Backyard Boy

23 53
Avatar for LykeLyca
2 years ago

Today, I had a last song syndrome with this song. Though, I am not familiar with the lyrics, and if I do maybe I could not follow through the singing of this talented girl. I can only hum "da da da da da da da da da da da da," lol!

So, let me share this song here for you to listen, while I write about the backyard boy.

In my younger years I have this guy neighbor just a couple of years older than me, and let me hide his identity by the name, Ted.

Ted, is not so handsome though, but he looks definitely sleek and neat with his white marine uniform. Actually, I didn't notice him at first because back in my student days I was a bit serious and stiff in my studies. Moreover, as the eldest I was preoccupied with responsibilities. The one who had a crush on Ted was my classmate, that lived just a few blocks away from our house. At school, she kept asking me about Ted, yet I don't have much to tell about him.

The one closest to me was the elder sister of Ted, Tess (not her real name). She adores our youngest sister and would constantly drop by the house to borrow my baby sister who was 2 years old that time. I, for sure, love the thought that she would take our youngest to their home so I could sneak out to play with my friends in the neighborhood. Yep, in middle school, I still loved to play patintiro. I still have that playful spirit with me, unlike most high schoolers nowadays who are so much preoccupied rushing to adulting stuffs, tiktok, crushes, online games, etc.

Anyway, back to our neighbor, every time I went to their house to check on my baby sister, I only had a glance or hi/hello with Ted. Nothing much really because I'm not attracted to him either. One weekend my friend and classmate who had a crush on Ted came to visit me. When she knew that I would be going to Ted's house to fetch baby sis, her eyes grew wide in excitement, lol! She insisted to go with me and so we went from their backyard door, because it's more accessible from ours too. That was a dream come true for her, I guess, being close to Ted for a minute when I introduced her to him in the dining area.

The next day while Ted was about to leave for school, I was outside too waiting for our school service. He never hesitated to talk with me about my friend whom he thought was "feeling close" to him. I was taken aback by what he said, at the back of my mind Ted was somewhat conceited. I know, my friend was head over heels for him, but I don't think it's appropriate to foul talk my friend to me, her best friend! However, I thought I should not make a big deal out of it. So, my lips were sealed.

A Few months later, was my best friend's birthday. She wanted to invite Ted to her party, so she gave me this paper with a short note and forced me to give it to him before her special day. It was written:

Hi Ted,

I would like to invite you to eat our house tomorrow at 6PM.

FYI, English is not our native language. So, my friend, I bet, really tried to make a good invitation for him, regrettably, wrong grammar. sigh.

I didn't open the letter to read it, and I'm not that nosy too. So, I gave it to Ted that same afternoon when I arrived from school. Face Palm**

Okay, I admit that was funny, I laughed a bit when Ted laughed about the note too. But, I was ashamed for my friend. I really pity her. In my mind, I'm juggling the situation- what if I could've read it first? How should I tell her? How would she react?

Fast forward.

Today, my bestfriend is working in a BPO company in a managerial position. I bet she would laugh all about it now.

Ted, was still the backyard boy in our neighborhood. He graduated a college degree, but can't get a decent job.


Now, let me go back singing "da da da da da da da da da da," haha!

I hope y'all like the song, the melody does loosen up my mood and gives good vibes.

Just something light for today. Thank you for dropping by!


Video from YouTube

Photo and Lead Image from Pixabay (free to use image)

Content by me. 09/26/2021

©️ LykeLyca


14
$ 7.88
$ 7.42 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 10
Avatar for LykeLyca
2 years ago

Comments

Na miss ko tuloy huhu... Me when i was a kid, playing at that certain playground of mine😭

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha, poor your friend, back then. But she has managed to go far. And now, she can remember this anecdote and laugh at it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Natawa ako sa friend mo Sis, parang besfriend ko din nung high-school kami. Dinadamay pa ako sa mga crush nya hahaha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hahha! high school life talaga...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am sure your friend can write good invitation since she's working in a bpo company today. Hehe!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha I find the note cute tho hihihi. Same po tayo doc ahaha. Mga 4th year high school na nga ata kami nag stop maglaro ng mga ka batch ko eh HAHAHHA.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha, wait lang natawa lang ako sa note pero ang cute pa rin ahahahaha.

Ni play ko ung song ang ang ganda nya sa tenga. Mejo nakaka gaan ng mood ba, naririnig ko na din to sa fb ee mga tiktok compilation hahaha.

Pero bat naman, umasa ako na may lovey dovey na magaganap. Umasa lang pala me huehue. Kala ko gusto nya ka Pero nahihiya sya na eapproach ka kasi you look mataray and all. And then you like him din pero secret lang. Hanggang di na nakatiis si Ted at inapproach kana nya just to ask you if .......

Chorrr hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My emotion suddenly change when I read the " da da da da da da da" nakakagood vibes at nakakaLSS hahaha :) Sumipot pa si Ted sa invitation dinner? Kasi kung wala ako nlang kakain Hahahha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Plinay nako ang song, and I heard it most of the time sa TikTok ay. Haha Backyard Boy diay title ani. 🤣 Anyway, good thing that your friend is already in a Managerial Position now. For sure, she really learned a lot from being too head over heels with Ted.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ah naa diay na sa tiktok, nice ang melody sa song ganahan kaau ko.. Haha! Few years back nagkita mi, na storyahan jud namo si backyard boy, magkatawa nlnh mi..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maka good vibes gyud bitaw ang melody sa song sad. Hahaha Basta, murag maka move on na gyid sa past kay magkatawa nalang ta. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Da da da da da nice one to hum around even just in the head :) Poor Ted eh, and nice for your friend who made it better though she her grammar back then was quite poor. We really should not judge another :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh diba?! Sabi ko nga ma LSS ka rin hahah! Indeed, we really can't tell.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, you got me :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my, just look how things turned out to be LOL. The girl who had some grammar mistakes is now exceling in her BPO job. And the guy who laughed at her had stagnant growth. Huehuehue. Still wishing the best for Ted, though. 😅

Thanks a lot for the sponsorship, by the way. I appreciate it. ♥️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You're welcome!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Is Ted still single? Haha.. Baka namam may space sya sa heart mo? 😅

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha! Not legally separated with his wife.. Ayoko sa kanya madam, masakit sa bangs 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

played the song after reading hahaha.. lakas maka gising and indak din.. ang fun...

It is amusing how life stories turn out no including infatuation stories of younger days. both of them still single? da da da da da da da da da

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now I'm singingggg it toooo Hahahahah, dadadada-dadda- daddadadadaaa 🎶

Now that girl improves a lot and I am so happy for her while the boy, on the other hand, is staying stagnant with no decent job.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha! Nku! Ma LSS pud jud ka sis ha..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Unforgettable experiences, what love does. Apparently he improved a lot in grammar, he has a good position.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes. It was the girl though..

$ 0.00
2 years ago