Eba and Okra Soup

60 60
Avatar for Macronald
3 years ago

It's Tuesday. I am still at my aunt's. I made a friend in the neighborhood, and he came around today. We spent most of the day together. Fast forward hours later, my aunt returned from work. She made Eba and Okra soup for dinner.

Okra or okro soup is one of the go-to soup for lots of Nigerians because of its ease of preparation and versatility. But growing up Okra Soup was on my list of reviled sauce; when okra soup was on the menu at home. I would often eat bread or anything but Okra!

My first taste of the soup left a negative memory, it was hard to shake off. After eating I threw up and had a bellyache.

Fast forward a few years and guess what? My taste buds have changed, I think improved and now I  happily indulge in okra soup. I can still be picky about texture from time to time (though, not nearly as much as I was when I was a kid).

What is okra soup?

Okra (also known as Okro, gumbo, bhindi, or Lady's fingers) is a versatile vegetable found around the world. It is often used for making soups.

Okra or Okro soup is prepared using the edible green seed pods of the okra plant as a primary ingredient with a delicious mixture of palm oil, shrimps and/or meat, fish, and African spices, and simmered to perfection. It is greenish in colour. It is known for its slimy nature and this might be a turn off for some

What Is Eba?

Eba is a Nigerian staple food eaten all over the country and beyond. It is made from dried grated cassava flour, commonly known as garri. To make eba, the garri is sprinkled into boiled water to form a smooth stiff dough. 

This can be eaten with Okra soup, egusi soup (my favorite), or any other soup native to Nigerians.

My dinner combo was Eba and Okra soup. Guess what? I enjoyed it. Not a drop was left on my plate.

39
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Macronald
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Macronald
3 years ago

Comments

Ooh..i don't have tbe idea that you call it okra also.. I thought it is just our local name for lady finger 🤔 we also have cassava in here.. In which you called Eba. Interesting.. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I heard that this soup is good for men.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Anything but okra ;-; so gross

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not appealing to your eyes?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not appealing to my taste buds

$ 0.00
3 years ago

How would you know. You have not given then a taste

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I try to taste but it's too gross. Don't wanna anymore :<

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Tbh, it's not on the list of soup I love eating. But I did enjoy it when I get to eat it, and this depends on who prepared it.

Come here and you will get to like it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nooo keep that away from meee. I don't like the slimy :"(

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The slimy nature is a turn off for the few that dislike the soup.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Definitely a huge turn off for me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Noted.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

the soup looks delicious. I never tasted that eba maybe becoz it not our delicacy but I love eating foods out of cassava.. I really love okra too knowing its many benifits to our health

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree. Okra has lots of health benefits.

Do they eat eba in your country?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

we eat cassava cooked just as it is or cooked then pound or blended add some nuts to it and sugar. cassava cake from grated cassava..but I have not seen the garri you said which is then cooked as eba, maybe in other provinces they have something like That

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well, here we make a lot of food from cassava. Fufu, cooked cassava, cassava cake, ...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow, so much lovely and delicious. I wish i could eat it......😋😋😋

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lol. You can, if you make it at home. Are you Nigerian?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

HA HA..... That's why I wish.........😁 I am not Nigerian...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha. Okay. I understand

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I also love to eat okra. It is so delicious. The soup looks good, too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Its really not my favorite soup. Actually its among my least soup.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow it's look like delicious 😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's actually delicious

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope I can taste that too 😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Come over. I have some left in the kitchen 😋😋

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow! Okra soup really looks delicious which making me feel hungry now😋

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha. It's stimulation your appetite.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's look delicious

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes. The one I ate was delicious. I wiped the plate clean

$ 0.00
3 years ago

nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

what is food name

$ 0.00
3 years ago

good morning

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks

$ 0.00
3 years ago

These foods are looks so delicious. Thank you so much for sharing these photographs ❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are welcome dear. Wish I could share the actual meal

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good meal..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes. It was really good

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is wonderful but I can't have it for dinner.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

But you can have it for lunch?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I can imagine how I will untie my belt to download this

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Brother, you will be wear trouser. Just remove every clothing. No freedom could be better

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hmmmmmmm!!!!! So delicious 😋😋😋😍😍😍. Can you teach me how cook that food because it's see delicious.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wish I can. You can google it. I think you will find enough resources on how to cook it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Interesting. 😊 I would like to try it. Since I don't have issues eating okra unless it has mayo or canned tuna in it. 😂 If you could share the recipe then maybe I could try it. Only have problem with one ingredient which is shrimp. It's difficult to find fresh shrimp here in Nairobi. Mostly could get frozen ones and Im a bit sensitive with that coz if the shrimps are not fresh my lips would be like exagerated angelina jolies lips version. 😂😂😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Shrimp is not necessary. It depends on who is preparing it. Sincerely I can make it. My aunt prepared it. All I did was eat. You can always find recipes online. Just google okra soup and you do be surprised at the loads of resources available online. Good luck

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you will do that and will try it one of these days. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Okay. Try it and if possible give me feedback

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This okra soup is looking supppper delicious🤤🤤

$ 0.00
3 years ago