Relieve stress by listening to music

18 57
Avatar for Luna1999
2 years ago

Recently, my lecturer gave quite a lot of lecture assignments. it stresses me out sometimes. Not only me, even some of my friends who have multiple assignments also feel stressed. After finishing college, I went straight to my room and listened to some of the songs on my music playlist. by listening to music, as if, the stress is reduced and gone. Do you know why listening to music can relieve stress? Before continuing to discuss music, I will first tell you why we can be stressed.

Usually, a person will experience stress due to fatigue and also pressure from outside and within a person. When stress arises in a person, then the person's body will respond as an attack or threat. Automatically, the body will produce stress hormones such as cortisol, adrenaline, and norepinephrine. The impact of an increase in stress hormones will make the heart rate faster, blood pressure also increases, anxiety easily, to panic attacks.

To relieve the stress that arose earlier, we can listen to music regularly for two weeks, then the mood will be better. I found this effective method after reading the 'Journal of Positive Psychology'. Maybe some people will ask, how can music relieve stress in a person? OK, I'll explain this from the start.

So, the music we hear is the vibration of sound waves. When sound waves enter the ear, they are captured by cells in the cochlea to be converted into electrical signals, then the signal is sent to the brain via the ear nerve. At the same time, these electrical signals spread to the temporal part of the brain to process sensory input, regulate emotions, and understand language. Signals that flow to the hypothalamus of the brain will increase the happy mood, namely the hormone dopamine. That's the reason why stress can disappear slowly when we listen to music.

Broadly speaking, the hormone dopamine spreads because the temporal part of the brain understands language and infers good meanings from the music we hear. When you understand the lyrics and the message that the song sings, then you feel happy when you hear it. Someone who is listening to a song he likes, then unconsciously that person will sway to the rhythm of the song, or stomp his feet, this is also caused by electrical signals that enter the brain area of the cerebellum. The function of the cerebellum is to coordinate the body parts. Electrical signals that propagate in the brain's amygdala help regulate emotions and trigger happy memories.

That's the reason when listening to music (especially the music we like) can relieve stress slowly. It turns out that many parts of the brain work when we want to get back in a good mood when listening to songs we like. In a book I've read too, listening to music is not only a stress reliever, but can also be a therapy to cure schizophrenia symptoms. I forget the title of the book, but the book I read was written by Torres et al. That's all the brief information that I can convey, I hope this information is useful to read. thanks and regards.

The lead image by Unsplash

14
$ 12.06
$ 11.84 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.08 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @sanctuary.the-one-law
+ 4
Sponsors of Luna1999
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Luna1999
2 years ago

Comments

When I'm stressed out and really exhausted I do listen to music to ease my stress and while doing my school assignment I do listen to music just for Me not to be distracted by external noises. Nice write up and nice to meet you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thank you very much @Freedom007 Music can also help with external noise. But, it's better if you do your schoolwork without any sound because you can focus more

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What I find interesting are the songs that has a sad lyric to it but the music is upbeat. There's irony in them. Yet we like them. Sometimes we base our preference to the beat and melody or to the lyrics of the songs.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That means, a depression and anxiety will be treated when listening to certain types of music. Not on the lyrics of the song

$ 0.00
2 years ago

After all, music is food for the soul, it can provide the soul with the spiritual strength it lacks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes that's correct. Anxiety and depression disorders will heal slowly if use music therapy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And the Devil like it so much. Just love to listen music and yes, it reduces my stress.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

let me guess. is it metal music? ha ha my neighbor is also obsessed with devil and demons. He always listens to metal music

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Every types of music is welcomed by me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thats good

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Only music can save me from sadness.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

it depends on the type of music you hear. If you listen to music you don't like, you'll get even more depressed

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I relieve stress by smoking marijuana. It proved very effective for me

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The content of tetrahydrocannabinol and cannabidiol can indeed overcome mental problems and anxiety, but it is only temporary. That is, people who experience depression and anxiety disorders are only treated when the cannabidiol content works in the body.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

that's quite scientific. I also sometimes hear music but just for entertainment and sometimes also when I'm burn out from studies.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's good. it means that music is very effective to reduce your tiredness

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes me most of the time i used to listen music when I'm bored or in a bad mood.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Most people will listen to music to improve a good mood

$ 0.00
2 years ago