Getting Anxious Over Nothing

24 39
Avatar for LykeLyca
2 years ago

"Anxiety is an investment of problems that might not happen at all." -Unknown

I like this quote that I've read somewhere so many years back. I tried to jog my memory for the right exact words, but I just can't. I tried google as well, but there is no similar quote like it. So fine, let's put it that way. The thought is there, that would be enough though.

Anyway, do you agree with it? Does it sound very familiar to you in your daily business with life? Does it ring a bell?

Oftentimes, I have this quote reminding me at the back of my mind when I get anxious over nothing. Yes, getting worried about things and yet it might not happen in the future, so why worry? Why? I don't know, but I think no man is exempted about worrying.

How I wish I could just shake it off that easy.

One thing I don't like when I'm anxious was I usually get an upset stomach, and this is really annoying because it spoils my work, my mood, my motivation and my day. Yes, I don't know why, but anxiety and stress trigger unhappy acids that make my tummy really bad.

I call it "Stomach Upset With Stress Disorder" lol! I came up with this name few years back when I was still working in a hospital in Jeddah, and I guess that would make another good post/ article in the future, so let me leave you hanging on this side of the story for some time, lol!

What keeps me anxious today was all because of the entire Covid19 pandemic thingy. I had this feeling 2 months back when my senior citizen parents were about to get vaccinated, and it seems I was more anxious than them. In the family, I got vaccinated first being a medical frontline worker and I was so calm that time, no tummy aches whatsoever. However, when my parents got their schedule for vaccination, my anxiety meter reached alert levels I guess, I got a couple of sleepless nights, more stressed out and of course a painful tummy. All over nothing. Praise God all good, but I just hope I won't endure the hardship of getting anxious though, but how?

Tomorrow will be my brother's and younger sister's schedule for vaccination and my anxiety is on, not much, but I'm still getting this same problem. I was thinking maybe the hot weather and the humidity adds on the stressors. Today, we have 36 degrees Celsius in my location and the humidity was a torture. We are saving electricity, so we opted not to use the aircon during daytime. Imagine how hot it is in the early afternoon, it's traumatizing. I have one scheduled patient for home PT that time, but I refused to go, it's just so hot to go outside and travel. Besides, my tummy wasn't okay.

Instead, I tried working on the second installment on the travel blog that I wanted to finish and I still have to gather the photos I need to use. No luck! The drive I kept the photos aren't opening. Bummer.

I just have to quit pushing, calm myself and figure this out when the weather is cooler, when my mood is better and motivation is higher.

Got to wrap this up and hit the sack.

Good night everyone and I'll be off to a reading spree with your articles tomorrow God willing after work.

Sayonara!

Before parking, let me share this wonderful verse I have in mind when anxiety gets the better of me...

"He makes me lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside quiet waters. He restores my soul; He guides me in the paths of righteousness For His name’s sake." -Psalm 23:2-3

Go for His lead! And God bless!


Photos from Pixabay (No attribution required)


14
$ 6.35
$ 5.46 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.10 from @Jane
+ 12
Avatar for LykeLyca
2 years ago

Comments

Nakakainis talaga si COVID. I hope you are ok now. Ang hirap naman nun na stress ka na tapos sasabayan pa ng tiyan mo. Ayaw nila mag one at a time. But I am happy that your family have already received their vaccines.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This pandemic caused a lot of anxiety

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I recently get to know that anxiety is to be treated... I had anxiety last year.. Doctor gave me depression pills for a couple of weeks.. I feel ok now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am a worrier myself so I easily get worked up over nothing. I have to psych myself all the time that everything will be okay. Just like now because of the weather I'm worried about my family and the unfinished house for water is everywhere and it's really worrisome although they are okay but who knows what will happen. I am entrusting it all to Him. I hope your siblings will be okay.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ayyy nku hirap talaga pag umuulan at may mga construction sa bahay, kung pwede lang mag share ako sa init namin dito.. sana pwede.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kaya nga e. Sana wala na muna kasunod. Saturated na mga lupa dito.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I get annoyed when I do something important then a lot of things go wrong on the way... I feel you on pushing on the travel blog...

I admit I am also a worrier... it seems like it is just part of our life...hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahah! part of life jud sis oi kay bisan unsaon jud natog mindset dili jud madala...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

mao lage hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My IBS kb sis? Ganyan ako minsan. Kpg anxious apektado tiyan ko.. May IBS kc ako

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ngaun ko lang nabasa about IBS, cguro nga kc ung mga symptoms meron ako eh. Haaayyy ano be yen.. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pareho pareho dn namn symptoms ng karamihang sakit. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah! Uu nga. Kelangan talaga may mga test para ma rule out. Pero na test na ako dati for gastric ulcer wala nmn by God's grace. Cguro nga IBS kc sa nabasa ko 1 out of 5 daw meron ganyan, so it's so common sa mga tao.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Anxiety always attacks me too. The more hard facing it when no one you can talk to.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True and often times I dont want to talk about it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really anxiety is an unknown phenomenon... It's comes from where we do not know...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Anxiety is so common, yet we can't avoid it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My dear friend, anxiety is an irrational fear of something that has not yet happened. And it is very similar to the fear we feel when we know what is really happening. The sensations are very strong in the organism. You can tremble before that irrational thought, you have very fast pulsations and respirations. You have sphincter disorders. You may have a strong urge to go to the bathroom of both sphincters or even have liquid evacuations. You may sweat a lot. There are many symptoms that you can present before a state of uncontrollable anxiety. Everything depends on the stimulation of our nervous system through our mind. It is what I have been saying, the power of the mind is very strong.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ah yes! Doctors always have the basic explanation of things. Thank you! That is really true.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, that is the basic explanation but that does not exclude us from feeling the feeling of anxiety. When it gives you anxiety, you assume it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I used to also get heartburn when I was anxious. I've learned to control it because as you say it is not worth worrying about something that we don't know if will happen. I hope everything goes well with your family's vaccination.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True. Sometimes I just cant control my emotions, and its hurting me. Thank you and I really hope so.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe talaga ang init sa Mindanao this time. Kahit may aircon halos di tumatalab, pawis na pawis pa din mga bata. Ako pag anxious ako, di ako nakakatulog ng maayos, yong tipong kahit sa panaginip ko, sinusundan ako ng worry ko. Thanks God for making things well.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Uu grabe ang init sobra... I thank God that we have Him beside us coz I can't imagine what would I be with this kind of anxiety.

$ 0.00
2 years ago