Our Life After The Super Typhoon Noru.

2 79
Avatar for Maestro02
1 year ago

Announcements were already served days before the super typhoon lands on our land but we had not done anything because we thought it did not become a thing at all. Therefore, I came prepared hours before the PAGASA or the climate control group in our country announced that we were in signal number 3. I charged the phones I saw, the LED lights, and I brought out every gadget I thought the family could use when they decided to shut down the electricity, long story short, I am the most prepared hours ago in the family before the wrath of calamity came in our place. I am just glad that even though the super typhoon didn't make our land overflow because they say we are in the safest place in our province where we are the so-called “other side of Nueva Ecija”, we didn't even experience a huge flood while the other side has many dams that are so dangerous when calamities like this come in. It's just sad that there is something like this in reality and I am grateful beyond words for being here. Therefore, we couldn't dodge anything our creator throw us so you still could see damage around the place. The strong gust of the wind caused that damage. Many trees have fallen and many works for electric engineers had laid by the super typhoon as many lines of electricity have also fallen.

The super typhoon didn't come here as what title the climate group gave to it. It is not as much as I thought and expect when it arrive because the grandest mountains covering the provinces in northern and central Luzon called the Sierra Madre hold the rain down and serve as a shield to the people behind it. I wasn't saying I want to experience more of that, I just want to appreciate how much help that mountain gives us every typhoon is bound to hit us. Still, it damaged the provinces that it passed through and left so many casualties that made our province set a state of calamity. Our province is known to be the rice capital of the Philippines as to how many rice fields you could ever see in our province. Sometimes you could see it along the road because even some of the roads that people are using right now are rice fields before. This is not a fairytale of mine, it is one of the great histories of the province that is rich not only in rice fields but also in rice.

The nostalgia comes along as I and my childhood friends, or should I say my uncles that age is not far from me, go together to the only available free charging station at that time, our town hall. What a great help to everyone in the town because we only have nothing but our phones when we need news. So in order to get news, you really need to get along with the crowd and find a safe spot where you think your phone will not get lost if you wanted to just charge it and go back to your thing. Gratefully, we got some back from a town official and he find us a safe spot. We just put our phones in that safe spot he gave us and we came back after two hours to get our phones back and check how charged our phones have. It feels nostalgic to me because way back in our childhood days, we always the do this every time there is something in our compound. I mean, not the charge thing but the way how we do the thing as a group. I just missed those good days when we didn't have to think of our personal things that much and the only thing we need to do is to play and know how to not get hurt by the games we played. We still could do that if we want to, but as what is being written in the book and also the fate connected to us, our obligations and personal things needed us more. I am grateful beyond words for being on the so-called safest ground in this place but what I am being grateful for the most is that we are all alive. There could be more typhoons bound to land in our province, but the place will become more prepared than how we became this time. May we all be safe from every calamity that befalls us.

Thank you for reading this article.

You can read my previous articles here:

The Gust to Finish The Unfinished Business While Taking a Rest.

A Semester For Which I Must Prepare.

There Are Things That Will Never Go In Our Favor.

I'm Now a Second-Year College Student.

What About The First Day of School?

6
$ 2.32
$ 2.32 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Maestro02
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Maestro02
1 year ago

Comments

Oh so you're one of the victims of that super typhoon, glad to know that you all are safe. I am from Mindanao, specially in Davao and we heard the news specially the mountains of Sierra Madre. Those mountains are really a blessing, I hope our fellow citizens will look forward on protecting our nature cause it can literally save us from calamity.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Indeed, Sierra madre really is. With that said, I could not agree more with what you pointed out. I am not really a green thumb, but it does not mean that we don’t care at all. By the way, thank you and keep safe, Marquess! 🥰

$ 0.00
1 year ago