Art Techniques: Unusual Things That I Use To Create A Masterpiece

20 48
Avatar for Maestro02
2 years ago

All artists have their own ability to create their art. Just like in painting, each painter has his or her own techniques for painting the objects, expressions, or people they want to paint. It may be inspired by other artists who admire or they see excellence and through that, we can develop it and mixed all the techniques we learned to form a technique that we can call our own.

What exactly is the meaning of the word Masterpiece?

According to Meriam Webster:

1: a work done with extraordinary skill especially: a supreme intellectual or artistic achievement.

2: a piece of work presented to a medieval guild as evidence of qualification for the rank of master.

Actually, I have my own definition for the word "masterpiece"; For me, a masterpiece in every artwork you made. Whatever its type, appearance, taste, sound, and texture we can call it a "Masterpiece". I had my own perspective on looking at an artwork because I knew that every artwork made by an artist is endowed with fatigue and sweat.

And for the main topic of this article, the unusual things I use in making an artwork. Actually, this is no longer unusual with some artists because it was only with them that I also learned to use such things.

First on the list are the Make-up Brushes.

Not all artists use this object to build a portrait but I use it in making my portraits. You heard it right, I use it in making portraits. I learned this technique from a friend of mine who is trained in making portraits. She is definitely my idol in making portraits because of her polished skin tone making on every subject she will do. I have 22 make-up brushes in use today. They all come in different sizes. Actually, I don't know what they really use on the face since each size of make-up brush also has a particular part of the face. I prefer to use make-up brushes than the normal artist brush in creating portraits because it is more solid with rubbing charcoal powder on paper. Similar to the human face, it is also nice to shade on paper because the bristles of a make-up brush are smoother than an artist's brush.

I also use sandpaper to accumulate charcoal powder.

I use sandpaper to accumulate charcoal and graphite powders. I scrape the tip of the charcoal pencils into the sandpaper so that it becomes sharp and the accumulated powder from the sandpaper will serve as my skin tone in a portrait. Actually, no one taught me this technique because before I learned this technique, I only used to accumulate charcoal powders on scratch papers. I only accidentally found out about it while I was washing the dishes and I was seeing sandpaper. But to be honest, almost every artist knows this already since they are doing this style.

Used pens for hair highlights.

I use used pens or non-ink pens on the hair strands of my subjects. My frequent use of it is on my references with light shots because we can notice the hair strands of the subject there. I learned this technique from a group of artists on Facebook. I would recommend this technique to those who don’t already know it because it will be a big help in making more detailed hair strands.

I’m not very good at portrait-making yet and I know I can learn a lot more but I know it will help everyone who wants to be an artist. I took a lot of relief in making portraits as I started trying unusual things in making a masterpiece. Developing self technique is not bad. It’s also not bad to start with another artist’s technique. The bad is that you use an artist's idea and work, especially if it is without permission.

Just like when I was practicing to write a 'quality article', I was also practicing to know the deeper message and meaning of portrait-making. Since I studied for 4 years under an Art Curriculum, I can now share the basics and other experiences of mine with those who want to become an artist. Actually, we are all artists. Maybe not just in painting or drawing but maybe in singing, dancing, writing, taking pictures and more talents we can think of. However, we should not look at ourselves as the best because we are still learning as long as we live. Nevertheless, making art is making oneself. You're not just making art, you're making memories with art and you're the greatest art.

Thank you so much for reading this article and for always supporting me.

You can read my previous articles here:

My Goals And Wishes For The Month Of July.

I Failed On My First Try But I Succeeded On My Second Try.

It's Been A While.

Remembering Him is Remembering the Memories We Made Together.

I Can Feel the Hardships, But I Can’t Give Up.

The Indescribable Feeling.

11
$ 3.71
$ 3.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @dziefem
$ 0.10 from @kli4d
+ 3
Sponsors of Maestro02
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Maestro02
2 years ago

Comments

I was thinking about getting the makeup brushes too instead of normal art brushes. It's about a year since I heard someone on YouTube talking about this and now you reminded me! ❀️ Most of my art brushes are terrible and they don't have a lot of bristles on them, because I got cheap ones, haha :D All makeup brushes look so much better in quality compared to that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buddy, kung trip mo lang naman, gawa ka article about sa mismong paggawa mo ng mga portrait hshaha. Wala lang curious lang ako kung pano mo sya ginagawa step by step

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Sure, Buddy. I'll do that. Actually, plano ko na talaga kaso hindi pa kasi tapos ang graduation kaya hindi pa ako makapaggrind totally. But yes, I'll share my personal techniques at yung process ko ng paggawa ng portrait after graduation since balak ko ulit i-drawing si Wang Od.

Anyways, Salamat sa suggestion, buddy! 🀍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayun angas! Take ur time lang. Makakapaghintay naman kami πŸ˜‚ Congrats ulit!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remembered that I also used the my Make up brush before when I don't have paint brush for my Cofee painting lol πŸ˜‚ sometimes, I am also more on using my fingers and hand to blend the color of oil pastels and or Tissue, paper, and cotton buds.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes yes. Actually, kahit ano nalang po talaga ng madampot natin dati na maaring gamitin is gagamitin talaga natin, hindi lang sa paggawa ng art, but sa pang araw-araw din nating pamumuhay. Pero sa totoo lang po, nakakangilo yung oil pastel-cotton/cotton buds combo kapag sa illustration board. πŸ˜„

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa illustration board? Di naman ah πŸ˜‚ HAHAHA ganon nga ginagamit ko sa poster making contest sa may maliliit na parte.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes ate but I mean nung bata po ako. I always use the black side ng illustration board po kasi para unique kunwari tapos madiin pa ako mag-color non. πŸ˜…

Ayon talo pa din naman po at tinanggap ko na hindi talaga para sa akin ang contest. πŸ˜„

$ 0.00
2 years ago

sana all creative at talented.😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

HAHAHA salamat po, Ma'am Gracee!πŸ€πŸ™ŒπŸΌ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pengeng talent bata 🀧

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kung maari lang talaga po ate. 🀧

HAHAHA salamat po!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako pangkin, basta sana all may talent hahahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ipadala ko nalang po dyan tita HAHAHAHA char

Thank you po! 🀍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Interesting I loved your article

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ginagamit ko yan lahat hahah kaso yung dun sa charcoal na galing sa sandpaper, di ko masyadong ginagamit sa mukha, di pa ako maalam, nagdudumi lang hahaha. Tsaka dun sa pen, bakit yung saken nawawala yung highlight??😭😭 Hahaha ginagamit ko lang pero halos konti lng yung highlight na natitiraπŸ˜­πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice! Siguro practice lang sa charcoal powder na galing sa sandpaper kasi mahirap talaga sya i-apply lalo na kapag light yung part na lalagyan mo. Disaster kung magkakataon. πŸ˜… Pero since make-up brush naman gamit natin, mas magaan sya ilagan lalo na yung matabang make up brush.

Yung sa pen naman, ang sabi kasi sa post na nakita ko sa guhit pinas, medyo madiin ata tapos mas better if sign pen. Pero actually nung nagtry din ako dati onti lang din talaga yung nakita sa final product. Siguro nasa papel din ata? πŸ˜„

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha salamatt sa tips, try ko ulit yung sa charcoal. Andami ko din nabiling charcoal pencil eh pero di ko nagagamit lahatπŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Most welcome! Pero mukhang ako ata ang need magpatutor sa iyo. πŸ˜…

-manghindi na din ng charcoal pencil πŸ˜„

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahahah sige send ko na lang yung charcoal πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago