Entangled with Separation Anxiety

14 50
Avatar for LykeLyca
1 year ago
Topics: Free write, Thoughts

Hello everyone! I actually don’t have any idea what to write today, so let me tell you something totally random, like my dilemma every night time with my cutie patotie clingy nephew.

Last September, my sister’s husband left for work overseas. It was a blessing because they’ve been so hard up for the past couple of years when the company he worked with in Dubai stopped its operations because of the pandemic. While the mom and my nephew were adjusting, they’ve decided to live with us here in Iligan City, like usual. They arrived the second week of September from La Union, and we’re all happy, because my nephew is adorable to be with (and the mommy is a good cook, lol!).

However, since then, it seems that my nephew is having separation anxiety sleeping without his daddy. Mind you, he has been always jolly and typically energetic as always. The only problem for me was every night during his bedtime, he kept on insisting that I should sleep beside him with his mommy. And, he would cry or get mad if I didn't sleep with them. So, the kind “tita” would pretend to sleep and sometimes fall helplessly asleep because sometimes work in the daytime is tiring! 

So, I got entangled with this separation anxiety kind of crisis with my nephew, and though I started loving it because it helped me tuck in bed earlier. I’m just sad that I’m starting to have less time writing and engaging here. Oftentimes, I would return to my room at around 11.30pm or past 12 midnight already. Then, when I started to recollect my thoughts to compose something, my mind would instead do otherwise. Yes! My sleepyhead would pull me back to sleep. Though, sometimes, I try to force myself to write something, and while scribbling some old unfinished drafts, and try my hardest to publish, later then my mind would end up active again and it seems that my sleep hormones just left my senses. Sigh.

The past night, that was Monday perhaps, I’m really struggling to go back to sleep after waking up from my slumber at 1am. I think it was already past 3am when I was able to sleep again, and it was an agony to deal with at work. I was really sleepy the entire day, I got a headache and was very unproductive with my online hassles. Well, obviously, can't cope up with my pace lately.

Anyway, I love to hang out with my nephew as much as possible because I miss him dearly. Among my nephews, he is the only one very clingy to me because I used to babysit him so often when he was younger. So, I guess we have that bond. Still, I’m hoping that this separation anxiety crisis disappears sooner, because this erratic sleeping habit is just making me out of sorts, unhealthy.

Thanks for reading guys and I definitely need to sleep now. Hopefully, I need to decipher time and priorities to get back on track away from this irregularity. Ciao!


Lead image by me

All Original Content (unless specified otherwise)

10/05/2022

©️ LykeLyca


Write articles and join us! Click read.cash

Make some noise by writing short posts. Click noise.cash

Join us on #Club1BCH Discord Channel


15
$ 5.27
$ 4.96 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Pichi28
+ 7
Avatar for LykeLyca
1 year ago
Topics: Free write, Thoughts

Comments

Better take advantage of that. They will soon out grew it sooner than you think. Enjoy your moments :) Miss doing that with my niblings. Laki na nila e hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My little brother is like that. If he doesn't see my mom around him for a few days, he may fall sick. A lot of kids can be like that. They are lovable people who love to have people around them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Him being clingy is cutee.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Parang kayo po pala naging Father nya for the mean time. May naging advantage naman po yung pagiging clingy nya sa inyo pero may disadvantage din po, well ganun po talaga. I think your nephew is so cute po.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That means more bonding with your nephew. I wouldn't mind hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ah, grabe gyud ang effect sa sepanx. Dili sayon. Luoy kaayo ang kiddo, pero tita to the rescue na dayon.

Pero hopefully, maka adjust na dayon siya aron sakto na sad ang tulog ug happy na ang tanan. 😄

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kids can be like that. It's an attachment sort of thing. They get attached to the people they spens plenty of time with, whether or not they are their parents I have a little cousin who was so attached to me before I got admission into the university, when I came back for the semester holiday, this boy didn't even recognize me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Some children get attached very soon which definitely leads to anxiety depression when you are not around. Just jeep him engaged with little things both of you will be fine.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I used to be clingly with my Aunt before. Yung tipong napapagalitan na ako ni mama kasi dun lang ako naglalagi sa bahay nila, lalo na kung galing siya nang Maynila. Hehe.

Yung ganyan talaga pag nasanay ka, nakakamiss tas siyempre kailangan talaga mag.adjust. Enjoy mo lang yan po. And by the way, thank you for choosing me para bigyan ng sponsorship. I really appreciate it. <3

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ay poor kid.... And aw poor tita hahha. He will adjust dn ... Kalambing naman....

Kung sana lang pede stay in bed no? Pang reset talaga mga kids.. i liked the part where you are forced to tuck in bed early.

Thanks doc lyka for the sponssss!!!!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awww apaka clingy naman ni pamagkin ano aguyy. Pero it's cute haha and I think also a good thing kasi maaga ka nakakapag rest diba.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha ang Cute naman hehe pero kung ganun naman ang dulot sayo eh hassle nga. Pero hayaan mo doc masasanay rin yan. Eenjoy mo na lang ang phase na super clingy sya sayo

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kawawa naman si kiddo. Now, napansin ko din naiba na routine ko, noon kasi maaga ako nagigising mga 3am, ginagawa ko na mga articles ko and tasks related to schooling, now, naiba na, 5am na ako gumising, parang tulog is life na ako. I agree talaga na pag hindi maganda ang tulog, affected ang day routine. I hope that your nephew will adjust soon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Really nice for just a "random" article :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago