What are you talking about in front of the vacuum cleaner?

27 62
Avatar for MarijaJak
3 years ago

Most models of vacuum cleaners connect to the Internet, you can control them using an application from your phone, scan the premises and know exactly what, where and when to clean.

However, all this additional technology makes them more vulnerable to cyber attacks. Research from the University of Maryland has shown that robotic vacuum cleaners are problematic. The researchers there collected data from the laser navigation system of the vacuum cleaner (it is the system that tells them where they are in the room and prevents them from crashing into things).

They analyzed the data, and managed, with the help of several different techniques, to obtain a recording of a conversation and a TV program that took place in the room where the vacuum cleaner was working.

This research showed that any device that uses Lidar (a navigation technology that uses laser to measure different distances around the device) can be hacked and used to collect audio recordings, even if it does not have a microphone in it.

In translation, your robot vacuum cleaner could eavesdrop on you without you even being aware of it. Namely, most of these smart vacuum cleaners store the maps on which they move in the "cloud", which makes them vulnerable to cyber attacks, and thus your security is endangered.

Also, due to the fact that people work mostly from home due to the whole situation, these vacuum cleaners can become a very efficient tool, both for industrial espionage and for stealing sensitive private data, such as bank data.

Just in case, it would be best to have confidential conversations in rooms where there are no smart vacuum cleaners.

Still, maybe a robot vacuum cleaner can make our lives easier, but I still prefer those classic vacuum cleaners, because I am convinced that I will clean nicer and better than a robot!

I wish you a nice and pleasant night! I send you a big greeting until tomorrow!

And see you tomorrow with new topics!

27.11.2020.

Your @MarijaJak

16
$ 2.64
$ 2.58 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
$ 0.01 from @Feniks25
Sponsors of MarijaJak
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MarijaJak
3 years ago

Comments

amazing, but I wouldn't want to have this robot.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So true! I prefer me and my vacuum to clean better than the robot although the robot can do it faster with no sweat!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Technology has advanced so much, something new comes out every year. I would definitely like to have a vacuum cleaner like this, but unfortunately it is impossible to buy everything

$ 0.00
3 years ago

When I see that this kind of technology can have its downsides, I have no desire to have something like that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Smart devices are really awesome, they are helping us a lot, and all that good things that we can hear on the adds fro those devices. But, all the smart things that are collecting data and that have navigation are dangerous for us. They can collect our data and send it to someone far away from us. That is really creepy.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Of course, we do not need in our homes what can abuse our privacy.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Today I have been in Tehnomanija and asked for cleaner and they recommended me hand vacuum cleaner, simple but very effective, and 10 times cheaper than this robots, and they will never steal your private datas

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree with you, I also recently bought a vacuum cleaner, and I would never take this robot ...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good article. I was thinking of buying a robot vacuum cleaner. I'm giving up!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am glad that this article helped you make the right purchase decision!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

we no longer have any privacy for a long time. What a vacuum cleaner does, a phone, a smart tv ...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's right, smartphones also remember many of our private things ... With the development of technology, we are losing our own privacy ...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

as useful as developing technology is, so harmful

$ 0.00
3 years ago

it is very worrying that if someone steals my passwords and my bitcoin cash coins via a smart vacuum cleaner, I will have to behave smarter than a smart vacuum cleaner.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We just have to react smartly and prevent this theft of our own money and privacy ...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Even when I measure such a similar vacuum cleaner, there are ebay, they are not very expensive.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well, I certainly wouldn't buy it, even if its price was similar to that of a classic vacuum cleaner ...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like to read your article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hi.. nice and Good thinking

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Welcome!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm glad you liked my post! Follow me, I will try to write interesting and useful articles.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow i haven't seen a robot vacuum cleaner in our country and its manual here and hope to see those robot vacuum cleaner sooner with good security

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There is a robot vacuum cleaner like this in many online stores ... You can look it up online. But from my perspective, I do not recommend it in our homes.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This one of us, who when you turn it on makes a sound like the bombing has started, that's the law: D

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's the best! A man almost came to our apartment to present some kind of vacuum cleaner, I wanted to go crazy from him, firstly because he drowned us with a story for 4 hours, secondly because his vacuum cleaner costs like a solid car, and thirdly because that vacuum cleaner can't approach where I can: D

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That robot can't "sneak" where I can,so I don't need his help for now 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Exactly :) :) :) You said it very well! :) :) :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago