8 Reasons your post engagement sucks and how to improve it

65 99
Avatar for Macronald
3 years ago

Have you wondered why you are getting a very low engagement in your articles? 

For you to have success here on Read.cash and as a writer/blogger in general, you need to write interesting articles that people want to read or ones that provide answers/solutions to their everyday needs.

If you’re unhappy with your article engagement rate or simply want to do even better, here are some things you should consider when planning your content and deciding on your posting strategy.

Here are 8 reasons your posts aren't earning what you think they should be. 

1. Content Quality - Your post probably sucks

Having quality content is one of the best ways to encourage your subscribers and other users to interact with your posts. Without posting quality content that your audience wants, how do you expect them to tarry?

Not all posts, mine included, are good. Some posts fall flat because you fail to consider if what you post is relevant to your audience. Is it useful to them? Is it educational? Is it interesting? There is a need to know and understand your audience, know what questions they want to be answered, and make sure your content helps them out, educates, and entertains them.

To fix this, ensure your posts meet the needs of your audience. Give them a reason to engage with your posts. You can view top articles and see what they are writing, how it's formatted, the title, etc. Then, ask others for feedback. There are plenty of users here like @Hanzell @wakeupkitty and others who will look over your article and tell you how to improve it. 

2. You don't have the right subscribers

You have more than 300 subscribers, but your articles get on 30 views and probably 10 comments. What happened to the rest?

How did you get your subscribers? Through giveaways and contests? Are they genuine? Paid subscribers are not always genuine. You might be getting fake users to subscribe to you. People who don't subscribe to you genuinely - because they like your articles, but because they are incentivized to do so - are less likely to engage in your posts: you "paid" them to subscribe.

3. Users don't care about your great article

I have written a couple of good articles on football that took a lot of effort as well as time, but they are among my least engaging posts. Why? Because it's football.

Take just a minute to publish a two-sentence post about points and how to earn - and hold your breath for the rush.

I want to believe users give upvotes based on how good an article is and how much they care about it. Since most of them know nothing about football or basketball, they rarely read upvote, and comment on football articles. However, there will be a time when there are plenty of "football fans" who can support your article, just make sure that you're writing something that they are interested in. 

4. Bad timing

When are you publishing? The time you publish an article on read.cash impacts engagement on your articles significantly. You should time your posts according to when readcashers are most active. If you are posting your messages when the majority of your subscribers are inactive then you won't achieve the maximum benefit from your posts. When you publish late at night, most users are fast asleep.

While I don't have the statistics to prove my theory, I have the most success when I publish in the morning and in the evening. Remember, if your subscribers are asleep, they may not get to read, comment, or upvote you.

Experiment and observe - consider the times of the day that your content received the most positive reaction in the past and find out when your articles get the most users' engagement. Maybe in working hours? Or in the evenings when they’re relaxing after a day at work? Or in the morning when they wake from sleep. Figure out what time works best for you.

5. Not Networking and supporting other writers

What have you done to increase your subscribers? If your article engagement is low, it could be because you haven't been networking with other users.

Rawpixel Ltd

If you’re not out there supporting other users/writers, engaging with their content, upvoting other users, you can’t expect to get it back - thought you might, but it will be less than when you help and support others. I'm fortunate for every upvote I get - thank you all by the way!, and I try to pay it back by upvoting great comments on my posts and by upvoting other articles here on read.cash. 

6. You are publishing one too many

How often is too often to share your content? We want to connect with subscribers without driving them away - I have unsubscribed a user because he was posting too often, as I received articles and short post alert almost every two hours. Well obviously there is no exact ideal number, but there is a range. For me, it is 1-3 articles per day. Posting less frequently can result in more reach and engagement per post. Strike a balance between informative and annoying. You want to provide value, but you won’t want to go overboard. You should look into how posting frequency affects your engagement then decide on your strategy.

You can use the "Save as Draft" function to finish articles ahead of time and publish them when the users who follow you are most likely to be active on Read.cash and spread them out! I would never recommend publishing another article less than three hours after you've published one. 

7. Bad titles

A compelling title can help draw more readers into your article. The article title could possibly be your only interaction with your audience. So a catchy headline will not just improve clicks on your article: It also starts interaction with the user on a positive note. You need someone to click on your article, so you better make them good.

8. You don't boost your article

You rely solely on your subscribers getting your post notification and finding it. This alone may not get you the engagement you wish for.

You can Boost your article so that more people can notice it.

Boosting articles offer a quick fix to reach more users. Boosting is so easy – click the "Boost" button to increase your post reach. Just set the boost power and boost duration, click save and pay and then confirm. BOOM, it’s running until budget or time runs out.

Takeaway

To ‘know’ the BEST is an impossibility. You can only experiment, predict and measure.

The line between informative and annoying may be super slim, but it’s one that you can find with a little practice. It’s unlikely that you’ll get everything right on your first or second try. You need to experiment and try out different things in order to figure out what works best for your articles and your subscribers/audience. Keep this in mind and keep testing, experimenting, iterating, and improving. Pay attention to your analytics and analyze the results your experiments are achieving. Then do more of the things that work and less of the things that don’t.

Let the testing and improving begin.

How frequently do you publish? what is your preferred time of the day? Have you found a point of diminishing returns? What tips do you have for users looking to increase their post-engagement? I’d love to hear what you think if you don’t mind giving away some secrets.

P.S. If you liked this article you might also like A complete read.cash guide for users and Using the editor function in short posts and comments on mobile as well as Reasons for negative points balance and how to avoid.


Keep supporting via your comments, likes, and upvotes. Subscribe if you haven't.

48
$ 3.95
$ 3.79 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Yann.Poire
$ 0.05 from @Hanzell
+ 1
Sponsors of Macronald
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Macronald
3 years ago

Comments

You are right about time. Yesterday I published an article late night. I didn’t get yet the tips due to less attractive audience

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks. It is a valuable topic to everybody. read. Cash is a fantastic platform.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Awesome

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I would completely agree with all the broken things. It seems to me that they still have the biggest role, as well as the topic that is being written about.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for sharing these to us.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Awesome! One of if not the most useful article I've seen about writing on Read.Cash! Well done!

Very well written with all the important points covered in details. I do hope many people read it as this is what social networking platforms are about and how they work.

Only one thing I could add is the use of images. Which one to choose. Were to put them to break nicely the text and complement the flow and the story of your article.

And about topics I guess you picked a good one compared to Football with this article...

Thank for spending the time to write it and sharing it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. Your words are too kind.

I agree with you. The use of imagery is also important. Not just using an image - but using the proper image and placing it or them at the right location. Thank you for your contribution.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If you ask me not engaging is one of the main problems. If it comes to that most do not invest in it. They expect to be read, receive upvotes and tips but never do the same to someone else.

Good articles are mainly not read because over 80% of the users cannot read/needs to translate/doesn't care. They are here to drop a quick post not for the reading (and that's why I started the RC readers & commenters club).

If you are not willing to work on your layout, grammar you will scare good readers away.

A good writer can make each article attractive even soccer (football). That's exactly the skill of the writer. So if you write about it change the title in something like "Rolling the ball".. 👍💕🍀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree. Engaging is key. Many users just publish and ghost. Then come back later expecting tonnes of views, comments and likes each time. They may get it at first, but with time, when the commenters don't get replies to their comments, they may feel unappreciated and eventually stop.

Imagine commenting g on several articles published by a user, and in some you needed closure to make meaning of some points, then each time you don't get to hear from the writer. With time, one might get tired and stop visiting the writers article.

"Good articles are mainly not read because over 80% of the users cannot read/needs to translate/doesn't care"

You are right. Some users have to translate and article to understand it. And also translate their comment. Every interaction is translated. I have one of such. And I really appreciate her effort. She leaves comments on most of my articles. And we get to interact. A valuable subscriber she is.

"If you are not willing to work on your layout, grammar you will scare good readers away."

My grammar and vocabulary use is far from good. I do use Grammarly whenever I can to help make some adjustment.

"A good writer can make each article attractive even soccer (football)."

Yes true. But however attractive it is, if your audience don't appreciate football, don't expect much engagement. The engagement I appreciate most is the comments. Make such article on football, publish it here on Read.cash and then on a sports forum. Which will yield more engagement? It's not just the attractiveness and having a catchy title its also about writing what majority of your audience are interested in. Though a good title like "rolling the ball" may get you more clicks, but will they read it, will they appreciate it, will they give feedback?

At the end, we have to make sure that we are writing something that we are interested in.

P.S. I would like a link to the RC readers and commenters club you started. Thank you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

All you stated is absolutely right. That's the very sad reality here. Some articles are not seen by your subscriber and it seem uninteresting at all. sometimes bad timing and not in the time. I try that boosting article but it didn't work in me even I paid a large. I don't know why. But thanks sir for giving your thoughts and idea in this topic to this platform.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are welcome sir. Currently I have started experimenting on different time and the engagement received. I hope to make a useful observation.

When I tried the boosting it worked effectively. But since after the update from RC it has not been as effective. How much did you boost with and at what boost power and duration?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

But i do really concern about boosting article. I have tried to boost one of my articles a 4.9%view in 24 hours for $1.25 and after 24 hours i have calculated that i am at lose and didn't have any profit. That was my one 2 days of payment i made to boost an article but it made me think it was not worth it. I don't know why.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I want to believe the most important part of the boosting is the boost power. I have had effective result with a boost power of at least 20% and duration of 3 to 6 hours. The boost power is and indication of the percentage of users your post will be shown to.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Even if you only have few subscribers? I think i need to save more for boosting

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Okay. You can do that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you lods 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There's also the fact that the article already speaks for itself or the range of what they write is usually outside of what anybody knows here like with your football articles then there's people who suddenly pop up with quantum mechanics, and goodness-

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha. It seems I have seen something related to the quantum mechanics here. I just scanned thru in seconds and left the page. As for football, its something I like. I will keep publishing football related article, even if its just one in a week. Perhaps after publishing it, I will share it to a community outside RC that appreciate such.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I've seen a lot of those because i suddenly keep getting tagged in them 😂😂😂 probably because i understand it but anything sports is honestly alien to me. But you just enjoy what you write. I promote my own art links outside of rc a lot, specially in instagram and Facebook. I still hate Twitter to be there

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I understand. I have not been promoting outside RC but I will soon.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for this information man. I've been thinking for this 'engagement' thing for days already. I think you need to choose the right community to post your personal article. As I've noticed in a all in one community where users can post any topics they want, the most article who will get the attention of the users is the topics that they would earn.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think RC communities are overrated. I don't know about you. I seldom visit a community to check on the articles there. I barely have enough time to read my notifications and reply comment on my articles. I don't think submitting articles to communities make any significant difference. I could be wrong.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

How frequently do you publish? what is your preferred time of the day? Have you found a point of diminishing returns? What tips do you have for users looking to increase their post-engagement? I’d love to hear what you think if you don’t mind giving away some secrets.

Well, I sometimes write articles and save them on the draft first. Then publish it whenever I think many users are active- just like what you said. You said it all, actually in this article. 🙉 But regarding the time, I don't find it something I need to think of. That's because we don't all live in the same timezone. It might be your time to sleep but for others, their day is just starting up -vice versa. This is just my opinion. Especially when you have real supporters all around the globe. I mean when you have foreign supporters. I mean come to think of it... What's your time there now? Here, it's almost lunchtime (sept.19). And for those who live in EST TIMEZONE, it's almost midnight. But yeah, you're right, find out which majority of your supporters actively interact with your article and post depending on what you think is the best time for them. If they're asleep when you posted your article, they will eventually wake up. And genuine supporters will read your article even when it was published 12 hours ago... ☺ I also have articles with fewer views. we all do. 😊 I think I experience it when I publish something that's hard to relate to everyone. An article about the 'controversy' of the band I am friends with didn't get many views. They didn't know the band, it won't be interesting for them and they don't care cause again, they don't know the band. But I was okay with it. I just want to share my thoughts and ideas and a whole lot more and just enjoy sharing. I don't give much thinking about how many views I might earn. But of course, I am always grateful for the support I get. 😊 As I've said, you said it all, I can't think of another significant tip I can give. Maybe, just try to be clever in coming up with a topic to write. Try until you get used to it. Be patient. And just enjoy it. If you're not enjoying your writing, no one will enjoy reading them. Be spontaneous and make it fun. 😊 maybe start with story-telling. Share your experience-love, life, anything. Many people like to read about real-life events. ☺

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for your contribution. Your comment could make an article 😊😊

"But regarding the time, I don't find it something I need to think of"

Yea you are right. We Shouldn't really stress ourselves with the time as we have users from several countries with different time zones. But knowing the location of most of your audience could be helpful. Majority of users are from Philippines, Bangladesh, Nigeria ... You can also find a way to spread tour articles at time when these users will be active.

"And genuine supporters will read your article even when it was published 12 hours ago."

True, but do you know how many subscribers that user has, and the number of notifications they get, and their state of mind, the the time they invest when they are online? When logs in, they may likely attend to notifications on the first page, perhaps yours has been pushed to the third notification page, they have to get next twice to see it. The user may not have time to attend to all in the first page before going off.

Well, the truth is wherever time we publish, there will be engagement on our articles. Perhaps not as much as it could have received if posted 5 hours later.

Thank you for dropping by

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Exactly, agree with you, sis. Not all of our articles will be hot topics. We have some articles that are hot and others are not, that's normal. If all of our articles will be hot and trending we will never have time to attend all the comments and interact with the readers 😆 For me I just write according to my liking, according to my time preferences as long as I enjoyed while writing it that's all that matters if it will go trend, then I'll be happy if not then better luck next time. Just like that, if we keep on after fame we cannot enjoy every moment we spent here.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Rightly said. But caring about your post reach and engagement is far from chasing fame. Your article don't need to be hot or trending.

Publish a post and you get 50 views and 15 comments. This is not hot but okay. But publishing and getting maybe 10 views and 2-3 comments...?

Or even getting 70 views and just 5 - 10 comments. These metrics are really important if you care about your articles.

If one doesn't care about feedbacks and criticisms, why publish. He or she can simply write it in a book or journal and keep it.

We publish because we want to share our thoughts with others, if this is the case, the engagement is significant. Although there are other rssons to publish like to earn.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice, to be since, I also unsubscribe someone because of the sam3 reason as you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It can be annoying getting 6 to 10 notifications from the same individual in a day. Especially when some of those are useless

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, causing heavy notification

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm just a beginner at writting article, and I Still have long way to go to improve my writting, good thing that you share this tips this will really help me improve my writting skills.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are welcome. I was once a beginner and I am still learning and improving.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There are reasons why your post engagement sucks but there are ways how to improve it. Have you wondered why you are getting a very low engagement on your posts? Here is the common reasons that result in low post engagement and i have tip on how to fix them. You are posting on wrong day and time – You should time your posts according to your audience’s (fans/targets) most active time on social media. If you are posting your messages when majority of your audience is not active then you are not achieving the maximum benefit from your posts.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My experience so far has been good:

  1. You are one of my sponsors and I am grateful that you were the first to take me into account, although you have not commented on my publications I think you at least like them, I read your articles and we have interacted in some;
  2. I publish 1-2 articles daily and preferably at night, although these days I publish 1 article in the middle of the afternoon and have had good receptivity;
  3. I always respond to the comments of my publications, I consider that it is a way of showing my gratitude to the readers for the time they took to review the post;
  4. I do not like to publish short posts (I think I have only published 2 in the time that I have in RC) and I have unsubscribed 3 subscriptions because they published many short posts of nonsense and in my personal opinion this is not the ideal platform for that;

Basically I have been constant in rad.cash and my effort has paid off, I hope to continue improving my writing skills and learn more every day than we live on the platform.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well, I do read your articles when I can. Perhaps I will do that more often and do my best to leave comments. I guess that's the only proof that I visited.

Most days I publish 1 - 2 articles. I try as much as possible to respond to the comments, just as I am doing on this article. Sometimes I become selective. It depends on the content of the comment, some don't need to be replied.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, I know and I understand you, I don't blame you for anything because you have many subscribers and you also have a life outside of RC 😅, it's just my appreciation. In fact I think I have had the good sense that almost all my comments in your articles have been answered, that feedback has been excellent.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sure. I ensure I responded to most if not all of your come ts on my articles. Because I do really appreciate them. You are one of the few genuine commenter I have here. And I appreciate every feedback received.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you very much, I appreciate your words 🥰... Have a good night (in my country it is almost midnight😅 and I don't know where you are 🤷🏼‍♀️)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It was few minutes past 3 am then. Which country are you from?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm from Venezuela, and what country are you from?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You have picked good points. I also add one point "community build up". Having a great number of subscribers, if we share our content in a good and relatable community that helps to increase engagement in our article.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Read.cash communities are not effective. When was the last time you visit a community to read the articles there?

For communities to be functional, it needs some upgrade.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I visit atleast two communities regularly everyday many more times. Cause, I find benifit from it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Perhaps you do. Can we say same about other users. Most just submit their article and that's it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I Don't disagree you with. It’s happened

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am guilty. I can go a week or more without visiting any community

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's all about your interest. If you Don't find interest in community then why you go there?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

When I signed up here. I joined communities that are aligned with my interest. But I seldom visit any of the communities to check the articles submitted. Though I visit the ones I created often, mainly for moderation.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yup sometimes it sucks about having more subscribers but less than 1-5% of them visiting or interacting your articles,..(° _ °)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes. It makes one wonder where the others are. Have they left? Are they fake accounts, are they always busy that they seldom come online?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes we wonder if they alive or not also..(^_^)..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha. Right. Perhaps they are sick and admitted in the hospital

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope not,,maybe they take some break(^_^)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have articles that get low engagements, and these articles are my works where I put my time and effort into. I tried to boost them before but it seems like even if the quality is good, but readers are not interested about it, they will not open it. I have some articles that got 100-200+ views without being boosted, because they were something related to my giveaways and things about my journey on Readcash. To be honest, it really is demotivating to write personal articles on this site, because many users are just interested to read articles that will help them earn money- like contests, or giveaways, or tips to grow points.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree with you. Once the title of an article is about pointe, earning, contests people will be eager to click. But, I have had some articles that are not about any of such and they did well.

The main metrics for me is not views, but the comments and likes. Some of those who click on an article end up not reading them. But quality and quantity of comments is a better measure of engagement to me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree to that. During my first week on this site, I only had some users who had genuine comments about my articles. But as the days pass by, I am getting more comments with substantial thoughts. I think we just really need to find the right users for us who will actually read the works we publish. Indeed, the quality of comments matter more than the number of views.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Having the right subscribers is another thing to work on. When users follow us for the wrong reasons they will engage less with our article.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Do you also experience having more likes that views? How is that possible? I know this is out of topic. I am just curious because my recent articles are having those.

$ 0.00
3 years ago