. My mom has 5 children already including me as the eldest. Good for her because the three of us are living with grandma. That means she was not the one who took care of us three and spent sleepless nights to babysit us.

Currently, my mom has 2 sons (my brothers). One is 10 years old and the other is 5 years old. They live separately with us since my mom already has her husband to be -- the father of the two kids. Sometimes, they visit in our house and have lunch or dinner together. During the first hour, my little brothers are behaved but after that first hour, they start to become naughty and noisy. They run around the house and my dogs start to bark. My dogs are moody and they don't want noise around. As a result, there will be noise from the kids and from my dogs which is super annoying.

After a while of playing together, the younger brother cries and doesn't want to play anymore but the older brother keeps on teasing which will make the noise too loud and unbearable. I try to call their names but they're not listening. I scold them and they listen for a few minutes and behave. After, the behavior gets back again. I told their mom to do something because the noise is too much already. Still, they don't listen. I was thinking why my brothers don't listen. At their age, they should learn how to obey their parents when they are called-out. While they are still young, it's good to train them how to behave properly so they can bring the attitude when they grow up. As the saying goes, it's better to cut the horn while they're still new and soft.

Here in my boyfriend's place, there are also a lot of kids, toddlers. Most of them listen when they are being corrected. But then there's this one kid who is so spoiled. I shouldn't be taking it as my problem because I am not the one who's attending the kid. I tried many times to ignore but his bad behavior really gets my attention. The kid is just 3 years old but he's acting like he's the King of all. Everything he wants, he gets because his mother would provide. Well, I can't blame the mother for doing so because if she won't give what her son wants, he will cry non-stop, so loud. There was one time when the mother tried to ignore her son which made the son to run, cross the street and almost got hit by a motorbike. Oh my! What an attitude. I believe kids really are hard to deal with sometimes and we need patience but this kid is too much. He won't ever listen to his parents.

I am also thinking his mother also has something to do with the bad attitude. She tolerates her son so much. Even when it's her son's fault, she would put the blame on the playmates.

She also doesn't want her son to get disciplined by his own father because she thinks the father's way is not proper. The mother would also allow her son to practice what's not right like going inside his aunt's store and get everything he likes there. The mother would just say, 'tell your aunt to give you that' instead of correcting him. That's why the son repeats the behavior.

I know I am not in the position to judge but I just can't ignore my realizations. These made me realize that I don't want to have a child. But, we don't know what might happen so just in case I will have one, I will make sure to give the right discipline.

The Child I Want

I want my child to learn at an early age that not everything he wants, he gets. If he cries, then I will let him. After all, he will just stop if he's tired. In this way, he will realize that crying is not the solution to get what he wants. When he's done crying, it's time to talk to him and make him understand the value of patience in simple words.

I want my child to understand that bad behavior is not accepted in all situations. His bad behavior will not be tolerated. By saying this to him everyday, he will always remember it in mind. Remember a child's mind is 'Tabula Rasa' which means an empty sheet. When filling in that sheet, make sure to instill good ones. This was claimed by John Locke.

I also want my child to practice the attitude of talking nice to everyone. I don't want my child to be rude and would say unwanted words like these kids in here. At a young age, they know how to talk back rudely.

I want my child to learn how to wait and respect. I won't give him what he wants unless it's reasonable. And if he wants something, he should learn how to wait before he can get it. After all, they're all wants and not the needs.

Lastly, I want my child to be kind to all creatures.

I know it will not be easy. Actually there's no easy way when it comes to parenting. If only there's a course in parenting which I can enrol, I would take the course so I can be the best parent to my child. But unfortunately, there is none so disciplining kids solely depends on the parents. There's no perfect parents as well as a perfect child but that doesn't make an excuse for us to just tolerate bad behavior.

I am not yet a parent. Just in case, you know. 😁

Let me hear your side too!


Thank you so much guys for reading! You've been so kind to me since day one.

Sponsors of Marinov
empty
empty
empty

Thank you so much again for your time! To my generous sponsors, upvoters and to those who comments, I am sending you my warmest gratitude! Let's talk and get to know each other well.

Lead image is edited from Canva

Images are taken from Unsplash.com

Ciao! ❤️

12
$ 6.54
$ 6.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
+ 4
Sponsors of Marinov
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marinov
2 years ago

Comments

Dapat jud pitulon na ang bata mem mintras gagmay pa. Kay kung dili, mada man na nila inig dako. Matud pa sa uban, kung unsa nga batasan daw ang ipakita sa bata mureflect jud na sa ginikanan. Dili sija dali pero mao man jud nay role isip ginikanan.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Tinuod mem. Waman jod lain ang ginikanan man pinaka dakog role ug impluwensya sa bata. Naay sa ubang tao mga kaduwa pero mas dako jod impact sa ginikanan. Ako gani mem sungotan ko usahay kanang bata pa 3 years old mangajo nag kwarta ja ug di hatagan maghilak. Ja ag nanay mohatag na laman. Aguy na wrong

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aruyy,,gianad na mem. Magdasa na jud na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Arang mem. Lisod man pod mobadlong ko kay basin ako na nuon di mamao

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mao jud mem. Naa ra ba puy ubang parents nga masuko kung sawayon ilang anak.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mao lge. Maong mogara kay kita man ang bata labanan sija

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I observed also those kind of kids where they tack back to their parents or someone who's old to them very harsly and I found it very alarming. That's why I correct my cousins when I heard them talked like that.. A small problem that can't be corrected early will cause a big problem later .

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True! It's good that you corrected your cousins early and it's also nice if the parents will do that as well. Habang bata pa, putulin na ang sungay ika nga kasi pag matanda na, mahirap na putulin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Super hard maging parent, sis! Sinanay ko naman yung anak ko since toddler cya na she can't have everything she wants cause that's not what life is all about. Pag umiyak cya hayaan ko lang at sasabihin kong, "are you done crying? let me know so i can talk to you properly." ganun. di ko sya sinasaktan o sinisigawan.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Tama yan ms. Bloghound. Yan din gusto ko yung paiiyakin hanggang sa magsawa. Ayoko ng bata na iyakin talaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have a advice . If you ever want to have s child and you are worried that how to manage then I must say don’t be worries about anything because this is a God plan and he is the only one who is feeding you and will feed your children’s too.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks , friend. I'm surely going to keep this in mind

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I dont hate the spoiled kids, I hate their guardian, kids attitude is base on what they see and feel in the arms of their guardians, good parenting should always be present, for kids to grow ang shape as a kind ang responsible person.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Definitely. Kids learn from the environment and that's why parents have the main role how to discipline the kids.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ito yung isa sa reason bakit di ako mahilig masyado sa mga bata, kasi bukod sa di ko nakasanayan makasalamuha ng babies or toddlers, mostly sa kanila is ang pangit ng pag-uugali and spoiled. At kung i-desiplina mo naman, yung magulang ang magagalit sayo. Pero mabuti naman Sis that you look for a better future, ng future babies mo(soon lang talaga). Nasa magulang talaga yun

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks sis. Oo ayoko ng anak na spoiled talaga at iyakin kasi mabilis ako mairita kapag maingay. Tama ka, kung pangit ang pag uugali ng mga bata at pagsasabihan mo lang ikaw pa masama. Kaya nga ako, di na ako nangingialam dito bahala na mga anak nila bsta ako soon, didisiplinahin ko talaga anak ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung pagiging spoiled ng Bata madadali nya Yung hanggang paglaki tapos ikaw din magulang mahihirapan.

Basta as parent if you want na ganon maging behavior ng anak mo dapat ikaw mismo maging role model. Ipakita mo sa kanya lahat ng dapat at tama at Kung may Makita man syang Mali sa paligid ikaw din magsilbing guide nya na Hindi dapat tularan yon.

$ 0.01
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Tama ms. Yen. Kung ano nakikita ng bata sayo, yun din susundin kasi nga nakakatanda tayo eh. Kaya nga dapat ang mga parents talaga tinuturuan ng tamang asal ang mga bata kasi nga madadala pag laki

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish I had a son who looked like me if possible haha, you know it reflected that I am his Dad in the vision of gossip society charr. Well when it comes to child discipline I know it's really hard indeed to think something like that, the spoiled one eventually will cause trouble and that child under the protective mouth embrace of the mother might cause his stubbornness in the future. hayss ibang-iba na talaga mga bata ngayun kaysa noong panahon nating no? haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha for sure sir, soon meron yan. May kamukha ka na. Ay totoo, ibang iba na mga bata ngayon. Nakakainis nga eh kasi di ko mapagsabihan kasi nga baka ako yung lumabas na masama. Noon pag dinilatan tayo ng mata ng nanay natin takot na tayo. Pero mga bata ngayon pag dinilatan mo, wala lang. Parang walang nakita. Kainis hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't want a child, I dont want a child. Well, I'm being like this but we can't really tell the future. Baka lang may pinaplano pa si God for me. But one thing is for sure, I don't think I am capable of being a mother. I don't know if I can take of them well, they said being a mother can be learn. But I'm not a fast learner so I think it's impossible for me. I'll just leave it to my fate, cheret.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Pareho pala tayo ms. Ruffa Ayoko din ng bata. Gusto ko lang tumingin sa bata pero mag alaga, nakooo! Pero di nga natin alam eh. Baka soon po pag dumating na ms. Right nyo magkakainiterest ka na sa bata 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think it all depends on the environment they are exposed to and on how they are raised :) And don't worry sis, you'll be a great mother one day :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Definitely, sis. That's why as much as possible, I will build an environment that's healthy for my future child. Thanksssss! 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All the best to you on that, you definitely can :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks, sis ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am already a mom and I don't want to spoil them with material things or any. If they made mistakes, I corrected them. It's not easy to raise a child but disciplining the child is our responsibility and we should also make sure to teach them what is right and wrong.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks for dropping by, friend. You are right. It is an always will be the parents responsibility to discipline their kids under any circumstance.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is best to say what we want in our child when they come as we don't know the angel passing by. Yes, parents are the determinant of what and who their children become. You should train a child when he is still young and his mind is just empty where the good habits can be instilled into it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Definitely, Princess. It should start when they're still young. But sad to say, some parents here are just tolerating the bad behavior. Instead of having reinforcement to get away with the negative behavior, they support it because they don't do something about it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There should be a parenting counseling for these types of mothers.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True, sir. In this way, they will be guided accordingly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was a challenge. I have my own plan when my nephew was born. I already know what I will do to him but while he is growing, it changes everything. It is a challenge taking care of toddlers. They do what they want to do. You need to give all your effort to make your dreams happen to them but also allow them to be a child. I have a stubborn nephew who is awake when we are sleeping and always the cause of my headache.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh my. Sagabal talaga yan ms. Grecy yung tulong ka tas pagod sa trabaho tapos may mangungulit. That's why I think of my future child kung anong mga gagawin ko para di matulad anak ko sa mga kids dito.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed parenting is hard, I don't know how mom's survive raising kids tho haha. I don't think of that yet, I am still young hihi

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Super hard. That's why parents should be hands-on with it. Ay oo, enjoy muna Harty. Gala gala muna hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dah. Mapawng lagi tas Tabula Rasa.

When you worry if you are a good mom, you already are a good mom.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha shhhh jems. Katugon nako ana bayot. Sayang ang adlaw hahaha Tan awon ani puhon haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago