Are you real?

18 37
Avatar for Marinov
2 years ago

Is your social media image an accurate representation of who you are in real-life?

Are you sure you are being you when you face towards the mirror?

Are you certain that it's still you you are seeing? Or perhaps you aren't yet you just avoid because you think that makes you happy?

Well, you are right. That's just what you think and not what's good for you.

I'm not pertaining to any biological make-up. It's about the core, the inside, the colors within.

This is not a lie or a mere imagination in mind. There are sometimes that we conceal what we are. Why? There are mountains of reason. Some of the most commons are:

  • We want to keep up with what's new

  • We view life as competition

  • We believe we are better than others

  • The hunger for fame

  • Ashamed of having little

  • Attention

  • The fear of being outcast

These are just a few out of the many reasons depending upon individual. But commonly, the above are always the reason.

It's okay to pretend that we are happy. Sometimes we need that in order for us to feel good, to avoid questions or anything. But, not for long. If you just pretend to be happy, then how will you know the feeling of true happiness?


I believe there are instances that we fake situations. I even did that many times. I pretend that I'm not hurt though I'm slowly loosing a piece of me. I tried to conceal my fear because I don't want to be left behind with those who are strong. I sometimes faked my life in social media so that I can get even with girls who I think are influential and beautiful. Yes, I did this and there's many more to mention. The advent of technologies and the booming of different social media sometimes led bad habits. One of these is "faking".

Dearest friends, let me ask you this:

Are You the Same Person on Social Media as You Are in Real Life?

https://unsplash.com/photos/wJxHKvv-znE

I will give you time to think and answer this in the comment box, if you have time.

As for myself, before, I was not the same person on social media and in real life. Most of the time, I'm on Facebook scrolling for something nice. While scrolling, I came across Fb friends who are wealthy. Of course they have nice dress, beautiful pair of shoes, an elegant house perfect for selfies. Ohh how much I love that. Just to keep up, since my grandma has a close friend who is rich, I go with grandma whenever she was asked to clean her rich friend's house. I guess you already know what is my intention. Yes! I went around the beautiful corners of the house and took pictures so I will have my own entries to upload on Facebook (Ambisyosa lang eh).

One time, I also wanted to have a nice mini dress paired with a pair of trendy heels but I don't have money to buy for it. So I asked money from my grandpa though I know his earning are not that great. I was still young that time so when grandpa didn't lend me, I will walk with heavy feet and say something ungrateful. My grandma couldn't stand seeing me unhappy, so she gave me money to buy those I want. And tadaaa! After that, I was able to buy my favorites. Of course, pictures were taken and uploaded. πŸ˜‰

I also have a cousin of my age. She has the same attitude as mine. She's so pretty and she has fair skin too that's why many guys like her and girls would like to befriend her. Everything she posts on social media is picture-perfect. She was even called "Coleen Garcia", one of the famous TV actresses for she has resemblance of Coleen. She likes to pretend everything on social media too especially their status. But, she's worse. I remember one time, we're together going somewhere just the two us. Meanwhile, there was this group of rich kids who are her friends too. They called my cousin and told her to go with them, to get on the car with them. As a result, she go with them and left me without saying a word.

And that's when I realized, her pretending has gone too far. I also did reflect myself with her. I also went too far. I let my parents give what they don't have much.


As I grow up, I changed my ways. I guess that's natural that as we age, the more we understand the meaning of life. I'm not faking who I am today. In fact I would even share what our life is on Facebook and I'm glad that many can relate, many will support and many will motivate. No criticism at all.

If you are poor, then be it. Show it! It's not your fault if you are born poor. But don't just settle for it when you know you can do something to be better.

How about you? Do you ever suspect that some people on social media only post images that show them in a one-dimensional way just to make others that they have a perfect life?

I guess you did. And you already know that there ain't perfect in this world yet sometimes you tend to believe there are and you want to possess perfection too. And as you look for it, on the process you will realize it will not make you happy.

If I'm not mistaken, it was Clara Dollar in My So-Called (Instagram) Life who said,

"You're like a cartoon character. Always wearing the same thing everyday."

What does this mean? I don't know exactly what does this mean to her but from my perspective, I'm going to view it in relation to my article. This means that, as we fake and pretend for long, we become a cartoon character -- unreal. And we are always wearing a mask everyday to cover what doesn't need to be covered.

https://unsplash.com/photos/F7DAQIDSk98

Come on and let your true light shine through. Be contented for that's your first door on your way to the home of true happiness.

Let me reiterate.

Is your social media image an accurate representation of who you are in real-life?

Are you real?


Hello lovelies! Thanks for your precious time reading my work. Let me hear some noise from you. I hope you're doing great there.

Sponsors of Marinov
empty
empty
empty

Thanks as well to the upvoters of my previous articles and to everyone who dropped a comment. It was very nice talking to you all. I also want to thank new sponsor, @Vibration101. Merci beaccoup. ☺️

Also to my new subcribers, sending virtual hugs!

https://www.google.com/imgres?imgurl

Ciao! ❀️

10
$ 7.05
$ 6.70 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Yen
$ 0.05 from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs
+ 5
Sponsors of Marinov
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marinov
2 years ago

Comments

I have never been one to enter a fad right away until I know what is in it for me. I easily lose interest of things just like with facebook. I like to be entertained with social media so I manage what I see in my account. It's best to filter what you see and who you see. If you think it is toxic to you, it does not concern you, it does not help others, then better avoid it. You have the power in your hands. Choose what is you. It's easy to hide behind an account or profile. Be careful though for that pretention can lead you to trouble.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hello! Yes, that's right. I'm planning to do that as well but I'm a bit busy these days. It's nice to get rid of those you don't like. Our account, our rules. 🀣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You should do it asap lol! Unless you want to close that one and make a new one instead :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my that's too much of work if I will do another one. I'm on it now πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha! Go for it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

may kaiigan ako na ganito noon, post ng post sa social media na nagpapakita ng mamahaling gamit then laging nasagalaan. triny namin sya kausapin na wag sana sya ganon kasi ung tatay nya nagpapakahirap para sakaniya, kaso nagalit lang sya saamin.maugi daw sana kung kami ung nagpapatrabaho sa tatay nya. ayun dina kami magkaibigan HAHAHAHA

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha iniwasan ba naman. Well bagay lang sa kanya yun ata. 🀣 Basta'y sinabihan nyo na okay na yun. Mamumulat rin yun sa katotohanan isang araw.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oo nga te e. kawawa lang tatay nya sa ginagawa nya jusko

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We are so occupied in pleasing other people or going with the trend that we almost forgot our real identity. We forgot to value and appreciate who we are

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great.. once Bill Gates said "If you born poor its not fault but if you die poor then its your fault." But we should accept what we are.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know about the others but yes it's me, i passed the age when I want to be accepted when i want to be acknowledge, now i'm in this age that I just really don't care if you will accept me or not. if you will acknowledge me or not... this is me.. take it leave it. :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Appear! Hehe! Yes, before when we don't know yet what it means to be really happy. I also like that mindset. Kung ayaw nyo sakin, ayaw ko rin sa inyo basta nagpapakatotoo lang ako. Fake ones will stay away but few real ones will remain.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yep.. easier to find friends

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, in socmed it is a fact that we only posts of what are those best things happen to us since we all knew as well that in that world it is really scripted. Some would make their lives looks great in social media but the truth isn't, some posts achievements and hides failures and many more. But it is not true to all of course. Some were also true to their there selves when it comes to social medias.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree. We're been at some points like that too and glad we managed to escape and change it. Pero daghan gihapon ron mamsh samot na mga bag ong tubo. Di tanan pero kasagaran

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truth meem, naa pa gani gihimo ang socmed sa mga negative vibes and really not good and worth seeing

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed people loved seeing those photos with lots of reacts and comment but behind the beautiful photo plays a lie that she/he sacrifice the needs over their wants. That's sick.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's the common effect of. Sacrificing the needs over wants. There was a study conducted, I forgot the title but the conclusion was that most of the people daw who are very active as in laging nakaonline sa socmed and then upload ng upload are the people who are lonely. They don't have anyone to be with or their real- life perhaps is not satisfying to them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago