Don't Waste Your Time

48 66
Avatar for LykeLyca
2 years ago
Topics: Movies, Time

Last weekend, I watched this movie from Netflix "In Time" wherein time is the new currency to spend, and I have realized what if this is the future in store for the human race? Well, I can't even imagine myself living in such time and age.

Attached is the trailer of the movie from YouTube, just in case you wanted a glimpse of it.

In the movie, human's age stops at 25, and would then start to live with a timer on his/ her left wrist displaying the time to live, in the same way the time you have to spend because in this era time is the new money. People worked and paid daily, time as salary added to the meter attached at the left wrist, and of course minus the tax. However, there is a twist. Time is the currency in every single way to survive in this world. You have to spend time for food and groceries, shelter and bills. Pay a bus ride of time worth 2 hours, 3 minutes of call at the phone booth requires a minute of time, pay a glass of beer in the bar with time, loans would be paid by time plus 3 days of interest. All commodities are worth of time, deducted from your time meter. If you can't make a good use of it and if you can't hide it, you'll die sooner than you know.

The rich being born in silver platter will have more time as inheritance, even gamble while spending time, they have lived a slow and easy life. Meanwhile, the poor are secluded from the rich, because the latter would live each and every day cramming for time. Time for the poor is important, highly valued and sometimes hunted down. Like what was said in the trailer, "the rich can live forever, the poor die young."

Just like any currency, there are also thieves who would rob people of their time. It's like the money we have in this generation, people scam us for money. In the movie, you can't display or disclose how much time you have or else gangsters and the crook would flock to kill you robbing your time.

It's a scary scenario, and who would love living in this era of human existence.

My Thoughts

While watching this movie I have come to a simple hypothesis that this kind of era in the movie would best fit the cashless society that most religious people fear about. In my journey with crypto and sharing the idea about it with the most random people, I have experienced some apprehensive and pessimistic remarks about cryptocurrencies and even mobile/ internet banking for the reason that these are evil practices.

And, it's true. There can be lots of evil everywhere. We should not dismiss the thought that evil can be in the home, in the streets, in school, at work, in the government, and even in the church. I mean, cryptos and the new forms of money transactions involves money and cash, why single it out as cashless? And, evil?

We can use these means to earn and eventually acquire financial freedom and the chance to help others. Our online means of earning are blessings, and just any other sources of income we have in the real world, we must treat everything with diligence, self- control and keep the balance in every aspect of our life.

Anyway, it's a very huge matter to debate. Let's skip that part.

If we start giving, sharing, and paying forward anything - time, goods, and our efforts, for the good purpose of inspiring and uplifting others. Then, we are living cashless.

We can overcome evil by the goodness of our intentions.

I hope that makes sense.

Thanks for reading!


Lead Image and content by ©️ LykeLyca


22
$ 9.26
$ 8.18 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
+ 16
Avatar for LykeLyca
2 years ago
Topics: Movies, Time

Comments

One of the movies I enjoyed. Hehe. Time is indeed gold but we keep wasting it away.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I loved this movie. I saw her a while ago. I have repeated it on several occasions and I never tire of seeing it. Science fiction and these futuristic themes fascinate me. I recommend it 100%.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

interesting naman ng movie na to... tan awon ko ni

$ 0.00
2 years ago

good article idolo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I forgot the story of that movie although I have already watched it before. Happens all the time lol!

Anyway, let us not let money rule us. That is how evil it will be if we do so.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That time everything is scary. That movie just picture out some events that might happen.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parang nakakatakot yet may matututunan ka talaga dito. Yung di mo nga masasabing pera ang ninanakaw pero buhay na. Gushh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wonder how the world will be if we live cashless and just like the movie, instead of money, we will have time to pay for everything. I can't imagine this one lol. But yeah, even without money if we know how to share and give back to others, we can have a happy life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

everything is neutral unless utilized for evil deed. :D

I saw this again in Netflix too. The scene where JT's mom dies always flashes back to me. Just a few more steps and she would have been able to borrow more time.. huhuhu....

precious precious few seconds..
cashless investments! you are right - inspring, paying forward, etcetera!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i've seen this movie already and yes it is scary. it will really teach you the value of time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I totally agree to the last sentence of this artucle which we can overcome any evil by doing good things to our fellow humans.. Doing good things don't have prize anyway so we are free to execute it no matter what. time and no matter how we will do it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will try to watch the movie since the story seems unique but if I will thinking about it in real life. Oh please no. It seems dangerous and the scariest. Your life depends on a time left wrist. It's so unfair to the poor people the most pitiful and whom the worst struggling one. 🥺

God bless you maam Lyca.🙏

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yep try mo panoorin, maganda ung movie sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wouldn't at all like to live a life in which we pay with our time. Although today we use part of our time to earn the money with which we pay. The possibility that a thief could steal our time is scary. I will look for the movie to watch it.

And thank you so much for renewing my sponsorship ♡

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You're welcome! Indeed, we might be using indirectly but this one in the movie is horrible.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I've seen that movie. I think there were bad people who stole time from others, it's interesting your final reflection on time. Time has value. But when we are young we don't see it. When we reach a certain age we see time with its true value.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I watched the film before and it made me chase my breath, even made me think what if it happens in the real world, lol!

As to crypto and society going cashless, I think it is inevitable, and we cannot get away with scams and evil people who seem to enjoy robbing other people's goods, so we need to be careful too. And yes to helping others along the way :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Owh, I watched this before it's been a long time na and bet na bet ko din ung story may aral ding mapupulot ee. If thia happened I think lahat ng tao matututong gamitin ang oras nila sa may mas kabuluhang bagay no 💙

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Uu matagal na tong movie na toh 2011 pa yata.. Lately ko lang napanood, maganda nga panoorin kaso di ko ma imagine sarili ko sa panahon na yan katakot hahah!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha un lang, kasi dapat wais talaga sa pag spend ng time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Another interesting movie to watch hihi. And about the movie, it scares me if ever it will happen in real life. Kawawa yung mahihirap 💔

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Parang di ko ma imagine ma buhay sa panahon na yan sis..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have watched this movie already and I can say this is one of the best I have watched so far. And it is really breath taking how everyone is trying not to lose their time on their wrist as they will be dead by then.

In another note, it is truly indeed that all the time we have should be used in the most and best way. Let us not waste any of it. No time can be turned back.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Time is important and in that movie time is more important. Thanks!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is so true. You are welcome po!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have not seen this movie, but the premise of it would seem to make for a horrible world and a horrible existence. And I say this as someone who has means, and would therefore (in this scenario) have more time.

As for how this relates to crypto, I suppose depending on one's perspective regarding the opportunities in certain parts of the world it offers (such as in countries where there is no viable stock market, or opportunity to advance economically), crypto seems to offer a better chance for ordinary people to get ahead.

Interesting.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Somehow here in the Philippines, crypto is far from mass adoption, however earning through it is always possible. The only problem is the perception of some people regarding crypto. Thanks for yourcomment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lately I don't even have time to watch movies. My free time is spent planting in my pots or anything else. It also helps that my TV signal only has movies on repeat week after week. I think leisure is what makes people have time to think about harming others. If they would occupy their minds in doing useful things there wouldn't be so much evil around.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I barely have time to watch movies too, but on weekends I try to watch one just to sit idle lol! If not, I would be here in readcash, or any other platforms working and that is still work for me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sounds like an interesting movie to watch. I’ll check if it’s available on my Netflix too. Even in our reality we have a saying that ‘time is money’, so I guess we’re not far from that reality, although having the watch with remaining time displayed seems kinda scary.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True. Must be a lifetime of anxiety for me to have such kind of time meter on my body.. I can't spend any of the time, I guess.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm familiar with this movie and it is indeed horrible to think what if time comes when we use this kind of living, kawawa talaga mga mahihirap.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Indeed. I can't imagin living in such world. I'm blessed with the world I have now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww. Napanood ko yan, way back 2015 ko yata napanood with my friends. Naiyak ako diyan yung sa bus, tapos magyayakapan na sila pero ubos na yung time. Hindi umabot. And then, yung mga taong mahihirap naaabutan na sa daan ng kamatayan. Just imagine looking of how many minutes you have. Nakakastress yun. Siguro hindi nalang ako matutulog if ever. 🤣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Naiyak din ako sa part na un, mom nya un tapos hindi sya pinasakay kc 1 hr something nlng meron sya at ang pamasahi 2 hrs. Kung kelan may marami ng time si Will, saka pa di nya nabigyan mom nya, huhuhu.. grabe ang sakit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo pala. Naalala ko na. Yung tumakbo nalang Mom niya. Nakakaiyak yun talaga. Hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Akala ko nga mangyari din un sa girlfriend nya, buti nlng hindi hahah!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kinda scary to think, doctora! There are good and evil everywhere. The good ones though are the quiet ones.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Scary talaga madam, parang di ko kya mabuhay sa panahon na yan..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These cryptos are blessings to us.. But this can also be used by evils.. The greedy ones..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly. There is evil if used in a wrong way, just like any other things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Katakot sis pag ganyan mundo natin parang super stressful kasi wala ka na sisilipin kundi oras na naiwan sayo.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Uu nga. Cguro di na rin kakain kc bawas din un sa time. Grabe imagination ng writer noh?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tas guilty pa ako sa pagiging late baka andali ko namatay sa ganyang mundo haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahah! ako rin cguro. Minsan proud din ako sa Filipino Time ko eh hahah!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha oo super guilty ako jan kaya iniiwanan ako madalas nila articlee at mommyjaytee at pinapasunod nalang kung saan na yung pupuntahan hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Waahh! buti pa kau magkalapit lng.. wag ka na ma late ibibisto kana nila dito next time hahha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe kaya di ko nilagyan ng @ yung comment ko para di sila mamention at manotify 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago